We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect hideaway!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Manish cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Flodabay, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Tr1ppy1
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway!”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely wee cottage with everything you need in a very peaceful coastal setting. Definitely recommend for a perfect base to explore Harris, Lewis and if you can, St Kilda. How nice to come home to a clean and cosy cottage after a hard day at the beach! Would if I could, stay here permanently.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you for the lovely kind words about the cottage. I too would love to live there permanently.Hope to welcome you back. Kind regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karel de...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mannish Coorage on Harris”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

An excellent location and a very comfortable and well equipped self catering cottage. Our only criticism is that Tripadvisor did not provide accurate directions! Fortunately a kindly neighbour directed us to the cottage and all was well!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thank you Karel, it was lovely getting chance to meet both
and I am so happy you enjoyed the cottage. Kind regards Johan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
Thank you for the kind words, we are so happy you enjoyed Manish. Kind regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JT62013
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a base to explore Harris.”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Clean and tidy and well equipped. Nice to sit outside and BBQ. Peaceful and sheltered. No phone reception or WIFI but that adds to the relaxation.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thank you for the review on the cottage, it is a nice place to relax being of the main road. Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebeccm
Accra, Ghana
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Idyllic spot”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a lovely stay at Manish Cottage- it's a great get away in a secluded location. The road to get there is quite winding but affords beautiful views. Nice furnishings and very comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Thank you for you kind words, the bays does have beautiful views around every corner a lovely little inlet. Kind regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey72
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic break in idyllic setting ”
Reviewed 27 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
3
people found this review helpful

I can't recommend this cottage highly enough. It felt like the goldilocks holiday home, not too big but not too wee, not too near to town but not too isolated either. Johann and her husband were great in the lead up to our break - they answered my 482 questions quickly, without any hint of frustration, and even popped over to replace a bulb during our break. The cottage is clean, comfortable and bright, with everything you would need for a few days away. The views are breathtaking, the sheep were always on hand for photos, and the enclosed garden with outside seating was great for dogs, although ours were left at home this time. We will definitely be back with the dogs. Meeting Tweed the dog was a bonus. Thanks for a great holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
Thank you for the lovely kind words. You love Manish for all the reasons we do. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy and adequate.”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Not the easiest place to find after coming from the ferry. The 'Golden Road' to Manish is an experience that you will never forget. The house itself, is nicely located, clean, comfortable and warms up quickly. However, as others have said it is not really more than a two person house. I can imagine some folk coming back on a regular basis and I would recommend it providing they were not looking for something extra special.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Thank you for your review. Kind Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing