We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon tea and great value”
Review of The Lodge

The Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Slyne
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are a traditional 19th Century Restaurant, Pub & Hotel situated in Slyne with Hest, Lancaster. We have a roaring open fire & beautiful green grounds.
Reviewed 30 June 2018

I have been for afternoon tea at The Lodge quite a few times and have visited again this afternoon. It is my go-to place for a lovely, relaxed afternoon with girlfriends. The afternoon tea is great value for money, a lovely pretty traditional tea (not overly fussy as I find some afternoon teas are becoming). You can add a glass of fizz too. It makes a nice afternoon out with friendly and helpful staff. You do need to prebook 24 hrs before. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 642jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh W, Manager at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Hi there!

Thank you for reviewing The Lodge! Our afternoon tea is providing very popular at the moment! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

We came for lunch and ate outside, waited to order at the bar for about 10 minutes as the staff member was serving a group which in itself is obviously fine but we could see 2 staff stood by the computer so I would have expected one of them to serve as well. After ordering the 2 meals we sat and waited about 30 minutes for the burgers to arrive which is about right for thick burgers. However they were supposed to be served with thick cut chips and came with very thin poor quality over cooked fries which were clearly the end of the bag, mostly just ends and the majority were hollow. They also tasted weirdly like Chinese.. Maybe old oil.. We weren't told upon ordering there would be a change and the manageress who brought the food to the table should have stopped them going out at all like that. No check back was given so we didn't mention it. The burgers were average but for £13/£14 a plate we were expecting better.

The other poor factor was that we were the first people to sit at the outside table we chose and ours and the ones around us had not been wiped from the night before, they were dusty with Ash from the ash trays and had dried on ring marks all over. This was only our second visit but has put us off returning.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank leeroy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh W, Manager at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hi there,

I am ever so sorry about this experience at The Lodge, we have recently changed our menu at The Lodge and now all burgers are served with fries, this should have been changed on our menus. If you want to discuss this visit further, please email Niamh@thelodgelancaster.co.uk and i'd be happy to speak with you personally.
We do hope you come back and give us another go.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We all had different food and it was also very tasty and well presented. I felt the food was home made and well prepared although the lamb hotspot could have had a few more veg's in it....that said it was jam packed with lamb so not a complaint by any measure.

The chicken burger was a master piece, the homemade steak pie beat my wife and the spicy houlumi sizzler devoured........

We had a reserved seat in the bay window area, which was quieter and felt private, very nice.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh W, Manager at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hello,

thank you for your review of The Lodge. We are very happy you enjoyed your time here! we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

En route back home we stopped at The Lodge for a light evening meal. The staff was very friendly and attentive and the food was of high quality. We started with 'sweet potato and carrot' soup served with a hot buttered roll and watercress garnish. A very tasty and excellent starter lightly, seasoned and just enough. We followed that with homemade 'Lancashire Hotpot' served with home pickled onions and beetroot. The hot-pot was served in a pie dish and had copious amounts of tender lamb chunks. The onions (silverskin) were so good I had to ask what are the spices. A reply from chef said they are done in-house with star-anise, bay leaves, and cinnamon.
Well done chef.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Slavnist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Afternoon

Thank you for your lovely comments and I'm glad to hear that you really enjoyed your food!

Hope to see you back at The Lodge in the future.

Kind Regards
Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful day we had celebrating the royal wedding with an American/English afternoon tea with pimms perfect ❤️ The food was amazing and the atmosphere great. The staff went out of their way to make it an enjoyable day. It was one of the best afternoon teas I’ve had, and I’ve had quite a few. Will definitely recommend here to my friends and look forward to returning to try their new summer menu.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank jandlhixxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh W, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Afternoon

Thank you for your lovely comments and I'm so glad to hear that you really enjoyed The Afternoon Tea and the Royal wedding.

I will pass your kind comments on to all staff members we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards
Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lodge also viewed

Slyne, Lancaster District
Morecambe, Lancaster District
 
Carnforth, Lancaster District
Carnforth, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Carnforth, Lancaster District
 

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing