We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Warm and Affordable Accomodations at Great Value”
Review of Amphibi-Ko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amphibi-Ko
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here as a family of four. We booked at Room # 3 between July 18-22. We're so glad we took the advise of Ms. May (The Proprietor) who recommended we do the Malcapuya Beach on our first day because of good weather conditions. Though July is not the best month to go to Coron, we still were able to squeeze an average of 3 destination (beach, lagoon, wreck sites) for all three days.

She booked us for the following tours:

DAY 1
Malcapuya Island
Banana Island

DAY 2
Kayangan Lake
Skeleton Wreck (For SCUBA Encounter #1)
Coral Bay (For SCUBA Encounter #2)

DAY 3
Barracuda Lake
Twin Lagoon
Maquinit Hot Spring

We paid for each tour and entrance fee, separately.

We did the same when we went to Donsol, Sorsogon last year.

One of the key things to enjoying a pleasurable and worry-free trip is getting a great tour guide and a reliable boatman. We were introduced to Butchoy and Manong Ed aboard the Emmanuel (banca name) for the duration of our stay and were amazed at how wonderful, spectacular and astounding the Coron Islands are.

There is also the Amphibi-ko Sky Restaurant visible from the Pier Market and the Docking Area as a varnised brown building that has its own Ramen Bar giving a better tasting, piping hot ramen that will cool your pale heels from the trip and nourish you back for another.

The accommodations are basic and modest. Queen sized bed with options for extra bedding. Clean and hygienic bathrooms with hot showers. Cable TV for news and entertainment. Friendly and accomodating staff . Although electricity is scheduled from 10am-7pm, there are provisions for generator power for basic lighting and powering of smart devices.

Scheduling is really the key. Peak months are Jan-May. But that really didn't stop us from taking in the better sites. As first-timers, we were quite pleased and everything that was promised was made in confidence and was delivered to our satisfaction. There were a number of French, German, Australian and Korean family and adult groups were present as well as Filipinos. For a lean season it's pretty much well attended.

Room Tip: Near the market so you could buy seafood and have the boat crew cook it for you and eat it from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanastacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson C, Guest Relations Manager at Amphibi-Ko, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

thank you for trusting our service , hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the hotel and did 1 full day diving with the diving club.
We had a deluxe room, the room was ok and clean. The quality of the bed is not the best, but if you are not too sensitive, it should be ok! The price is good for what you get!

We had a great experience on our day dive trip. We did 3 wreks and the crew was perfect!!! They are serious and I recommand them strongly!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amandine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Coron town is awful , it's noisy dirty and has very little character which is a big shame as it is in what could be a lovely setting, Amphibi-Ko hotel is set right in the middle of 'philipine slum type shacks ' and slightly back off the Main Street on a concrete plinth .with a lovely view of the bay .(the best bit ), Its right in the middle of the town so minutes to walk everywhere , not that there's anywhere to go or see , unfortunately the neighbours are into cock fighting in a big way ,there are about 10 birds within the hotel area and these birds like karaoke as much as the next Philopino , especially at 545 am !!! It's singularly the noisiest hotel iv ever stayed in ! Also the constant noise of the motorbikes with their exhaust baffles removed ,( to make them sound like a Harley Davidson ) ,is always present . Very good earplugs required !
Make sure you get an upstairs room as the downstairs ones have been flooded and smell mouldy !
The room is nice and for the price ok ! Very handy to do diving here 2800p for 3 dives including all equipment ! No breakfast so I bought a French loaf and some bananas and I had my own tea with me. (Julie's the bakers is very good) .
The journey from the airport is by mini van and set price 150p ,takes 30 mins and drops you at your hotel .
But I have to say its a good hotel with nice clean comfortable room and fantastic views ,if you can put up with the noise ! Very helpful staff ! I got them to organise my ferry to El Nido and the lady who came to the hotel was fab ,1800p for the ferry , (same price everywhere) , and she came and picked me up at the hotel and took me to the port at 715 am ! This is a good service as sometimes when your travelling finding ports/bus terminals can be a bit of a pain.
I paid 1850p a night off agoda for the room , And their walk in rate is 2300 ? Although I'm sure you could haggle !
The diving was spectacular , the wrecks were breath taking especially Kogyo Maru, the viz was 20 metres and there was only two of us diving this wreck so no kicked up silt ! One of my top 10 dives ! We also did barracuda lake !! 37degrees Celsius in amazing surroundings ! I'd recommend these two dives ! The wrecks take over an hour to get to them ! Barracuda lake is closer , so you do this on way back ! We had it to ourselves as the Chinese and Koreans were leaving as we arrived .
Let me know how you get on .

Room Tip: You need an upstairs room for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boeing737man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We did two days of diving with Amhibi-Ko and it was great, we saw 4 Japanese wrecks, did the Barracuda Lake (a fun and weird experience, the water temperature varies from 27 to 38 degrees) and coral. The diving staff is professional.

We also stayed at the Amhibi-Ko hotel and it was good, the room was comfortable. Maybe not the best option in Coron, but the value for money is great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marloes020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Second time staying with the crew at amphibiko..had another great time and brought a friend with us this time, who was blown away with the area as well as the dive crew who looked after us. DM Choc and Dalton were so good with keeping us safe on the dives as well as the best chefs in Coron by a country mile! These guys can serve up great Filipino food from the back of the boat while you relax and enjoy the dives. I would recommend throwing them an extra 300-400 pesos the night before so they can expand on the menu they provide.. They are only constrained by their management! Worth the extra dosh.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Nikadma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked this Inn via Agoda website and stayed in this Inn last 28-30 September, 2013. When I query for the location of the Hotel, the staff is prompt in replying. Upon arrival at the Inn, it seems that all the staff is very polite and helpful. But don't expect much with their service compared to other Guesthouse in Coron. No homey feeling. It is just only a basic inn with a bed, private toilet, aircon and outdated 14 inches tv with dvd player. Their wifi is also not working when we were staying there. The staff told us that there is a problem with their internet connection because of the non-stop raining. But when we went to the nearby Cafe shop - Kong Cafe (just outside this Inn) and Patrik & Tezz's Guesthouse (my other friends were staying there), they have an internet connection. I find it weird. They should be using the same internet connection. But anyway, it could be one of their marketing strategy because the Kong Cafe could be the same owner, so that people will buy coffee from them and use their free internet connection.

Moving forward, the location is great as it is nearby restaurants like Lolo Nonoy's and Big Mama's and also near to the wet market where you can buy cheap souvenirs or delicacies (ie. cashew nuts and dried fish).

As for the amenities, I love their sky restaurant and the overlooking room is the best. It's worth the upgrade. Glad that I did. It is so peaceful and calm when you sit outside your room with their table and 2 chairs. One thing I like, they put a glass wall to protect yourselves from the mosquitos and I feel safer because the Inn is built in a cement, unlike other Guesthouse - only in wood.

Overall, this inn is a bit expensive compared to other Guesthouse but for me, it is only P2000/night. No complains at all. Room is clean and very decent to sleep. I will still give them a very good rating inspite of the wifi problem.

Room Tip: Choose overlooking room! It's worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank iTextSpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Spent 5 nights in deluxe room 5 and loved it. Room was big and bright and clean - felt comfortable as soon as you walked in. Restaurant upstairs had some delicious food. First night we arrived and went up for dinner, it was one of the owners' birthday and they were having a feast. We were invited to join for a couple plates of food and drinks- no charge. Did the diving trip - 2 fun dives on the reef and the wreck. Best boat trip yet. Guides were wonderful and lunch was amazing - especially for being cooked and served on the boat. Also had laundry washed - whites were glowing and all smelled amazing (it's the little things). No wifi in the room but available upstairs in the restaurant. Great location in town but far enough away being down on the water to lose the noise of the traffic. The owners and staff were all very friendly. Also very fairly priced compared to others in coron. Would reccommend staying and diving with these guys 100%.

Room Tip: deluxe room 5 had a window and lots of room to move around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank natalieruth88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.7 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#1 of 20 in Coron
293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#7 of 20 in Coron
326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
0.2 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#6 of 20 in Coron
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balaibinda Lodge
Balaibinda Lodge
#2 of 35 in Coron
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphibi-Ko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphibi-Ko

Address: Poblacion 5, National Highway, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Coron
Price Range: £22 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amphibi-Ko 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Are Your Premier Destination for Scuba Diving, Scuba Certification, and ​Wreck Diving in the Philippines AMPHIBIKO DIVE CENTER is a premium dive center offering a variety of scuba diving courses and guided dives. Experience the historical ship wrecks and amazing coral reefs! If you ever wanted to Scuba Diving in Philippines, know that we offer a huge variety of scuba diving options from our Coron Bay and Sangat island Philippines to suit every customer individually, whether you are an expert or total beginner. We are located at AMPHIBI-KO RESORT BRGY. POBLACION 5 NATIONAL HIGHWAY CORON PALAWAN which offers 15 newly renovated rooms and a fine dining SKY RESTAURANT opens from 7am - 9pm with the best japanese, chinese and filipino food in the area as well as the top relaxing view in the bay town while eating. We are a full service dive center and resort featuring Aqua Lung, Apeks and Suunto diving equipment. We have rental regulators, computers and can handle all your diving needs. We are a complete PADI 3 Star Dive Center and SDI , we offer most PADI and SDI courses to include Enriched Air NITROX, , daily fun dives, everything from Open Water up to and including Divemaster. We specialize in Wreck Diving and tailoring dives to diver needs. Come wreck Diving in Philippines with us today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amphibi-Ko Hotel Coron
Amphibi-Ko Coron, Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing