We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed 13 days in this resort 0ct 14 to oct 27,2012.....i can say iv seen d best....all the staff,owners and everybody in this resort are all polite......i really mis d place so much......im sure il b back again in d near future.......thanks from the bottom of my heart to all the people in this resort.....Mis u guys.......

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyce_jab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

the resort was very nice, the staff are very accommodating and friendly they always make sure that they would communicate with you if you need any assistance. Stayed here for a total of 5 days and the experience was really great except that there's no room service and TV. We will surely go back here next year one reason is because of their Staff...KUDOS TO YOU GUYS!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mhilani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I have been staing there 7 days.....10-17 oct/2012
That is the best place if you want to see nature, relax.
The most important thing, that there you are like a guest living in the friends house. There is a "Little Mama" who care about all your needs!!! She and her family make your hollidays to be a fairytale :)
You can visit the boat that stay about 150 m from island and do whatever you want alone!!! Or take your own boat with boatman and visit any delicious islands, stay there as long as you want... and even ask him to cook a fresh fish for you... you are welcome!!!! (but say about it before your set sail) Whatever you want... just ask "Little Mama" - she is the best!!! (and Risa :)

Only disappointed thing - there is no wi-fi when no electricity :( and not hot water, but it is the normal thing for Philippines.
I very recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnstasiaVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

It is not a bad place, the hotel itself is nice but it should be cheaper. We booked a room for two nights with a 15% off for last minute booking. Total price was 80US$, without the offer maybe 90. For that price, which I consider a lot bearing in mind we are in the Philippines...we didn't have hot water, the electricity was going on and off (mostly off during day time), breakfast was not included, no wifi (it is ok, I understand, is an island, but every one else offers wifi nowadays). We dived also and was ok but they didn't tell us to try the dive suits beforehand and when I tried mine it was huge...same size than my boyfriends who is 15 kg and 12cm more than me (pretty obvious we don't have the same size). Also, they didn't offer us a tea or snack between dives (normally dive centers always do), I don't complain because dives were cheap (25€ each with gear included).

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belenghc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The bungalow rooms are pleasant and clean.
However getting to and from Coron can be a bit of a drag and there is no beach to speak of here. We went on a couple of day boat trips the hotel organised which were pelasant enough, however there seemed to be a lot of extra P100 and P200 charges (kick backs?) for each place we visited. These added up an extra P400 on one day - we weren't told of the extra charges until we were sitting on the boat.
Oddly enough, the next day we visited a couple of these again on a differnt tour and we weren't charged!

Room Tip: I heard from other guests the rooms in the hotel part were a bit damp - the bungalows were very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed here Jan 2010. From Manila we managed to get a same day flight to Busuanga where one of the guys from the resort picked us up. Just a short boat trip will bring you to the little island where this resort is. It's very secluded, everyone eats together which I thought a bit strange at first but actually it was quite fun (depending on who else is staying there I guess!) and on the last night my boyfriend and I were the only two people staying there and they set us up such a cute table and really made an effort to make it romantic for us! The food is lovely too and they have pets which will come and sit with you but are not a pain and don't try to pinch your food when you are not looking! The dog is as relaxed as the island :)
The rooms are up on a small hill, not really an issue - they carry your rucksack to your room too!
At one point the electricity went off but this really wasn't a problem - someone came up with a candle lamp for us - just made the adventure a bit more fun and memorable!
As this was our first trip to the Philippines, and our first few nights of a three week trip, the lady there was able to give us some good tips on where to go, and more importantly where not to go (especially in Manilla where if you are there for a short amount of time it helps if you know where to head and what area to stay).
We didn't do a dive here so I am unsure of how it is, although they did recommend that while in the Philippines we do even an Introductory Dive which I wish we had done.
Overall a great place to start - you can arrive to Manila and be here in a few hours :) Perfect way to relax after a long haul flight!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here in dec 11 for 5 days and had a nice time in Coron, but not because of this place. The place looks nice and is not bad, but you can get better places for the money discovery divers resort asks. Second, the (english) owner seems very nice at first and even took us for a night out. But during that night he continuously made bad remarks about the phillipine people and behaved quite bad to the women. Furthermore he offered lots of drinks on his account, but when we got the bill a few days later, he charged it all and even asked extra money for the trip with his boat when we went back together. To make it worse the bill we received in the end, contained lots of double costs....
The only good thing was that we met other travelers we had a great time with (and shared our opinion).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Gijs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
14.4 mi away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
357 reviews
1 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#8 of 20 in Coron
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
Asia Grand View Hotel
#10 of 20 in Coron
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
One Averee Bay Hotel
One Averee Bay Hotel
#15 of 20 in Coron
67 reviews
15.9 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
224 reviews
1.5 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center

Address: Dicanituan Island | Barangay 5, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range: £37 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back to 100% after Typhoon Haiyan. An Island resort and dive center on its own island just 5 minutes from Coron Town. Tranquil location with individual rustic cottages and modern lodge rooms. All rooms en-suite. Warm hospitality and good food. Ideal for island hoppers and divers. Private Coron Island Tours operated from the resort to show you the best and most beautiful spots that Coron has to offer at your own pace. With one of the most experienced dive centers in Coron, come dive Corons wrecks, lakes or coral reefs with Discovery Divers from our resort. Kayaking, seafaris around Calamianes Islands are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Divers Resort Coron Hotel Coron
Discovery Divers Hotel
Discovery Island Resort And Dive Center Coron, Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing