We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic diving friendly safe dive guides”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Coron
kathydeee
1 review
“Fantastic diving friendly safe dive guides”
Reviewed 27 December 2009

I loved diving with Discovery! They went out of their way to make sure I had a great time. I was impressed with their guides knowledge and safety awareness. The new resort should be amazing but the older resort is also quite peaceful and a good value for the price. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathydeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    77
    22
    14
    9
See reviews for
21
94
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Great chill-out place. Relaxing and friendly. My friend & I enjoyed every min of our stay there. Both of us did a course with Discovery Divers and we both enjoyed it very much. Wreck diving there is an awesome experience. Highly recommended. It's a place that I'd definitely keep going back!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madcattpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Discovery Divers is located on it's own island about a 10 minute boat ride from Coron town. The setting is very peaceful and being able to see the stars at night and the glowing plankton is a real privilege. Note that the island is surrounded by mangroves and probably not swimmable.

Gunther and Christina were excellent hosts. Available to greet us and organise our day in the morning and happy to chat with us after dinner. The meals were very good utilizing local ingredients and having a nice home-cooked feel. There is one sitting for dinner which encourages guests to mingle.

The rooms are simple nipa huts and adequate although not suitable for neat freaks. Beds were reasonably comfortable, mosquito nets practical and towels/linen were washed frequently but the rooms are a little dark. Being on an island means that the water and electricity supply is not the best. We did encounter blackouts and the running water did stop. Also note that insects do get into the room although the mosquito net will protect you at night. I suppose this is all part and parcel of living on island time.

The last problem we encountered was mechanical problems with the dive boat meant we missed a day of diving. Also disappointing at the time swimming Lake Cayangan and sitting on Beach 91 made up for this.

Overall I would recommend Discovery Divers as it has a serenity and friendliness that I haven't experienced in many places.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joey009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Coron Bay is known for the many Japanese war ships that sank on the same day in 1944 after a US-air raid. These ships are amazing - some were 150+ meters long !! The visibility is quite challenging, though, and the currents are VERY strong. These dives are definitely not for beginners. However, during the low-season (June, July, August), DD are willing to basically do whatever the guests want - one to three dives per day ... including making sure that you don't dive the same wreck (or the same part of the wreck) twice, heading over to Cathedral Cave (which owner Gunther discovered!!) and the amazing Barracuda Lake, where there is brilliant halocline and thermocline (up to +40C).
The resort on Decanituan Island is very relaxed - and the manager Christina will accompany guests in whatever they are looking forward to doing (hanging out, drinking awesome mix-drinks - including the «Apologizer» - ask for it!!, heading for dinner in Coron Town on the mainland, and eating!). Vegetarians will have to endure having meat on their plates, though ... but they do try to accomodate by loading up the vegetables for you. You will also meet the huge python - and if you stay long enough or at the right time of the month, you can watch her catch a chicken!
All in all - VERY cool spot. Much better than anything in Coron Town - you are away from the chickens and noise - and you feel as though you have your own special island resort.
Beware, though - there are many dogs on the island ... and on the grounds ... and even in the lounge areas ... so if you're not a dog person, not a good idea to go here. But I am sure that they would be willing to accomodate travellers!!! :)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We stayed there almost one week and had a wonderfull time.
Good staff, excellent location just outside the town.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

My husband and I ,and 10 of our friends made a return trip to this tropical island. We first travelled there 4 years ago and enjoyed first class diving . One of our party has done lots of wreck diving all over the world including Truk Lagoon and he said this trip and the wrecks was very comparable.
The journey to Discovery Island is a long one but ,so worth it. It's very cathartic to get to a place with no light pollution , no noise pollution , just natural things. Yes there were creatures but it was so natural and we were the visitors not them!!
We made our own entertainment both times , playing old fashioned games like charades . I was lucky to have my birthday whilst there , the staff went to amazing lengths to ensure the party was a huge success. The food is fantastic both on and off the boat.
I love the Philippines

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warrenswitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

Discovery Divers Coron is a wonderful quiet little place where you can relax and feel at home. The resort consists of six bungalows. This number of bungalows is perfect as it will never be too crowded at the resort. I also really like the fact that everybody has dinner togerther! For me, being on my own, it was a perfect way to meet other people.
The staff is wonderful! They are very hospitable and friendly, always asking me if everything was ok or if I needed anything. The bungalows are a good size and clean. Although there is no hot water, the shower always works and so do the tabs at the sink. I found it wonderful to have my own balcony, where one can sit and relax without being disturbed by other guests.
The food at the resort was good and I found that they kitchen staff had even taken notice of my food allergies! I was amazed, because usually resorts really don't take notice of that.
All in all my stay was wonderful. For those who seek a five star resort with all amenities thinkable, this might not be the place for you. This resort is basic, but has everything you need!!!
Last but not least I would like to contradict the two reviews written before me. I never saw any cockroaches anywhere nor did I see any other nasty insects in my bungalow. Fact is that when you are staying in the tropics you should always be prepared for insects and small lizards. Also the fact that it was said that you are " held hostage" is ridiculous! If you want to go out for dinner instead of having dinner at the resort, the staff will organize a boat which will take you to the mainland and will pick you up when you want. The dogs are cared for in a good manner and the staff handles them with love and care!
I would like to finish with saying again, that I had a wonderful stay and that I will recommend this resort to family and friends!

Suzanne Wegelin

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suuswegelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.3 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
15.9 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Sangat Island Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Sangat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#4 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#6 of 20 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center

Property: Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center
Address: Dicanituan Island | Barangay 5, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back to 100% after Typhoon Haiyan. An Island resort and dive center on its own island just 5 minutes from Coron Town. Tranquil location with individual rustic cottages and modern lodge rooms. All rooms en-suite. Warm hospitality and good food. Ideal for island hoppers and divers. Private Coron Island Tours operated from the resort to show you the best and most beautiful spots that Coron has to offer at your own pace. With one of the most experienced dive centers in Coron, come dive Corons wrecks, lakes or coral reefs with Discovery Divers from our resort. Kayaking, seafaris around Calamianes Islands are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Divers Resort Coron Hotel Coron
Discovery Divers Hotel
Discovery Island Resort And Dive Center Coron, Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing