We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a hidden gem!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Summerhouse and Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Summerhouse and Garden
Summertime Living Area with Views out to the Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Summerhouse and Garden
Summertime
Living Area with Views out to the Garden
Uncluttered Space
Clean and Contemporary Furnishing
Living Room
Looking out from The Summerhouse
Light and Airy Living Space
Clean and Bright Interior
Enjoy the sunshine with seating right outside your door
Lots of Local Information Guides
Views to the Garden
Colourful and Contemporary Furnishings
Lots of Outdoor Sitting Space
Dining Area
Looking out from the Kitchen
Morning Springtime in The Summerhouse Garden
Ox-Eye Daisy Path at The Summerhouse
Kitchen
Kitchen and Dining Area
The Outhouse 
(an old pigsty)
The Garden
Bedroom with Views to the Garden
Bedroom leading to En-suite Walk-in Shower
En-Suite Walk-in Shower
Around the Garden
Approaching The Summerhouse
Sitting under the Pergola
A Secret Path
The Summerhouse
Country Walks on the Doorstep
Glastonbury Tor from The Summerhouse
Early Morning at The Summerhouse
Silaging as seen from the doorstep of The Summerhouse
View from the Bedroom Window
Sunset over The Tor taken from The Summerhouse
Sunset through the Withies at the bottom of the garden
Certificate of Excellence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
West Pennard, Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
HarrisMac
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a hidden gem!”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in November 2016

Our stay here was lovely. Caroline was such a great host and the summerhouse is the perfect place to relax for a few days. The house is very stylish with every little detail carefully considered. Everything was spotlessly clean too!

The place is in a great location with Glastonbury only a short drive away. We easily made it up the Tor on a bright and windy November day.

We would love to come back again and enjoy the gorgeous garden in the summer sunshine.

Choosing to stay at this hidden gem is a decision you won't regret.

Sam



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Thank you Sam. Hope to see you here again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemu
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We have just returned from 2 nights away in The Summerhouse. We had a wonderful time and cannot wait to return. The Summerhouse is spotlessly clean, light, bright and airy. It is furnished with brightly coloured, modern and tasteful furnishings.
The bathroom is equipped with a beautifully warm and powerful shower and the underfloor heating makes it toasty and warm all the way through into the bedroom.
The bedroom is spacious, with a very comfortable double bed, wardrobe and drawers and stunning views out across the countryside.
The kitchen comes equipped with mugs, cutlery, pots and pans- all of the essential things needed for a self catering trip away.
The views across the fields and the majestic Glastonbury Tor are breathtaking and gives the sense of peace.
The Summerhouse is very well situated and close to Glastonbury, whilst still feeling rural. It would be a fantastic base for exploring nearby Wells, Wookey and Cheddar.
The thing I loved most about The Summerhouse is the little personal touches. Caroline has done a wonderful job of making it feel like a home from home. A little handwritten note, a bottle of wine on arrival- just small but lovely things that make you feel welcome and the feeling she would be on hand if you needed anything. And yet at the same time she gives you privacy and space.
We really did have a lovely time away- we only wish could've stayed longer. We would certainly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Thank you for a lovely review. Please come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomC1684
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Visit”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here a couple of years ago and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Summer House is one of several holiday properties up and down the country where we think "we'll stay there again". Well, it's the first one where we've actually done so, and we enjoyed it as much this time as we did the first.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's clean, comfortable with onsite parking, close to Glastonbury, but out in the country - it doesn't get much better than that.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire W
St Albans
2 reviews
“Fabulous summerhouse! ”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Although we weren't blessed with the weather during our stay, we still had a fantastic time due to staying at this very comfortable, modern and spotlessly clean summerhouse. We also loved Caroline's little touches, the wealth of local literature and that it was only a short walk to the pub. I would love to come back in better weather to make the most of the lovely garden. Only heard one cockerel, which was only faintly and quite liked it as it added to the countryside experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puddinlov...
stockport,
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“COCK A DOODLE DOO”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I can only assume that all the previous reviewers who used the word peaceful must be hard of hearing. From approx 5.30 am 4 or 5 cockerels letting loose on average every 12 seconds, I know this because I would lie there counting the gaps, unable to sleep. I suppose over time you get used to it but not in a few days We took our dog but were told not to exercise the dog in the garden. How do you stop a dog weeing? Previous cottages we have stayed in use the common sense rule, if your dog fouls then clear it up. The advert leads you to believe it has a private garden, it hasn't. We couldn't let our dog out on her own because there was nothing to stop her running away. It was very hot when we were there and we were advised to shut the blinds covering the huge windows to the front, it didn't really work, it was boiling. A floor standing fan might be a good idea given that the owner is aware of the problem already. On the positive side, the bed is one of the most comfy I have ever slept in, fantastic shower, fixtures and fitting excellent, TV a little small but ok, complementary goodies.If a little money was spent to fence off an area for the visitors with a secure gate this place could be a lot better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed
Liked least: Cockerels and dog facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review.
The offending cock a doodle doo is no more. He was a recent addition to the neighbours chicken coup and became too vocal for his own good.
I only wish you had come and knocked on my door, close by the property, and raised these issues at the time.
The garden is private but not enclosed.
If I had known you preferred to exercise your dog in the garden there are areas where this is possible though dog walks and open countryside are on the doorstep.
Again, if I had known, I would have provided you with a fan. The suggestion to close the blinds is only when you are away from the property when windows and doors are likely to be shut.
I do not like to intrude on guests privacy but I am always happy to help and to try and resolve whatever concerns may arise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeyratt...
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Holiday”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Wow what a beautiful slice of heaven in the glastonbury countryside,clean airy and all you need for a perfect break and Caroline is a perfect host/owner we shall hopefully be back soon many thanks Mike + Wendy from Evesham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattspier...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The summerhouse is amazing. A great finish and lovely settings all at a very good price. Visited as spent a week in Glastonbury on a course, however I'm definitely coming back with my wife.

Couldn't recommend the summerhouse enough!

Such a great find! Had the most relaxing week. Thanks again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing