We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely magical”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunshine Yurt

Sunshine Yurt with its own rustic kitchen, firepit and Paddy the dog!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunshine Yurt with its own rustic kitchen, firepit and Paddy the dog!
Cook a delicious meal in Sunshine Yurt's rustic kitchen. Your view across the meadow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Sunshine Yurt with its own rustic kitchen, firepit and Paddy the dog!
Cook a delicious meal in Sunshine Yurt's rustic kitchen.
Your view across the meadow
Say good morning to the horses!
Beautiful handpainted wooden poles in the yurt
Home comforts with rugs, cushions and Moroccan lanterns
Inside Sunshine Yurt
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yurt -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Poundsgate, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Frankiepe...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely magical”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had the most beautiful weekend here with friends. The hosts were so friendly and kind. I would recommend a visit to anyone who loves peace and quiet and beautiful scenery!! The yurts were beautifully decorated and so ornate. Thank you for such a wonderful time !!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pols242
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Magical weekend to remember!”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We all had an amazing and memorable weekend staying in the yurts. I had booked the yurts for our group thinking they had looked nice and good value, however we were all blown away with how beautiful the yurts were and how magical the setting was. We enjoyed cooking on the fire, walking on the moors and cosying up the yurts in what felt like our own secluded world.
We didn't need for anything, the yurts were comfy and the little outdoor kitchens very well equipped. It gave us a a feeling of a beautiful simple country life. Wendy and Larry were so welcoming and prepared to help up with anything we needed, so thank you for an amazing weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giraffe_1...
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“expectations exceeded.”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our first stay in a yurt and the experience exceeded our expectations. The yurt was clean and well furnished. It looked lovely at night with all the lanterns lit.The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. We enjoyed building fires to heat the water for the shower which worked well. The kitchen was well equiped and had everything we needed. Wendy, Larry and Paddy were great hosts making sure we had everything we needed but also giving us space to enjoy a very relaxing weekend away from the nose and stress of daily life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick G
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A sunny stay in a beautiful yurt!”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a great 3 nights in Sunshine yurt. It was the perfect way to relax and unwind without the stresses of modern life. It was great fun having to make fires to cook and heat the shower, real back to basics! Larry and Wendy were fantastic from start to finish, with a warm welcome, great tips on what to do in the area and a constant supply of wood. The yurt is in a idyllic location overlooking a field of horses with beautiful walks at your doorstep. Would recommend to all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tacuxb
Uxbridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A truly great experience”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for three nights and were sad to leave. Right from the start it was a perfect escape. Wendy, Larry, and Paddy were fabulous hosts and the sunshine yurt was spectacular. We had room for 5 and it worked out nicely for our family. The little kitchen had everything we needed and the outdoor shower was a treat. Larry and Wendy told us the best places to hike. The moors were beautiful and what a sight to see wild horses, deer and sheep all at your doorstep. We shopped for our food in Ashburton which was a 10 minute drive. Fell in love with this town! Butcher, fruit and vegetable store and lovely little tea rooms. If you are looking for a different idealic holiday your should try the dartmoor yurt holiday. Great hosts and beautiful scenery. We can't wait to return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheshireJ...
cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wished we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a fantastic 3 night family break here! Having never stayed in a yurt we weren't totally sure what to expect - everything about it exceeded all expectations. Shower,toilet, & kitchen facilities were grest. The Yurt itself was spacious, clean & very comfortably equipped and the setting was perfect. The seclusion & our own outdoor space was idyllic. Our Children loved every minute! We all had a brilliant time - a truly memorable experience we hope to repeat! Special thanks to Larry & Wendy, extremely friendly and helpful hosts who have basically thought of everything and unobtrusively ensure that everything is ok throughout the stay. Paddy the Farm Dog is a joy-sorely missed by the Children!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic, the break we needed.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Amazingly tranquil location, perfect for a relaxing break. The yurt was authentic Mongolian, amazingly hand painted and so warm we barely needed the wood burner. All the features, such as wood fired water heater and stream fridge, have been so well thought about that they work perfectly and help to make this such a lovely "low tech" getaway. Wendy, Larry and Paddy really made us feel at home and helped to make this such a great time. Can't wait to return with the kids for some more wild swimming in the river.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing