We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of Lion Quays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lion Quays
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston Rhyn
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Originally booked on line then I was advised that I should try to rebooked via telephone as we were wedding guests at the hotel....made a £35 saving on the online booking, so that was fine, as for the room, it's maybe just a notch above a premier inn, it was ok but nothing to write home about.
When we booked out we were given the bill which was more expensive than expected, when challenged we were advised that the extra cost was because we had a canal side room....great, but we didn't ask for it, it was just given to us, the bill was adjusted accordingly.
As for the spa, it was fully booked but we were able to use the pool, steam rooms and jacuzzi which was good.
On the whole the place is clean, but I feel a little over priced for what you get.

Room Tip: Originally booked on line then I was advised that I should try to rebooked via telephone as we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank W-VStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked in the morning for a 3pm check in, welcomed by reception was lovely (small lady) could not be more helpful, room was small was for a 4 star but clean and comfy. They have 2 restaurants was told on sat night it was a BBQ but it was a Mexican night so last minute they fit us in the main restaurant which was very slow service but worth the wait - lovely relaxed atmosphere. Swimming was not very toddler friendly as the depth all round was 1.35m but still lovely. Liked they don't charge extra for room service drinks all in all very enjoyable stay but would return without our 5 year old

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 201 (I think). For the price we payed I expected more. It seemed as we where put in that room as we booked in at 1am. We arrived at lunch time on the off chance of being able to get in our room, but had to leave our bags behind reception as we where attending a wedding at Chirk Castle (which is well worth a visit 5 stars). So the room was a major let down, the blind was broke one of the headboards was damaged. Also the bed was two singles pushed together, I wasn't sure if this was normal practice! Also if you lay on the bed to watch telly only the person on the left would be able to see it, its position was around a corner. The room was very very poor, I have stayed in premier inns with nicer rooms for half the price.

The breakfast in the morning was excellent, plenty of choice and very tasty. The hotel is in a lovely location and nice to sit outside and have a drink. Just not sure I would stay in the hotel again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Lion Quays for 2 nights, in need for some time out and relaxation.
What a lovely idyllic place to stay. The hotel staff were friendly.
We stayed in room 22 overlooking the canal, it was so picturesque. The room itself was clean and cosy. I would definitely recommend using the spa facilities if you are looking for some relaxation.
There is no need to go elsewhere to eat as the restaurant has delicious fresh food. I recommend the goats cheese salad as a starter.
We had such a intentive host in the restaurant called Adam, he made our experience very memorable and would definitely visit again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 2011sunshine2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on Friday night to celebrate our 4 year wedding anniversary.

Had a prompt check in & relaxed in our room before dinner. We booked a higher priced room that had a canal view- well worth the money.

We eat in the hotel restaurant (waterside). The food was great, I had the Thai mussels for starter & spatchcock chicken and triple fried chips for main. My hubby had soup of the day and lamb shoulder with seasonal veg for main.

The only minor thing is the mussels could have benefited from more coriander and possibly some chilli. They were cooked well but the sauce lacked a little something and I wouldn't have said they tasted Thai style.

We had breakfast in the same restaurant the next morning. There was lots of choice and the quality of the breakfast sausage etc was great.

Having checked out we asked if we could use the pool facilities etc. We were told hotel guests could use these until 4pm on the day of check out. We went over, the pool was nice, they had one steam room, a sauna room and a small jacuzzi (which was out of order). I heard there was a spa bit with more water/bubble things but I think it was £25 per person. If they had showed us these facilities and they looked good I would have booked. I was a little annoyed the jacuzzi bit that hotel guests could use was out of order too.

Overall a great stay, the room was lovely, our food was tasty and we received a good service.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARK82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have visited the hotel twice and found it a relaxing experience, it is close to the small town of Llangollen, and within easy reach of the Welsh coast. The meals are taken in the restaurant, which is a separate building which has a pub feel, or in the buffet above the leisure centre.
The service was good, the evening meal was taken in a relaxed manner, not meaning the service was slow, but that we were not rushed, and enjoyed the meal which was good quality, but not cheap. Special mention of the bed which was so comfortable, and we seemed to sink into it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 665ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We did not stay at the hotel but had gone for a spa day. The spa itself was very enjoyable, we were told at the beginning of the day that we would come away very relaxed. This was true, however the buffet food was expensive and left a lot to be desired. It appeared to be a lazy effort by the chef.

In the past the buffet has been very good, however today it was almost like the chef had decided that because it was a Monday he/she would clear out the fridge and couldn't be bothered with it all. The buffet consisted of soup and roll (not bad) and tomato pasta, cauliflower cheese, plain jacket potato halves, sweet and sour chicken. There were very small bowls of Waldorf salad, cold egg noodles, jalapeños, olives and wilted lettuce, cheap cooked salami and not much else. There were also 2 pieces of plain and 3 pieces of pink cheesecake and a bit of fruit salad. Water to drink.

The food, which had been very good in the past, was really disappointing, mainly carbohydrates to eat and a very depleted amount of other salad type foods on offer.

We complained at the end of the spa session but it still cost £10 for the member and £12 for the non-members to eat at this substandard buffet.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank SSugden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston Rhyn
4 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
448 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
499 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
799 reviews
6.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
521 reviews
9.1 mi away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Quays

Address: Weston Rhyn SY11 3EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Weston Rhyn
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston Rhyn
Price Range: £81 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lion Quays Hotel & Spa is situated just north of Oswestry, between Wrexham and Shrewsbury, on the picturesque banks of the Llangollen Canal, just a short walk from the UNESCO World Heritage Site that runs along the canal from the Chirk Aquaduct to the Horseshoe Falls in Llangollen. With 82 rooms including a bridal suite and family rooms. Lion Quays has something for everyone. We offer all the comfort and convenience you would expect from a 4 star hotel as well as full access to our Country Club - 25 m swimming pool and poolside jacuzzi, steam room and sauna for all hotel guests. You will also discover our award winning 5 bubble Spa with thermal suite and snow cave. Spa facilities and treatments can be booked on their own or with a stay in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lion Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Quays Oswestry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing