We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and beatiful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of CASA RURAL TINO

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Playa de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Michael D
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beware”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in April 2016
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 weeks in April 2016. I’m going to start with the bad things about this property, in descending order of annoyance as I saw it.
1- Toilet paper must go in a swing top bin not down the loo.
2- Swimming pool small, old, tied, located outside the main house and shared by others staying there.
3- Automatic electric gates; These were temperamental and only opened a little at times. This was worrying, if they failed completely when we were ready to leave and we couldn’t get the car out we could miss the flight back. Attempts were made to fix it while we were there, with limited success. I expect they have been fixed now.
4- Bathroom; broken towel rail, broken light fitting (no bulb) over the mirror, shower curtain, cramped.
5- Hi Fi system new, spectacle looking, no one could show us how to use it.
6- No one here speaks English.
7- 4 or 5 remote controls for TV, Hi Fi, Satellite box, another box, Air conditioning, no intelligible instructions. We mastered the TV after 2 days also found one of the remotes had no batteries. Never did get the Hi Fi on.
8- Disposal of all rubbish, toilet paper up to you.
9- Strange, small 3ftx2ft rugs all over the place, inside and surprisingly outside.

On the plus side the villa is clean and we were given a dozen of the most wonderful eggs and tomatoes. I was going to say, quiet, which it is all day, except for being awakened at 7 o’clock by the adjoining property gates constantly rattle open and close, letting workers in.
If I had known about 1- and 2- I would not have rented.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Free eggs
Liked least: Toilet paper not down the loo
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest6378...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and beatiful”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent a lovely week here with partner & two young children who rarely left the pool. Property was beautifully presented and maintained with great facilities and welcome fresh mango, eggs and wine on arrival. Within easy reach of the stunning beach and harbor at Puerto de Mogan which is easily the most authentic and unspoiled resort in that part of the Island. Spent many hours looking at the stunning surrounding valley and can recommend a drive further up into the mountains if you're feeling (very) adventurous. Would definitely book again.

Ample, comfortable seating outside the properly.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and peaceful surroundings
Liked least: Only thing I can think of is to maybe provide some plastic beakers / plates for children.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarryN63
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely property”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The owner of the property, Tino, was absolutely delightful throughout our booking arrangements and really helpful when we hit difficulties. The property itself is lovely, with super views of the hills. Yes there is a main road close by but this did not impact in any way. As with other reviewers we were met at the designated meeting point by Tino senior and shown to the house where we met Carmen. There were fresh eggs, a bottle of red wine, water and bananas. I can't say we experienced the same as others in relation to friendliness and hospitality - the only other time we saw Carmen was when she turned up on the Thursday before the Saturday we were due to leave to find out what time we were leaving. Having previously agreed with Tino junior that we did not need to leave the property until 5 (we had a late flight) Carmen told us we needed to leave at midday as they had another guest arriving at 2pm. When I explained I had agreed a later departure time with her son she told me to contact Tino and appeared quite angry (she walked off leaving me with her daughter who had been acting as interpreter) that I wouldn't change our departure time. When I spoke to Tino via email he could not have been more apologetic,confirming he had failed to communicate the departure time to his mum, and that the next guests were not due in until late in the evening.

Please do note the property does not have a private pool, it's shared and while we were there the beds were 'Reserved' by other guests placing towels on them in the evening or the morning. It's a very small pool and there were 4 other people around it. The property has a small area with two sun beds but one of the attractions of the property had been,,the private pool. Luckily I had read the later reviews before I left so I was not too disappointed when we arrived.

Lastly - the water tank holds enough hot water for one shower only (just). I managed one full hot shower before the water ran out while my partner had to have a cold shower every night. I don't know how previous guests have coped with this.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The property .was really clean, very pretty and well equipped. The eggs wine etc are a nice touch - and my dealings with Tino junior were very positive.
Liked least: The shared pool, the lack of hot water, the temperamental electric gate and the uncomfortable exchange re departure times
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennikew
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Away from the crowds with lovely views”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a very enjoyable and relaxing holiday in Casa Tino. As previous reviewers have said, the views towards the mountains and the fruit trees in the valley below are really lovely. Tino and Carmen, who live in the house next door, are very good hosts and brought us gifts of lemons, avocados and papayas from their garden and eggs from their hen house. They do not speak any English; the email correspondence is with their son, also called Tino, who speaks English but does not live locally. So do take a phrasebook if you don't speak Spanish.

The house was beautifully clean and spacious with a better TV than the one in the photo. It was quite cool in the winter evenings, as there is no heating. The pool (also unheated) is shared with the occupants of Casa Madera and any guests in Carmen and Tino's house.
However, there is a small area alongside Casa Tino which provides a more private space for sunbathing.

For us, the main appeal was to be away from the crowds in the main resorts, and to have beautiful views. The kitchen facilities were fine for self catering and there is a good barbecue. There are plenty of restaurants and shops in Puerto Mogan, just 3 kilometers away. The only restaurant within walking distance, "La Ganania", appears to have closed down, but the baker opposite stocked water, cakes and fresh bread.

We loved Casa Tino and will definitely be back.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Occasional cool evenings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 30 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We spent two weeks here and loved the villa with its excellent kitchen facilities. and pool.
The owners, Tino (senior) and wife Carmen, who live next to the villa could not have been more helpful and lovely, despite lack of English and our non existent Spanish, this did not matter.
They even took us out for lunch and would not let us pay. We hope to return.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2016
A very nice and friendly couple.
A pleasure to have in our home. He has returned to book with us and will be very happy to welcome you again.
A hug.
Tino and family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dougle196...
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Little Break”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Rural Tino lived up to its billing of a beautiful Finca type residence a couple of Kilometres from Puerto Mogan. The property was clean, very well equipped and we were welcomed with fresh fruit and bottle of red! only slight down side is proximity to the main road to Mogan, mostly ok but early mornings with the windows open it was quite noisy.

That said I would highly recommend the property, the ease to get there, the local scenery, friendly welcome and fantastic patio overlooking the valley. We will be back in the future!

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location over looking valley
Liked least: Traffic noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2016
A pleasure to receive so friendly and helpful as you and your family guests. Look forward to welcoming another time, you will be welcome.
Best wishes to you and your family.
Tino Saavedra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastcorne...
Gilze, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfy house with vallen views.”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We enjoyed our stay at Casa Rural Tino. Conveniently located for visiting Puerto de Mogan juist 5 minuten down the road. The view from the terrace was lovely and the pool very welcome after a busy day. The house had all you need for a comfortable stay. Ownership friendly and generous, bring fresh fruit etc. Unfortunately we can't speak Spanish and they couldn't speak English but we got by. Only drawback was the fairly busy road behind the house.

Date of stay: October 2015
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2015
Thank you very much for your words, we hope to have them back.
It will be a pleasure to serve you again.
A hug. Tino and Carmen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.