We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal and service ”
Review of The Lodge

The Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Slyne
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a traditional 19th Century Restaurant, Pub & Hotel situated in Slyne with Hest, Lancaster. We have a roaring open fire & beautiful green grounds.
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Went here tonight with my finace and our friend and on a whole it was a good night. We all had a starter and a main, portion sizes were very good and most of the food was enjoyed. The only thing I would say is the the chicken skewers were not worth the hype as my friend had them with the garlic and said they were quite plain. All the starters, pate, garlic bread and black pudding were lovely and so was the salmon and the yard burger , the skewers sadly were the only thing stopping this place getting a 5 as most of the good was lovely, the lads enjoyed the pints , wine was very nice and the staff were nice. The only other thing was that it was 15 minutes until we paid the bill after being given it which I understand why as you don't want to rush people out but most places you pay quickly and yet stay so I would say take the money quicker. This place is still nice though and worth going.

Thank slocker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh W, General Manager at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Lodge! We appreciate all your comments and i will be sure to pass the comments onto the chef. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Pat and I decided to give The Lodge a try since it’s changeover from being known as Slyne Lodge as everywhere can change and we had been told it was a nice place with nice meals.

We looked forward to the evening and weren’t disappointed in the slightest. Our expectations were met with it being a nice place with helpful staff, a good menu and selection of drinks.

The atmosphere was nice and relaxing alongside the evening, so overall our “first impressions” since the changeover are good and we look forward to coming again.

It was nice to see such an improvement as many places especially ones which are part of chains seem to lose their appeal when a new landlord takes over.

Top marks.

Thank J2R2R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh W, Manager at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for such a lovely review! we really appreciate it! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

It was almost 45 years since we'd had our wedding reception at Slyne Lodge & about 10 years since we last ate there but we were passing through early one Tuesday evening in July, so we made a nostalgic stop off to eat .....& wished we hadn't.
The place was very jaded and in desperate need of a makeover. The menu limited, the table dirty (so we moved) & short on cutlery, (which we had to take from another table). Despite first impressions we ordered and then waited a long time for our food which was adequate but nothing to write home about. She staff seemed demotivated and disinterested in customer service.

1  Thank 999summerdays12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh W, Manager at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hi there,

I am ever so sorry about your recent stay. We refurbished in 2015. If you would be so kind to email me on; Niamh@thelodgelancaster.co.uk to discuss your recent visit i would really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

As a family of 7 on the day with different needs we were very pleased with the service and food.
Mum is disabled and we got a great table for her.
Food wise 2 of us are vegetarian and one is ceoliac. Our order was complicated due to these requirements plus some of us only having a small plate whilst the younger ones had two courses. Everything arrived at the right times.
We will come back.

Thank Bertwoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh W, Manager at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hi there,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here! We are very glad all your needs were met and can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Went for family meal very nice place n service. The lamb sunday roast was top quality definatly be visitong again

Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh W, Manager at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi Michael,

Thank you for the lovely review! The roast lamb is going down a treat!! see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lodge also viewed

Slyne, Lancaster District
Morecambe, Lancaster District
 
Carnforth, Lancaster District
Carnforth, Lancaster District
 
Carnforth, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing