We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“totally awesome but not so expensive”
Review of Mt. Tapyas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mt. Tapyas Hotel
Ranked #36 of 67 Coron B&B and Inns
Osaka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“totally awesome but not so expensive”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very clean, accommodating and highly recommended. We stayed for 2 nights while enjoying Coron island hopping and Coron town. Our room was very clean, the staff was very friendly, attentive and accommodating, and on top of that, our room had a very beautiful view of the sea. If you arent that lucky to get a nice view from your room, you can go to the bar area/roof deck to see the spectacular view.

The only downside was the lack of windows. Make sure you dont bring any food/ stuff that can bring certain smell in the room. Also, the bathroom & toilet was a bit small. But considering the price, Mt Tapyas offers the best!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the 3rd floor to see the view of the bay/sea area. I recommend room 21 (3rd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    39
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
27
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This was a decent hotel, for $35 USD I wasnt expecting much, and I knew that most of my days would be spent island hopping or adventuring around town. The hotel rooms are small including the bathroom, we had consistent hot water with relatively weak water pressure. Beds are a bit stiff. Food was average but the view was spectacular from the roofdeck. Our room which was the bayview room 3rd floor had a nice 32" lcd tv with cable. If you get a mountain view you dont get a view, and the 2nd floor bayrooms have small tvs but a queen size bed. For the price this hotel offered good value. Angel, the front desk staff was very helpful in any and all of my requests.

Room Tip: bayview 3rd floor rooms are the best. book your tours directly in town not thru hotel, they mark the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

There are a lot budget inns in Coron but we chose Mt. Tapyas Hotel. It is about 10 mins walk from town proper. Few tricycles pass by the area so you have to walk. The hotel can transact a tricycle or van for your tour around town. But we chose to do it on our own. The room is not that big but it is decent and nice. The only problem is the bed, the mattress is somewhat hard. We asked our breakfast to be served as dinner when we were not able to get it because we have to leave early for our island hopping. Food is good and a lot to choose from in a reasonable price. They offer airport transfer for 150 pesos. This is just a hotel and restaurant. I love the location since it is not in the busy area of the town and has a good view of the ocean and town proper.

Room Tip: Ask a room overlooking the Coron Islands, ocean view and Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letmeseetheworldnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meycauayan City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Location: 10-15mins walk going to main street of the town.
Room and Comfort Room: Clean
Mattress and Pillow: Uncomfortable on our 1st night. Need to request additional pillows on our 2nd night, their pillow is so thin. Mattress-thick.
Food and Staff Service: Great.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morgana001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antipolo City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The staff were friendly and accommodating, always smiling. They helped us book a last minute tour of our choice (with special requests at cheaptravelcoron.com) and call pedicabs for every time we stepped out of the hotel.

The room I shared with my sisters for 4D3N was small but not cramped. It was cool and clean. Beds were fairly comfortable.

The restaurant served good, average-priced food. The view from the bar was marvelous.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mypzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I had a 3d 2n stay and it was good. Hotel staffs were few but the are willing to accommodate the guests inspite of that. The best thing in this hotel is the ocean view from the top deck. Very quiet and peaceful. The rooms are average size with the basic needs. Anyway we don't stay inside all day. Most of the time we do island hopping so its good to have this place of rest by sun down. The wifi is not that good but i have my 3g with me. My only problem was the mattress and pillow. There is something uncomfortable with it that I woke up 5 to 6 times at night from the time I slept 10 pm up to 6am. It's not a quality sleep to be exact. And it's the same for the 2 nights stay. Overall, it is a good place to stay when you're in Coron and highly recommended as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griyegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

First night was excellent
3nd night family moved in on the floor and were making a racket, running up and down shouting and slamming doors. Hotel would move us if we paid more and when this was disputed he said if you don't like it then just go!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Momo1975coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coron hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.1 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#6 of 20 in Coron
260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunrise Pension House
Sunrise Pension House
#30 of 67 in Coron
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coron Paradise Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Darayonan Lodge
Darayonan Lodge
#13 of 33 in Coron
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balaibinda Lodge
Balaibinda Lodge
#2 of 33 in Coron
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princess of Coron
Princess of Coron
#22 of 67 in Coron
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Tapyas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Tapyas Hotel

Property: Mt. Tapyas Hotel
Address: Calle Nueva Ext. Bgy. V, Coron, Busuanga Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Mt. Tapyas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Tapyas Hotel Coron, Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing