We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”

Review of The Rookery

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Roughlee, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tessa G
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 23 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

A perfect hideaway in Lancashire. Decorated to a high standard with lots of thoughtful features this place is ideal should you want to get away from it all.

Amazing views and a perfect local for visiting the local sites. The snug is a fabulously thought out place for kids if you have them.

There are a few reasons this didn’t get a perfect 5. Firstly there is a £150 security deposit that wasn’t disclosed or advertised at point of booking albeit I booked through Cottages 4 U and will discuss with them when I return home, and in the welcome book that deposit might not be refunded within 14 days. Additionally It’s lovely and cosy but a bit to warm and there is no real way to regulate temperature. And a small thing the jacuzzi is a great way to relax, I would suggest it’s in the wrong place to take in the views and the filter REALLY needed replacing.
Overall one of the loveliest places we have stayed minus a few little bits.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete V
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a find!!!”
Reviewed 18 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Lovely cottage in a great location. A very comfortable stay and had everything we could have needed to have a great stay. Underfloor heating meant it was lovely and warm. The hot tub was the perfect way to end the day.

My dog was catered for with treats on arrival and basket / bedding available if I needed it. Only downside is no gate to secure him when nature calls.

Quick 10/15min drive to supermarket shops and 2 great local pubs which are also dog friendly.

The owner Danielle was very friendly and kept me up to date with the return of my safety deposit. She was also a life saver when she called to inform me I had left my iPad at the cottage (thanks again Danielle!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon J
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family break”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We spent 2-weeks at The Rookery what an amazing place the steampunk twist was breathtaking & the hot tub a wonderful way to relax at the end of a day ❤️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Cottage Experience”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My wife and I spent 4-nights at The Rookery (March 2017). Ideal getaway for couples, or for up to six. Cottage is in secluded location with rolling fields and the Lancashire fells visible in the distance. Self-catering set-up with all the comforts of home. Hot Tub just out the door with privacy and views of the hills. Comfy décor with expected amenities (wi-fi, full kitchen set-up, washing machine, TV in all three bedrooms and in lodge area w/DVD). Numerous pubs within 10-minute radius of cottage. Already thinking of a return visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely secluded cottage in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at the Rookery - the cottage is on its own surrounded by fields with an excellent view of the Lancashire hills, very comfortable and warm, has excellent facilities (hot tub and a very nice bath too), and we liked the style of decor - not too formal, cosy but spacious. The owner Danielle was friendly and helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mustafa R
1 review
“Beautiful hideaway - Highly recommended - Dog friendly”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had the pleasure of staying at this beautifully design cottage in the picturesque countryside location near Pendle Hill. A great place for a stress free getaway, ideally for couples, family, and Dog owners. Location is prefect for trips to Blackpool, Morecambe Bay, Yorkshire Dales, The Lake District.

The cottage has been designed by the owner to incorporate some unique features and designs, a most stay place. We will definitely be return again very soon.

The owner is very friendly and welcoming to us and our dog, the communication before and after our visit was very professional. Thank you for a great week.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libby F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding bespoke property set in beautiful surrounds”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent the weekend at The Rookery over the festive period for a bit of down time with the other half and the dog before the Christmas madness. The property is stunning, showcasing an array of hand crafted interiors, creating a warm and cozy environment to stay in. With numerous walks and several pubs minutes away it provided the ideal setting for a relaxed Saturday- dog walk, pub lunch and a soak in the hot tub.

Didn't want to return to reality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing