We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coron Village Lodge
Ranked #12 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Coron
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The room and bathroom were clean. Our room was spacious for 4 people.
No wi-fi in rooms. They only have it at the reception area and their restaurant.
Cable TV was okay.
Water pressure wasn't strong but not very weak either.
The hotel has a generator but A/C will remain shut down.
They provided us only 1 old electric fan that wasn't rotating so we requested for a different fan.
The replacement was also old and we had difficulty plugging it because of distorted plug.
I hope they'll upgrade their fans soon and provide more per room.
A/C was weak when it's on.
Fortunately, they have trees outside which makes the place cool. They have friendly staff too.

They have a cozy restaurant. Their food is delicious and price is reasonable compared to other restaurants in the market. They offer free coffee for breakfast. You can then just buy bread from nearby bakeshops.

I think it is not that far to walk to the market. You can get there in 5 minutes via tricycle. BPI ATM is also near.

They also have a souvenir shop. Their items are prettier and cheaper than the ones at the market. Make sure to ask for receipts when you buy souvenirs w/shells as you might be questioned at the airport.

We did not get a tour package from this lodge as Xpedition (just few blocks away) offers packages that are very cheap compared to the ones offered by this lodge.

The place is so-so and I think that I could get the same room service from other inns at a cheaper price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    69
    32
    12
    7
See reviews for
29
42
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My 3rd in Coron Village Lodge and it keeps in getting better. Got the complete package for 4D/3N and designed our own Tour. Had the same room we usually get, Room 6 or 7 which is near to resto, My friend loves the white sheets...Wifi is just Ok, Food is great!!! We still love the danggit! and the Banana Mango shake! our Tour guide Argel's Awesome and the staff (Tin, Onyo, Boyet, Amjil, Harry, Warson,Ghea, Iris, Ann, Lyn, Boatman -Budz) who served as well and I believe CVL's "assets".

Can't wait for the 4th.

Room Tip: Get the rooms near the Resto as wifi is stronger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NadNad1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My friends and I decided to check in with CVL because we liked the idea that they offer packages that cover everything from transfers to and fro the airport, the tours, the meals and the lodging. We were a group of 11 and it really helps with logistics if everything can be easily planned out for everyone way ahead of time. (Out trip was scheduled at the end of May and CVL was easily contacted via email and their landline - see http://coronvillagelodge.com/?page_id=22).

OUR OVERALL experience was great! Not just because of the great company because CVL was able to provide us a sound trip. Rooms were simple -- clean room/beds/sheets/bathroom, air conditioned, cabled television). You can probably request adjoining rooms too if they're available.

TOURS: We took the 4D/2N tour from the site. Everything was arranged from our boats to our island hopping, the tour guide and the FOOD. The food they prepare for you during the island hopping tours is glorious. Fresh seafood! You can probably even request them what kind of food you prefer because they buy them in the morning of your tour so it's all fresh.

CVL is also flexible with their packages. We requested that 2 dinners be removed our itinerary so we can explore other places to eat at around the area. We also had a hard time deciding between their 2 4D/3N packages - kayaking the whole day vs. more island to visit - so they adjusted to that and gave us an hour of kayaking through the mangroves and then off to a white beach island for lunch.

FOOD: As for their food, breakfast was okay. Fried fish/tocino and egg with rice. I think it could have been better but if your tour starts at 8 or 9 in the morning, I think it's practical to just have it there and readied at the time you prefer. Just inform them in the morning. Fruitshakes are subject to fruit availability too. I think because of the recent Haian calamity, they're still trying to cope, hence fruits are a bit more expensive (some are imported from other provinces). We didn't find anything special with their bulalo either like what the other reviews are saying.

SERVICE is good! The Staff were accommodating and the tour guide was really nice. They also allow guests to buy their own food at the market and have it cooked the you want it in their kitchen. With just a minimal fee for the cooking (we bought 2 big fish and a huge squid for Php350 at the market and had them cook it for only Php250!).

I would recommend this to future Coron travellers :)

Room Tip: The newer building has adjoining rooms. Not sure if they've applied the water heater there thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soloserina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had nothing booked when we arrived at the Coron Village Lodge, but the staff were very helpful and sorted us out a room for 2 nights. The rooms are very large and are located on either side of the main road through Coron. The shower wasn't great, switching between boiling hot or freezing cold. Wifi available in the reception/bar, but not in the rooms. The bar/restaurant was nice and it's in a great location, close to the centre of town and a short walk to the viewpoint on the hill. Hotel also sorted us our transfer to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jbreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antipolo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Been to cvl 4x already. It's a nice quite homely piece of home away from home. Don't expect hotel level accommodation, what you get is a basic bed and bath with hot water shower. The bed sheets and towels and the rooms are very clean though. Trust me I have a doctor for a wife and she is picky about these stuff. But the main reason we go back to stay in cvl when we go to coron is the food. Sumptuous. Big servings. Always fresh. Anyway if you go to coron you dont really have time to stay at the lodge except at night after a busy day snorkeling and island hopping and the dinner is just the perfect way to end your day. Don't forget to try the Bulalo and the sizzling fish, forgot if it was tuna or tanigue, the one thing I did not forget was the amazing taste.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This lodge is just about average. Though the room had two air conditioners only one was working. (it was a large room for 7 persons and we had a large group) though the restaurant is very good. If the purpose is to move around and only come back late to recharge yourself for the next day this place is recommended. However, I believe that the rooms need to be redone/renovated. Overall, we had a reasonably good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antipolo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

When in Coron, I usually choose this lodge as one of those that is centrally located in the town area. I already stayed here more than once and recommended it to most of my friends. Why I keep on coming back is because of the following reasons:
- Good services from the staffs. Fast and efficient esp. during the time of booking. They will immediately respond to your queries.
- Their well-arranged island tours are the most sought-after amongst the same being offered by the other resorts. In fact, even non-staying guests are availing their tour packages. They can even customize your tours as per your likings if you request of it beforehand. And they also have some of the best tour guides as well. In one of my trips here with a group of friends, our guide took us to a number of great spots that were already beyond the cover of our itinerary. We were so thankful and really enjoyed our activities that we gave our guide (Sir Rene, that is) a very generous tip ;)
- Buffet dinner, as well as their set breakfast and lunch are superb. Fave ones are their "danggit" (small salted dried fish) during breakfast, and "bulalo" (beef broth of meat, bone and marrow) during lunch or dinner. Sometimes they serve their specialty chilli crabs as well. If you want, you can buy fresh supplies from the town market and let their chefs do the cooking for you for just a minimal fee.
- As the resort is situated in the town center and not on a beach area, you will get the rooms with a really good value for the money (just choose a room that is a bit far from the main road, though, so as to at least avoid some vehicular noise). The town market, Bistro Coron resto bar (my fave hang-out place), and Maquinit Hot Spring can all easily be reached via a short tricycle ride from the resort.

And now for the rooms. They have the cottage-type and the apartment-type rooms. The former look more refurbished and are closer to the main road, while the latter are in the innermost, more spacious that are intended for families and big groups, but look tired and old with a rustic feel to them. My visits are always with groups and families, and it's the apartment-type that's always assigned to us (other room types are always fully-booked), therefore I won't comment further on the other room types. The apartment-types are of two-storey, with two bedrooms upstairs that can occupy three single beds. Below has a spacious living room, a bathroom, laundry area, and a kitchen equip with cooking utensils. Like what I've said, it has an old, rustic feel to it. A/C works well. Some complains, though, is that there's lot of mosquitoes in the laundry area during the night, so make sure that the screened door in that area is always close. Also don't throw anything into the toilet bowl (even tissue papers) as it is easily get clogged.

This resort is in demand most of the time esp. during high/peak season. Make sure that you plan everything and book in advance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ILuvTravel713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.2 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#5 of 20 in Coron
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#4 of 20 in Coron
302 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balaibinda Lodge
Balaibinda Lodge
#1 of 26 in Coron
121 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coron Westown Resort
Coron Westown Resort
#9 of 20 in Coron
407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Darayonan Lodge
Darayonan Lodge
#11 of 26 in Coron
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coron Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coron Village Lodge

Property: Coron Village Lodge
Address: Brgy 1, Coron, Busuanga Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coron Village Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Coron Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coron Village Hotel Coron
Coron Village Lodge Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing