We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
112
28
13
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
28
13
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games room underfloor heating on site motor home music playing swimming pool is dog walking field club room shower block friendly camp deep end common sense free weekend surrounded by beautiful countryside family environment car battery new forest
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful experience at shamba. Was made to feel very welcome. The pitches are massive and the site was really we kept. The toilets were clean and showers were always warm and well maintained. There is a large rule list when you arrive but this to me was common sense and standard practice and anyone would see that these rules need to be in place to make people respect others and the site. The clubhouse was well stocked and the food looked very nice although we didn't try any. The pool kept the kids entertained but could of done with the roof opening on the warmer days. My only moan would be and its not just this site but why can't tents be kept separate from caravans even if they want hook up. I didn't pay 20 k to have luxuries just to be woke by your neighbours torch light and zips being open and closed when they need the toilet in the small hours. All in all a very good site well done shamba and the team.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Rackster0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Both our friends and our family took a trip down to this lovely little campsite over the bank holiday and were all very impressed.
The campsite was spotlessly tidy and clean and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.
The swimming pool was great entertainment for the children on a grey day and the playground kept them busy too.
Our dog thought he had gone to heaven when he was introduced to the dog exercise field - also very clean.
The highlight for me was our last evening when the manager decided to offer a burger night - so not very exciting, but when I asked if he could add blue cheese to my burger, he politely said that he didn't have any but would go to his own caravan and get his own goats cheese and caramelised chutney just for me. What service!!!!!
Would highly recommend.

Room tip: Plot 144 is close to the playground and the dog field
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank JayWoodPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

About the only thing I can fault without complaining about the weather is a bumpy track That may soon be remedied for all I know.
The park is under new management by all accounts ( and by reading tripadvisor review history).
On day one, we arrived with a tent we'd bought the previous year, never been able to put up, and thought it was much smaller. Well, after finally putting it up, one of the wardens apologetically told us it was too big for the pitch, and we would have to move it to stay within fire regulations. He said he would fetch help, which he did, and also supplied coffee. They gave us a double pitch, but did not charge us the extra (admittedly it was quiet season)- Note to self, know size of your tent before booking pitch!!!
On day two, we were going out, and asked if we could refreeze our ice blocks, and what was the cost ( a lot of places charge, they hire ice blocks) but they lent us frozen blocks, and froze ours for us.
The team are so friendly, ok it was a quiet period, and they were under little pressure, but they all welcomed us, and were very approachable.

The park is surrounded by a high hedge, which gives it a secluded feel, but is pretty much flat, and open bar a few trees.
The toilets and showers struck me as being very clean and tidy, as was the washing up area.
Electric hook ups, and water taps adjacent to hook ups available on all pitches ( or so it looked).
Clean and tidy clubhouse, no entertainment at this time of year, but not interested in that... maybe when we bring the kids.
Ate at clubhouse one night, food good, and plentiful, and well presented.

This site is well positioned for days in the New Forest, Hampshire, or Dorset, and had some nice days in Hythe, Christchurch and Bournemouth.

Local eateries nearby (Hungryman type two for one pub grub, or Little Chef), or going into Ferndown, is the Angel, or various pub/restaurants in Ringwood.
Better still, head into the Forest for a greater selection (we found a pleasant place called The Hobbit Bar in Hythe, and had afternoon tea in the Captains Club in Christchurch).

Overall, a lovely place to stay, will return if can get the big pitch for our tent.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank roblove2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Very friendly people running the site. Very good facilities in general and toilet facilities exceptionally clean. Very easy to get to and close to New Forest National Park and other lovely sites of Dorset and Hampshire. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Bournemouth.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Poppyvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

A nice greeting from the staff and we were shown our pitch for the night. A full hard standing and power and water all very close and convenient.

The facilities are excellent with everything you need available. Showers, Toilets, waste disposal etc etc.

Can't fault the place really. Would use it again if looking to stay in the area.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank N9353OEsteveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews