We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private bungalows by the bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Philippines
Level Contributor
262 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
“Private bungalows by the bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

I enjoyed my 3 day stay at Discovery island and divers resort. We stayed in a private bungalow, surrounded by greenery, very quiet (except for the calls of the gecko at night!) and with a view of the Coron bay from the hammock outside our room.

Booking -
was simple - I set them an email, they answered my questions and I made bank transfer to their account

Their website is - http://www.discoverydiversresort.com/ but you will find far more photos on their facebook page which gives you a better idea of the resort and it's rooms - http://www.facebook.com/pages/Discovery-Island-Resort-Dive-Center/144879965524805

Reaching here -
The good part of Discovery is that it is away from Coron town, on an outlying island. The very approach, though small islands covered with greenery, told me that I had booked at the right place. Discovery had arranged our transport from Busuanga airport in a minivan (there are NO trikes and NO taxis in the airport, so pre arranged transport is your best option - else you will have to request the minivans booked by otehr tourists for pick up to take you, if they have space), it takes 1 hour to reach Coron town from airport, and 15 mintues by bangka to reach the Discovery resort from Coron town proper.

A word of advice -

if you ask me, unless you are really strapped for cash, DO NOT stay in Coron town., it is a dump, dusty and filled with backpackers. Stay in a resort in ANY outlying island, they are not expensive (Discovery costed us hardly 2500 pesos including breakfast)

The rooms -
were beautiful (see the photos uploaded here or on my travel blog - http://corontrip.wordpress.com/2011/11/04/coron-how-to-get-there/
We had a cottage (they also have cheaper rooms, but we wanted the privacy), the bath was attached, but naughty as it was in a corner with a wall and narrow opening, but no door. However the door is placed such that no one can see you from the bed room unless they want to :)
We liked this idea, and found it naughty, but some people may not

The CR thankfully had a door.

The bed was big, soft, we had an aircon, books to read kept on the bookshelves like Khalil Gibrans poetry and very comfortable. The house is made in native style with native items so it has excellent ventillation. This got tested on nigh #2 when the electricity failed, and we continued to sleep undisturbed!

On day 3, their water pump packed up, so we had not water in teh tap and shower, but teh resort had already kept water outside out cottage on tehir own, so it was not so convenient. Plus the owner profusely apologies and said they were fixing it.

Excellent Customer service -
I have to give them all 5 out of 5 - the owners (a British - Filipina couple... both of them kept asking us how our stay was and if we needed anything more, and addressed all issues that we raised), the staff (very courteous and helpful). I have already recommend this resort to a few people, and their experiences have been similar

Food -
The free Breakfast was wholesome - juice, eggs, toast, juice, fruit, plus Filipino breakfast like longsilog / tapsilog etc if you like. Lunch and dinner too were good. We ate in Coron town on day 3 (la Sirenetta - good) and night 2 (Seadive - hopeless!) so I don't think eating here was a restriction. The resort restaurant had sufficient variety to keep me going for 5 days.

You can take the Bangka anytime (though they ask you to inform them 1 hour in advance - the boat was almost always ready for us!) to go from the resort to the Coron town, they charge about 50 pesos for the trip, but this was a small price for the beautiful environment.

Did I tell you? You have a beautiful view of Coron bay and sunset from our cottage

Beach -
There really is hardly any beach - just a patch of coral powder. But we spent some time relaxing on the beach chairs kept there. There is also a small bamboo cubo on the water which is comfortable to relax.

Walks -
There is a walking path around the island, next to the mangroves, and we explored this our next morning. It is nice and peaceful

Activities -
Discovery island resort has a dive shop operated by another person, hence thankfully, the resort was not filled with divers, but we could dive with a 1 day notice if we waned. We arranged our day tour with the resort, which was not more in cost than if we would ave arranged it on our own from the jetty. Note - there is no snorkeling adjacent to the resort.

All in all, I would definitely recommend staying here - especially for couples, and peopel traveling single wanting peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Stay in the native air con cottages - they have a great view of Coron bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank New_YLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    74
    20
    14
    8
See reviews for
20
91
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Made an impulsive visit to the office just by the square. Decided to stay 4 days it the Island to get away from the traffic and noise of Coron Centre.
There's free banca pick up at any time from the Pier and the boat ride is just 5-10 mins.
I got a discount for staying 4 days (2000php a night) and got a very nice cottage with a beautiful sea view. The cottage were spacious, clean and nice and simple interior. Huge balcony with hammock. Expect visit from the resort dogs that are very friendly - and hey dogs are a part of the Philippines like ants, mosquitos, gekko's and sand in your flip flops.

There are flaws and some would maybe say that the resort is a bit overprices but I think in general it's very variable quality around Palawan and hard to judge. Think you pay for the remoteness and the gorgeous view. To mention a few things that is on the neg. side (and I mention these out of love and it would just give the place the final touch to improve on this);
No warm water and very little water in the shower. A little shelve in the bathroom and a permanent hanging mosquito net would be nice. A bit nicer furniture on the lovely balcony would upgrade it a lot. Would be nice if there was simple cleaning everyday as emptying the trash can that is one huge mosquito nest. And the plastic burning is not very pleasant.

The divers came back to the island at 5:30 and that is when the restaurant/bar starts coming to life. The DM/Instructor hangs out with the guests. The boatmen are playing pool and you are welcome to join. There's a very good vibe in the bar and the owner Allan and Little Mama joins the conversations. They are very friendly and have good humour.
The food is great and there's a good selection with their own tasteful dishes. (Around 30% more expensive than in town).
You drink and eat and sign the bill in the evening or in the morning and pay at check out. that works excellent. and all the staff are so sweet and open.
I will definitely advise you to go there for a couple of days to stress of and feel the relaxing atmosphere.

I also joined the Discovery Divers (which is a different company I know
Marcel and Andy are very friendly and has a good mood. Also had some very fun afternoons with them in the bar.

Had some great dives on day one with 6 guests and 1 instructor and 1 DM. Friendly boatstaff and pretty new diving gear. Day two we only had one DM for 6 guest and that's not enough diving on the tight wrecks.
It sucks that you have to bring your lunch from the restaurant and there's nothing but warm drinking water on the boat. Had to bring my own instant coffee.
Furthermore the office in town said 3200php for 3 dives. When paid it was 3400 + the 200php lunch. Didn't notice until coming back to town and saw the sign in the office.
Notice there's a 5% fee paying with Credit card.

Room Tip: Go for the cottages
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Indahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Arriving in Coron by boat, we were a bit worried about the resort being "on another island", but there's nothing to worry about. The fact that the resort is on a small, separate island (less than 10min with the hotel's boat) is just a blessing. While Coron Town is loud, sweaty and dirty, the resort is quiet and peaceful.

We stayed in a native island cottage, which was a great choice. We didn't have AC, which worried us a bit first, but since the walls are not of concrete (but some woven... reed?), the air can circulate well, keeping the cottage cool. Apparently each cottage has a gecko (huge one!), which eats all the insects - works great and won't bother you.

The room was really nice and cosy, and far away from the other cottages that you're not disturbed by your neighbours. The view from the cottage was absolutely breathtaking.

The food was really, really good, and there was a lot to choose from (incl. tea, which came in a pot!). We went into Coron one day, but really - there's nothing there to see, so don't waste your time on it. The hot springs are nice, but it's a bit shabby.

If you want to go diving, you need to be into wreck-diving (incl. going into the wrecks). Being new diver's, we weren't prepared for ships at 20-30m depth, and were a bit disappointed with only that being offered. Maybe we should have been more clear with our preferences before going out.

However, there are a lot of day trips if you want to go island hopping and snorkeling. Especially the one recommended (with Kayangan lake, Twin lagoon etc) is absolutely amazing - so many cool spots and so much to see! Just bring cash in smaller denominations (around 100 php), as each site has a small entry fee (around 100-150 pesos), to keep the area maintained. The snorekeling and swimming on that tour was among our best experiences on our whole trip to the Philippines.

If we come back to Coron, we'll definately be staying here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cerevisiae007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We were supposed to stay a couple of days but ended staying for a week.. owner Alan, his wife little mamma, and son Matt were legends... They cooked up many a feast and made us feel at home... We highly recommend this resort and having stayed at a couple spots in town, trust me you should stay here as town can hardly be described as relaxing.. Discovery divers is exactly that.. The food and staff are top notch.. 5star in our books...

Room Tip: Definitely do a day trip around coron island... Mount tapyas is great at sunset and the hot springs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayno_and_Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Great place to stay in Coron. Had a wonderful time at the Discovery Island Resort. 3 Main reasons for us to go back in a few month:
1) Great food. Every single dish of their sole restaurant is tasty and nicely prepared. Little Mama's restaurant (thats the name of the restaurant) is a mix of dishes from all over. From chicken tikka masala, over pork adobo to thai curry. A fine selection of yummy dishes will always let you find one.
2) Very attentive and friendly staff.
3) Extremely professional and well run dive base, run by swiss people. Perfectly organised, experienced divers who know the region since many many years and most importantly relaxing dive tours made our stay just perfect. We spend 9 hours a day on the boat with 3 dives a day and all the dives where really good. Small groups, well put together groups by experience and most importantly, no reasons to rush.

Room Tip: L8 is a standard room with fan, but as a corner room, it has a large balcony and sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We had a really lovely time here and all the staff and family were without exception very friendly and welcoming. We were regularly asked what our plans were for the day , and tips and suggestions given to help ( and not for any profit to the resort ) just a genuine wish for us to get the best out of our stay.
The resort is a 10 minute boat ride from the port and it is lovely to return to the peacefulness of the island after the hectic pace of the town. There is a small charge for the boat of 50p each return trip , but you can come and go whenever you want and if there is only one person on the boat they don't mind. If you think of the cost of taking a tricycle( which we didn't need to do ) then this seems very fair. The best place to catch the boat is from la sirenetta ( blue mermaid ) restaurant. Just get the restaurant staff to call for the boat, they are very happy to do this . So if you arrive by boat to the island just make for here to get taken to the resort . If you arrive by plane, you can arrange to be collected from the airport.
Our accommodation was very spacious and we had a/c and a fan. Being of solid construction, The room kept lovely and cool throughout the day, and was well sealed so no Mosquitos . Cold showers , but really not bad at all - the water is warmed by the sun a bit.
The food was lovely and the restaurant service really well organised , and a lovely evening was put on for New Year's Eve- buffet, fire dancing show, drumming band and then we were taken on boats to watch the firework display over Coran town from the sea. The most fabulous fireworks.
I would definitely recommend this resort and would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greatyarmouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We still have 2 nights of our stay left. A well run and great place to stay, would we stay again?., yes definitely.
On arrival, if you need collecting, ignore the phone number in " lonely planet' and make your way to the Sirenetta restaurant , also known as The Mermaid, they will then contact the resort while you have a beer, and your stay at the resort begins. It is only a 10 minute boat ride to the resort.
You will be guaranteed a good welcome by Riz. Our room was one of eight in a solid building, not a hut, we had a fan and a/c. Electric is on most of the time, and therefore is the wifi, available in the bar/restaurant area. The food , drinks and service are all excellent.
We had a great " New Year's Eve" after a BBQ, and fire dancers we then boarded one of the resorts 3 boats and sailed into the bay to see the great firework display. The organising of the evening must have been very difficult, when you understand the logistics of trying to organise an event in this part of the world. We had a great evening. Thank you to all involved.
It will be a shame to leave, but our transport to the airport is already organised, and only for 150 pesos, £2.50.
Overall, a great destination, not only for divers, and excellent value for money, especially over the festive period.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotelman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.2 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Sangat Island Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Sangat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
15.8 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#4 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#5 of 20 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center

Property: Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center
Address: Dicanituan Island | Barangay 5, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back to 100% after Typhoon Haiyan. An Island resort and dive center on its own island just 5 minutes from Coron Town. Tranquil location with individual rustic cottages and modern lodge rooms. All rooms en-suite. Warm hospitality and good food. Ideal for island hoppers and divers. Private Coron Island Tours operated from the resort to show you the best and most beautiful spots that Coron has to offer at your own pace. With one of the most experienced dive centers in Coron, come dive Corons wrecks, lakes or coral reefs with Discovery Divers from our resort. Kayaking, seafaris around Calamianes Islands are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Divers Resort Coron Hotel Coron
Discovery Divers Hotel
Discovery Island Resort And Dive Center Coron, Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing