We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balcony Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kratie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balcony Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 19 Kratie B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This place is cheap, in a decent location (it is a fairly small town and it's only about 350m from where the bus drops you off) and the staff is nice and helpful. The balcony has a decent view, the shower was warm and the AC worked. The rooms are a good size. You can rent motorcycles. On the other hand, the food was not very good, the place is very dated, a bit rundown, quite dirty and dusty. It really needs a serious scrub down and a bit of a renovation. Sheets, towels and pillow cases need to be cleaned thoroughly (the towels smelled pretty bad once they got a bit wet). The second night we were there, there was construction next door until midnight (not their fault). All in all, it's a cheap place with the basics.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amadeus303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    52
    30
    12
    26
See reviews for
8
72
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

The place is well located a 5 minute walk from the bus station. We were given an enormous twin room with two double beds and ensuite for $12 a night. While the value is good, the room was a bit grimy. The floors were dirty and the sheets also didn't seem clean (I had hair in my bed). The bathroom is fine although the toilet had trouble flushing. There's hot water. The room had quite a few mosquitos in it with no nets provided. The restaurant does fairly nice, cheap food although the decor is extremely tired and is in desperate need of a paint job. The staff are friendly and have basic English.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hheart_142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bharatpur, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Its clean, basic with very friendly and helpful staff. You get exactly what you pay for plus a little extra with the helpful staff, perfect for budgeting backpackers. You can rent bicycles from here as well so you can just ride your day away, see the dolphins and enjoy the local cultues.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonowibs1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This place appears to have had very mixed reviews over the months, along with the town in general - I can only say that our experience was all good. It's extremely cheap (we paid $6 for a large double room with wall mounted fan), clean, quiet, and well located. Plus at the end of the day you can sit on that balcony with a beer and a great view of the sunset.
The owner/manager speaks excellent English and met us from the bus with his tuk tuk to take us to the guest house (It's only a 10 minute walk but nice to have a lift in the dark). He sorted out bikes for us for $3 a day and there is also a desk near the entrance which has leaflets of the various rides you can do up and down the Mekong - dolphin watching, visiting villages etc.
Incidentally, I would thoroughly recommend doing a couple of these. The roads are pretty good and not that busy and it's a really pleasant ride.
I also enjoyed Kratie as a whole. We ended up staying an extra night (three in total) as there was plenty to see and do there.
In brief - it's not the Ritz, and it could probably do with a bit of paint and a garden makeover - but certainly for anyone backpacking it's a good place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsLox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

The staff at the Balcony are very nice and helpful. Located a 5 minute walk from the centre of town and where the buses drop off is great.

For the price it is great value. Large room with fan that worked, hot water and free wifi. Probably could do with a bit of attention such as a lick of paint but that's a small gripe.

Enjoyed watching the sun set from the balcony with a cold beer.

Special thanks to the manager who was very helpful guy. Even picked us up when our bus arrived late from Siem Reap.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The world
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

A very nice family run gueathouse on the river front. The place is old and dusty but the bed is clean and the food is very good. The doube rooms are huge. We had AC. Free wifi. Just a walk around the coner from the bus stop but they will also pick you up for free if you want.

They also sorted our dolphin tour at a great price and our onward bus back to the captial.

Its a lovely view from the balcony for the sunset. One of the best skylines you'll see on a good night.

All in all we were very happy with our stay and we would have no problem coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our room on the ground floor was basic but it was clean. There were one or two mozzies but these were quickly desptached. The air con wasn't working but the room was still a comfortable temperature and was priced accordingly. We found the food to be good, fresh and tasty although the service was slow. The manager was very helpful and spoke very good English so no complaints with regards to disinterested staff. We were also allowed to check out very late which saved us a lot of hassle with luggage. Overall thought it was good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kratie hotels
0.8 mi away
River Dolphin Hotel
River Dolphin Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kratie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rajabori Villas Resort
0.1 mi away
Le Tonle Guesthouse
Le Tonle Guesthouse
#1 of 19 in Kratie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arun Mekong Guesthouse
Arun Mekong Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Kratie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Star Guesthouse
Star Guesthouse
#2 of 12 in Kratie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heng Heng Hotel 2
Heng Heng Hotel 2
#1 of 12 in Kratie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony Guesthouse

Property: Balcony Guesthouse
Address: Riverfront | Above Sunny, Kratie, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kratie Province > Kratie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Kratie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and see our new guesthouse... all beautiful, all clean ;) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balcony Guesthouse Hotel Kratie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing