We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most original BB in Coron but not very honest owners”
Review of Krystal Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Krystal Lodge
Ranked #49 of 70 Coron B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I ll be very direct:
What we loved:
amazing experience, there are different rooms and bungalows but they all are right above the water, you can see the water through the floor. Go for a bungalow, a little bit more expensive but huge with outside space overlooking the water.
Right in the centre of Coron, you walk everywhere
Very basic but clean

What we did not like:
The owners are not very honest and try to get from you anything they can. We are talking about ridiculously small amounts of money but it is the experience
You should be aware that the accomodation is really basic, there is a shower but there is no water in it, you are given a bucket of water instead.
Something else, the walls are of bamboo which means there are no walls (sound wise). And the owners can be noisy sometime, enough to complain, they will stop.
Overall, you get what you pay for... A night there was something around 20 pounds in a big bungalow.

Room Tip: go for a big bungalow. really worth paying the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellerLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

Great stay - highly recommended.

We checked out a few places in coron and found them overpriced for what they were (1,200 for a windowless room?). We wanted to stay in the centre where the restaurants are, as well as for proximity to the jetty for snorkeling & diving tours but at first glance this seemed to rule out a quiet nights sleep. Luckily we stopped in at a travel agency and they told us about Crystal (Krystal) Lodge.

I was a little dubious at first, walking along a plank way, but the place was great, we fell I love with it at first sight. Reading some of the reviews now, in retrospect, I don't think I would have tried this place out and it would have been such a shame!

This is no luxury resort, but the atmosphere is great and it's ideal for family as well as individuals / people travelling as a couple. Try have some rooms towards the front, and bungalows in the back, some with cooking areas and even a living room. Rates are from around 500-2,000+ depending on the room size and number of guests, as well as the season. Hammocks and other lounging options around the bungalows make it even better, not to mention the strong and fast wifi connection. Oh wait - and the sunset. Imagine: hammock+sunset+on the water+wifi.

The bathroom in our room (one of the more basic ones) was, well, basic, but considering you spend most of the time in the water anyway, I found it fine and I'm pretty fussy about bathrooms. Nice toilet and sink, shower was in a separate stall, although it was just a hose.

The main selling point for us was that, despite a conveniently central location, there is not a tricycle in earshot. One night we heard some karaoke, but it stopped around 9pm.

Regarding the allegations of overcharging, it didn't happen to us, but I would recommend paying breakfast on a daily basis. We stayed two nights and they got both bills wrong at the end of the stay, over charging us on one and under charging us on the other. It worked out about the same, which leads me to believe its less deliberate rip-off than in attention.

Room Tip: Cottages at the back are new, opened in December 2011. Settle your restaurant tab on a daily basi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BHele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Stayed here for two nights. The price is per-person which was a little annoying but we enjoyed this place immensely. The rooms are pretty basic with cold shower and fans. The beds have mosquito nets so you don't have to worry about being bit at night.

The lodge was a cafe with somewhat overpriced fruit juices but very nice areas to relax. There is a gazebo-type area where you can watch the sunset, some lounge chairs to get some sun, hammocks, and tables. They have wireless that is slow but about as good as you're going to get in the Philippines.

NOTE: Look for the sign for Krystal Lodge on the main road. Take the steep steps down and keep walking down the alleyway past the mangrove trees until you are out on the water. You will pass a house with a pet pig.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martiantim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The place itself is a collection of rooms and small wooden houses located on the water. The rooms vary in size. We were there during low season and got a nice, big room with a bathroom for 650 pesos. You have your own "shower" (bucket) with only cold water (you don't need hot water anyways). All in all, good!
The problem is the mom, who is dishonest. She runs the kitchen, where they sell breakfast. There is a menu with individual items and also set menus. We ordered individual items each morning, but the mom (Sally) wanted to charge us for the set menu deals, even though they didn't even have all the items from the menu available. She insisted on the price (as somebody mentioned already) with a big smile. As we insisted, Krystal (the daughter and manager) stepped in and sorted everything out. What should have been a very nice experience ended up with a bit of a weird taste. Because of this, I would not go back and I am giving the lodge a rating 2/5.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Granted, this place isnt the cleanest... but i guess it's as clean as they can keep it considering the location. And location is exactly why you should come here --- the little stilt huts are built directly over the water! You can look down through the floor onto the water (sometimes dirty) and fish (sometimes beautiful) below!!!

The rooms have retained their rustic traditional feel while still ensuring a (mostly) comfortable stay. But unfortunately, the toilets could do with a good scrubbing(though they are bareably clean) and the rooms arent cleaned regularly (though, i'm quite sure they would be if you just asked for it).

If you are looking for cleanliness then i recommend the Oriental Sea Lodge... but if you want to stay at a place that is unique then it doesnt get more special that Crystal Lodge.

Lastly, if you are a group then they've got some cottages with 2/3 bedrooms that are great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sunawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My stay here in crystal lodge was so great. What attracted me and my boyfriend the most was the setup of the resort and its location. Place is accessible to all the restaurants, travel agencies and port. The place is quiet and breezy especially at night time. The staff are also accommodating and easy to deal with. Wifi is also on all the time and the connection is okay. If I will go back to Coron, I would definitely stay at Crystal lodge again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abinavarrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Very dishonest people!!!

They want to sell you trips by boat. After buying the tickets they tell the boat wont leave because of "engine problems" just because they want you to stay additional nights and because they want to sell boat trips they organize by themselves. They dont give you back the money and the boat leaves without you if you believe them. Be careful !!!! The boat drives every day!! book at sea dive resort directly!!

They lie to you with a big smile just because they want to make money with you!! The rooms are much more expensive than stated and after check out you have to pay for coffee and everything they told it would be free for guests.

Dont go there !!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nwu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.3 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#8 of 20 in Coron
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
Asia Grand View Hotel
#10 of 20 in Coron
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princess of Coron
Princess of Coron
#22 of 70 in Coron
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Natura Resort
La Natura Resort
#5 of 70 in Coron
168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center
1.7 mi away
Coron Underwater Garden Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Lodge

Address: Barangay Bancuang, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Coron
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Coron
Krystal Lodge Coron, Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing