We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Slice of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lake Yurt

Idyllic Lake Yurt nestled on the edge of a small lake and surrounded by woodland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Idyllic Lake Yurt nestled on the edge of a small lake and surrounded by woodland
Giant rhubarb by the lake Enjoying the campfire!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Idyllic Lake Yurt nestled on the edge of a small lake and surrounded by woodland
Giant rhubarb by the lake
Enjoying the campfire!
View towards Lake Yurt
Inside Lake Yurt, cosy with the woodburner, rugs and cushions
The rustic kitchen, well stocked with everything you need
Sunshine Yurt plus Paddy our dog (very popular with all our guests!)
Inside the yurt
Alpacas in the neighbours' field
Walk down to the river
Candlelight in the yurt
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yurt -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Poundsgate, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ben G
1 review
“Slice of heaven”
Reviewed 27 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We spent three nights in the Lake Yurt and loved every minute of it. Our dog Tommy was beside himself with excitement for the whole time.
The yurt itself is super cosy with a nice woodburner for the chilly mornings and evenings. The outside space is amazing, quiet, in the middle of nature, with a great covered outdoor kitchen and a place to make campfires.
The hosts are very welcoming and friendly and have good tips for walks and nearby restaurants (we loved the Old Library for Sunday lunch).
From the yurt its a short walk through a blue bell forest to the stunning moors.
It's a magical place and we will definately be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbase...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Switch off and unwind”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at Lake Yurt for a few days and it was absolutely gorgeous. As soon as you arrive you are warmly greeted by Wendy, Larry and Paddy the dog who take you down to the secluded yurt.

We were not disappointed, the yurt was a beautiful spacious structure with comfortable interiors surrounded by lovely woodland which you are invited to explore.

We very much enjoyed getting back to nature, you may not get much mobile phone signal and you may be thankful for it!

The eco shower and compost toilet were a nice touch and setting a fire to cook on and heat the shower was a lot of fun.

When you're not hiking through the woods we recommend taking the boat out to the centre of the lake to watch the huge dragonflies darting over the surface of the water.

Absolutely cannot rate this mini relaxing-adventure-holiday highly enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
We are very happy you had such a good time and hope to see you again in 2018!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
867mjeffe...
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Possibly the most beautiful place on earth”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a lovely stay, it is such a relaxing and beautiful place and the site has everything you could ever need. The outdoor kitchen, wood fire heated showers and fridge in the stream as well as everything else make it a completely rustic and back to nature experience. Loved the solar lighting, made it very magical.Thank you!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Lake Yurt. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan S
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a pice of heaven on earth”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Amazing place to unwind relax the setting great we timed it with bluebells in the wood and the deer came through .
There to a walk from the yurt takes you out on to the moor no need to touch a road .
Owner are great from first contact and welcoming when you get there turn up and there take your gear down for as you take the short walk down to the yurt through the fields .There there show you around and how it works .
Yurt itself amazing and comfortable bed and lovely space put it together with the covered kitchen and dining area or the outside fire pit shower it the woods the lake its one of a kind .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything place to relax
Liked least: find this hard we cant think of anythink
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbysock...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Magical get away, beautiful, peaceful, quiet, tranquil”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

An amazing stay. The yurt is beautiful, loads of room and comfy. After 5 minutes with the wood burner its absolutely toasty. The tea lights really make it beautiful at night.

The location is quiet, you have a bluebell wood all to yourself for gathering wood, a lake, toilet, shower and kitchen, you wont see another person all holiday if you don't want to.

You can walk out the back of the wood to the higher moor and sit on a tor and watch sun set. No electricity but that is a good thing. The kitchen is great, if you want to use the gas hob you can but there is always the open fire option.

The hosts are great, incredibly accommodating and friendly. What more do you want really? A great magical long weekend and we really didn't want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie C
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic getaway”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We absolutely loved everything about this yurt. It is isolated and sits between a lake and a bluebell wood. The amenities are excellent and it makes you realise how much we take for granted every day. The yurt was comfortable and cosy and we really enjoyed the wood burner and tea lights at night. Larry and Wendy were very helpful and welcoming and made sure our stay was perfect. You can walk up onto the moor from the yurt or explore the wider area of Dartmoor in the car. A very relaxing few days away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bluebell wood, but I loved everything about the yurt and the location
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen O
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really awesome and relaxing”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Came here after my mum passed away and wanted to escape reality, really lovelly place totally relaxing and humbling to appreciate what is important which is family and not the material things in life, a great escape and we will return in happier times and just enjoy being together as without the distractions of tv and internet which sometimes mean you dont appreciate the things around you. Everything you need to get by is supplied and Wendy and Larry have put there hearts into making this a great experience, thank you bity very much xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing