We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oakdene Forest Park
Nearby Hotels
St. Leonards Hotel(St Leonards)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ringwood(St Leonards)
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Hotel Bournemouth(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moorhill House Hotel(Burley)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Burley Manor(Burley)
US$169
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveller rating
203
196
62
33
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
203
196
62
33
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubswimming poolcrazy golfevening entertainmenton sitestandard caravansteam roomhalf termkids clubbed caravanentertainment teamchildren's entertainmentcentral heatingholiday homesuperior lodgepeppa pig worldout of season
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
393 - 398 of 523 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Having never been on this kind of holiday before, I didn't know what to expect. But I have to say I was really pleasantly surprised. The accommodation was clean and comfortable, and the kids loved it. The activities for kids (including archery, snorkelling, climbing wall and balance bike lessons) were brilliant and really reasonably priced. My son kept on wanting to do them even if he'd done them before. It was also really safe for the kids to cycle around outside, close to the accommodation, with other kids holidaying there, and that added to their enjoyment. The pool was clean and well staffed and the supermarket had everything you wanted and, surprisingly, not at inflated prices. It was also a great centre for venturing a little further afield to do Go Ape, the ski slope at Christchurch, as well as the beaches. But probably the very best thing of all was the staff, especially the ones who did the kids' activities.They were absolutely BRILLIANT, were always cheerful and the kids totally loved them - a real asset to Oakdene. I would definitely go back there again - my son would go there tomorrow given half a chance!

Room Tip: We were in Bluebell, which was great - not too far from the pool etc but far enough away that we didn't hear the music from the entertainment each night.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Oakdene Forest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Oakdene Forest Park.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for your kind review of our staff; we shall pass this on to them.

We look forward to you coming back.
Regards,
Shorefield Holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We just returned from a 7 night stay. Good points- clean spacious caravan, bramshaw, with everything we needed. Even had a patio with outdoor furniture and both rooms had an en suite toilet. Lots for our children to do like forest walks, plenty of space to ride bikes, free daytime activities(crafts and games mostly), paid for activities (we did musketeers and pirates), wonderful indoor pool with flume and outdoor paddling pool. Childrens shows that started at 6:30 so not too late. Our 6 and 4 year olds loved the magic show and games nights. They also loved the squirels Cyril and Cybil. Also oakdene is very pet friendly. We took our dog and he loved the long walks in the woods. Bad points- Seems every night there were loud people about. I know its a holiday so expected to hear people out having a good time in the evenings but one night at about 1am we heard some sort of dispute, perhaps coming from the entertainment complex. The noise level of these peoples voices and the profanity used was unbelievable and it seemed to go on for ages. Not sure if oakdene has night security but would probably be a good idea especially since the bar is open quite late. The park is full of young children and is no place for drunks and anti social behaviour. I dont remember seeing security anywhere. Also the cafe seemed quite pricey and not very good quality food although the staff were very friendly. I would strongly recommend the beefeater right down the road. All in all we would go to oakdene because my children loved it and are desperate to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Oakdene Forest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Oakdene Forest Park.

We are sorry to hear about the noise problems you had during your stay, this was a domestic dispute between guests and was dealt with by security; the guests were removed the next morning.

We are glad hear you and your family enjoyed the park and we look forward to you all returning to Oakdene.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Having stayed her many times before we were slightly worried when reading poor reviews however when we arrived we were relieved. Everything was the same, Staff were polite as usual and facilities were of a Amazing standard. I was also pleased to see the Costcutter had been replaced with Nisa Local which meant prices were cheaper meaning it was more worthwhile shopping there and not the Sainsbury's up the road. We stayed for 7 days and used the Pool g out of the 7 days. The kids loved the flume's and the pool was of a comfortable 28 degree's Celsius. Lifeguards were alert as usual but also very helpful with other enquires.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICTWhizz1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Oakdene Forest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of Oakdene Forest Park.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday and hope you will be returning again soon.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

we took our two grandchildren to this holiday park for a week (11 and 8 year old)the booking in was fast and the staff pleasant and efficient. our caravan was clean and the bedding clean and comfortable. it was well equipped with all that was needed for a weeks self catering a supply of tea and coffee was also left for a much needed drink after the journey. our grandson signed up for the fencing, archery and den building which they enjoyed very much and the instructors were excellent and very good with the children. there was also a climbing wall which our youngest grandchild loved (you do have to pay) they also went on the go ape experience in the forest which was great fun will zip wire and hairy walk. All in all a good holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nordener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Oakdene Forest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Oakdene Forest Park.

We are glad to hear your grandchildren enjoyed our Go Active activities.
We hope you will return once again to Oakdene.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I was a little apprehensive about our break after reading some of the reviews, however we had no complaints. We stayed in a Bradshaw static for 7 nights. The caravan was clean and well equipped, although it would be handy if a towel package was available. The swimming pool was lovely and warm but did get a little too crowded at times and older children were very boisterous. The play park was good as was the crazy golf. We only went to the evening entertainment once which to be honest improvements are required! The shop was well stocked with essentials at a higher price than supermarkets but there is a large sainsburys down the road. Ideal base as we visited paultons, monkey world and beaulieu. Also down the road is Avon health country park, well worth a visit if you have children. Overall a good holiday and we would return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa161183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Oakdene Forest Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for your review of Oakdene Forest Park.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday and got to explore the surrounding areas.
We look forward to you returning.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews