We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be better”
Review of Ly-Cheu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ly-Cheu Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Kratie B&B and Inns
Ubrique, Spain
Level Contributor
384 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Should be better”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This revue is written from a traveller's perspective. The hotel is a 15 minute walk or a 3USD tuk tuk ride from the centre. The receptionist barely speaks English and there are no maps or trip booking facilities at all.

For some reason the lights in the corridors don't always come on. There is WIFI in the room but no room safe. Water and coffee are provided free and there is a fridge. When we came back into the hotel today the cleaners had not locked the door. The stand in bath shower would be OK if there was a shower curtain.

The staff in the restaurant appear to be more interested in the length of their skirts than in providing a service. English is again at a premium and most of the tables have food, napkins and cigarette ash under them. The staff don't seem to notice.

Perhaps this place was not designed for visitors from Europe. It certainly feels that way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacko070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    10
    8
    12
See reviews for
2
11
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Paterson, Australia
Level Contributor
436 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel was easy to find (on the road into Kratie from Phnom Penh) and clean. A little weird how so many internal lights were off.... cost saving?? Anyway the staff only spoke basic English but it did the job, there was free internet and while basic the room was clean and hey, you get what you pay for. So no complaints. I can't comment on the restaurant as I didn't use it. The hotel helped me organise onwards transport in an efficient manner. Main problem with the hotel is that it isn't really in the heart of Kratie. Not too long a hike but it was a bit of a walk. Note that if you are on a public bus from PP you will see this hotel on the right as you head into town but the bus doesn't stop near it, going into town. So it's hoofing it back out there or tuk-tuk (drivers wait for the bus).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The hotel owner is rude and he acts like he is doing you favor. It's dirty- the menus had dust all over them. The girl that was working there was very busy digging around in here nose- oh no- what must be going on in the kitchen? A cat kept crawling on my table. Air con kept going off and on- so did the lights. Shall I continue? I had already paid, but forfeited my money to leave for another hotel. Horrible location. You can get just as a good of a room in town for 15 bucks.

Room Tip: Stay in town, rooms are just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyfromKailua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kratie hotels

Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
197 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This hotel is less than 2 years old but looks much older once inside. The decor already looks dated and in need of a re-furb. The rooms are quite a good size but not overly clean when you look up and around properly. The beds are made of solid concrete - or feel that way. There was never any hot water - just luke warm. Breakfasts were very poor and was almost thrown at you. Most of the staff spoke little or no English. There was absolutely no information anywhere about the area or how to arrange trips and the staff on reception looked us blankly when we were trying to find out about organising anything. In the end we just found our own tuk tuk driver and sorted our trip to see the dolphins which as excellent. The hotel is at least 2 klms from town and not a great route to walk as it is largely along a busy unlit road in an area which looks less than safe. Considering this is supposed to be the best hotel in town god only knows what the others must be like!

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here stay only long enough (1 night) to visit the dolphins which only takes ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We made a reservation by phone and were offered two VIP rooms for 25 USD each. When arriving after a 350 km trip (from Phnom Penh to Kratie) they did not have our reservation and were only able to give us 1 normal room for 25 USD and for the one remaining VIP room we had to pay 40 USD.

The bathroom features a typical mini boiler which allows you to get a trickle of warm water and the room (bedding, glasses etc) was not exactly clean.

Since we arrived quite late we decided to try and have dinner at their restaurant. First four meals I selected were not available, beer cans also ran out after one can. The meal itself was not too bad.

In the morning we wanted to go for breakfast but were stopped at reception where they told us we had to give back the VIP room and they would give us a normal room and pay back 15 USD. At that moment in time I choose to make a point of our reservation and if they wanted us to switch rooms they should compensate for the first night also..... well.... it took me 30 minutes to explain our point of view and said we would be at breakfast while they discuss internally (breakfast should be inclusive according to booking websites like Agoda).... so, there was no bread available for breakfast.... then we had to explain them that the town is full of bread and would they be so nice to go and buy some bread.... All in all it has taken us > 1 hour to do breakfast and of-course they charged us for it.

They eventually agreed to refund the extra money for the first night as it turned out they needed the VIP room very badly because the son of the King was coming to stay (so that's why all the police and army around the hotel).

The room I stayed in did not even get cleaned/serviced after the first night...

I must say the staff at reception did try their best, so it looks like it's more of a management issue that reservations get lost which they make it out to be the problem of the guest...... not welcoming at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Astrid_Claessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kratie hotels
0.0 mi away
Mekong Dolphin Hotel
Mekong Dolphin Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kratie
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
River Dolphin Hotel
River Dolphin Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kratie
208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Tonle Guesthouse
Le Tonle Guesthouse
#1 of 19 in Kratie
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rajabori Villas Resort
0.0 mi away
Balcony Pizza Bar Restaurant & Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Arun Mekong Guesthouse
Arun Mekong Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Kratie
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ly-Cheu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ly-Cheu Hotel

Property: Ly-Cheu Hotel
Address: National Highway 7, Sangkat Orrussey | Preah Sihanouk (St.), Kratie, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kratie Province > Kratie
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Kratie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ly-Cheu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ly-Cheu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing