We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
167
58
20
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
58
20
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor dressing area sri lanka british couple railway line half board rooms are large main road busy road sleeping area mentioned noise bar and restaurant area spent nights here watch football arrange taxis great relaxing place rooms overlook the pool
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Large, modern rooms in this 15 bedroom hotel right on the beachfront. Wonderful food, nice pool, friendly English owners who gave us tips on where to visit - don't miss the nearby turtle hatchery. Entire place was kept scrupulously clean and all rooms had a sea-facing balcony. As with all hotels on this stretch, there is noise from the road and railway, but I soon got used to this. Sea is lovely and warm but is a bit rough so I didn't venture far out.

Room Tip: All rooms on any of the 3 floors, are sea-facing and have balconies.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanSt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Wonderful place to stay there for some days to relax after a round trip through Sri Lanka.
Directly on the the beachfront with a great pool to swim. The staff is really friendly and helpfully. There are only 15 rooms all with sea view and very big. We had halfbord and this was a good decision because there is no buffet, and you can choose from the menu card. Very good taste.

Room Tip: not room number 1
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AustriaUrlauber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We have stayed twice since Christmas at Whispering Palms , once over New year for a great evening's entertainment and again before we left for home. I've enjoyed every minute , the food is excellent , always freshly cooked and not from a buffet. Sri Lankan and European style dishes are both excellent. The hotel is close to a Railway line and main road - BUT nearly every hotel along this coast is the same - the Railway parallels the beach from Galle to Colombo . Loved the friendliness, the pool and the pool boys always willing to help with beds and towels. It's a small hotel so never feels crowded.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have fabulous high ceilings that give the rooms a massive feeling of spaciousness.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DESERTISED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

The Good: Location, pool, beachfront, peaceful & quiet beach, good food, nice bar.

The Bad: None.

This was a great way to finish our last day & night in this beautiful country. Walked the entire length of the beach and encountered only a couple of people. Worthy stay for any one seeking peace & quiet after a hectic trip around the country. Only 2-3 hour drive back to the International Airport at Negombo.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank OzTrottingGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

This is one place i will definetely come back ro! Located on the beach, all rooms have ocean view. The rooms are big and clean, the food is excellent ( local and european as well), the staff was more than great. the place also has a swimming pool that you can enjoy when the ocean is not so still. There is not a single thing i didn't like. Plus, the beach was amazing here. Not all beach hotels have such a wide beach, that was always clean. And the best thing about it, there were max 10 people on the beach, so it was quiet. a true paradise!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank IasminaMinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews