We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning cottage blessed with history and charm”
other travellers have booked this property
Old Farm Medieval Farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Farm Medieval Farm
Entrance to Old Farm Main House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Old Farm Medieval Farm
Entrance to Old Farm
Main House
View from farmyard towards Cider House
Cider House
Cider house with Terrace
View towards Glastonbury  Tor
Cider House terrace & BBQ
Winter view from house to Tor
Field with our donkey Arthur and shetland Laddie
Buttercup field
Spring apple blossom in our traditional orchard
Dusk
Stunning sunset over Glasto Tor, not photoshopped !
Nice view over pond towards Cider House
Haymaking
Our traditional 'rare breed' orchard
Early morning
Naughty Laddie!
Our lawnmowers!
Luke and sheep ( Luke is one the left!)
Our ever friendly Tori dog!
Kitchen to living room
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
West Pennard, Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
JohnRober...
Biggin Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning cottage blessed with history and charm”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We recently stayed for at this delightful cottage for 9 nights and wished we didn't have to leave!

From the first moment to the last, our stay was perfect in every way. With the welcome pack of flowers, milk, bread, homemade honey and even a bottle of wine through to the last day when leaving, everything was perfect!

The owner, Richard, who restored this property, which was originally built during the reign of King Edward III in the 14th century, was the perfect host in every way. Making sure that we felt right at home throughout our stay, allowing us to feed and pet Arthur the donkey, Laddie the pony and a wonderfully playful Tori-dog even through to allowing our daughter to clean out one of his bee hives fully suited and to taste the fresh honey under his full supervision and care!

The property has an unrivalled view of the Glastonbury Tor and can be walked to and from through the fields in two hours, For us with children, this was the ideal base just outside Glastonbury with easy access to Glastonbury Abbey, Cheddar Gorge, Wookey Hole and many, many more attractions including a 10 minute walk to the local pub for us big kids!

In conclusion, this was a wonderful place to be and one you have to experience to believe.

On a personal note, I would like to thank Richard for his gracious hospitality and for the time he spent with our daughter telling her stories and helping her to overcome her anxiety of animals. She arrived scared of most animals and left with a bond with Arthur and Tori that shed a tear or two on the way home.

We will be back...........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage. Magical.
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Jos...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a lovely environment - what a treat!”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My family and I stayed at the Cider House for a long weekend in May and had a fabulous time. The cottage is spacious, cosy and really comfortable. The gardens and fields are ideal for the children to run around and have lots of fun. The owner, Richard, was very nice. He checked that we had everything we needed, showed us his dog, the bees, the donkey and the sheep. The surrounding area is beautiful and there is plenty to do and visit. We would greatly recommend this place and wish we can come back some time for another lovely break. Thank you!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitkin117
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Charming Antique Country Home on a Great Farm”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The Cider House is fabulous! My husband, I and our two young adult children stayed here for two nights in March. The house is 500 years old, and sits next to the original farmhouse which was built in 1345! The owner, Richard, was extremely welcoming, gracious and helpful. He has done an impressive job restoring this property, and was happy to tell us some of its history. We loved petting the donkeys, feeding the chicken, and gazing at the sheep and the beautiful countryside. The house is decorated beautifully with attention to honoring its past. It was great to see an original cider press and to sit in front of a fire in the evenings. We loved imagining the stories this 500 year old dwelling could tell! Absolutely charming!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: We loved being in an historic home with a fascinating past. It was fun to explore the farm and to have a fire in the evenings.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-and...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm welcome in Cider house”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed in this beautifully restored cider house near Glastonbury for a long weekend and it was a hit with the whole family from five year old to granny. From the welcome pack that contains farm fresh eggs courtesy of the friendly hens, Arthur and Isabelle, to the lovely meadows and views of the Tor, this proved to be a great choice.

The Evans family have restored this historic and evocative cider house that was once part of the medieval Glastonbury abbey with total respect for its heritage, yet have also managed to integrate all mod cons. It's absolutely gorgeous, with the cider press taking pride of place in the sitting room but there's still plenty of space for a wood burning stove and two sofa's. Both bedrooms have super comfortable king size beds and are light and spacious. There is even wi fi and a good sized telly if the weather proves inclement.

Nicola and her family were very hospitable and helpful - even in our case providing extra mattresses for two passing relatives who decided to visit at the last minute.
Our five year old was in heaven feeding the chickens, the donkeys and wandering among the black sheep in a newly planted wood.
Nicola couldn't have done more to make our stay memorable and enjoyable and gave us loads of helpful advice for restaurants and day trips. We certainly benefitted from the good vibes of Glastonbury and would highly recommend.
There is also another cottage to rent and rooms available in the house subject to special request.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hospitality, historic location, beautiful countryside
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G de leeu...
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: De rust
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zeger s
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing