We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay in coron”
Review of Princess of Coron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princess of Coron
Ranked #24 of 63 Coron B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay in coron”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Way back last august 2012, i used to visit coron along with my travel buddies and we stayed in this place for 3 day and 2 nights. As the place itself , it was great and staffs were accomodating enough. Well, even the owner of the place gave us a warm welcome.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Caesar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    45
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
44
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We reserved a room at Princess of Coron via Agoda. We were told that the room was at half price so we immediately made the resrevation. It was unfortunate though that the room was not really worth it, considering that there are better inns in Coron. Also, the regular rates posted on their website are the same with those listed on Agoda, which were already at half price.

On a positive note, the staff were very courteous. They greeted us regularly during our stay. Princess of Coron is owned by an Austrian and Filipino couple, which could be a plus for German-speaking guests.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikoalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

For us it was the perfect place to stay in the busy and noisy town. Its in a quite street a little bit above Coron with great views over the bay from the terrace of one of the bulidings and you walk only 5 min. to the main street (National Highway) and 10 min to the restaurants and shops near the market and if you dont like to walk, a tricycle is only 0,20 EUR per person. We had the standard rooms with AC and hot shower for a very good price. The garden with the pool was great to relax after diving or a trip with a motorbike and and everything was very well maintained. The owners and the staff were always helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DieMannheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I stayed here years back and just made my review now for some odd reason. The room that I stayed was the biggest, bed is a bit hard and uncomfortable, small pillows but the bathroom is really nice!

Food is fine, I ate danguet.

Near town proper.

Very quiet at night (good thing)

Staff are very friendly! Would love to come back because of them.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadlesstravelled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTH POLE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I stayed at the Princess of Coron for 4 nights and had an excellent experience. The room was simple and large enough for two people, bed was comfortable, aircon was adequate, and atmosphere was peaceful. The blue and white exterior lighting illuminated the neighborhood and really jazzed up the place. The hotel was only a 5 minute walk from the BPI ATM, 10 minutes from the public market, and about 15 from the boat launches, and generally close enough to anything in town, thus not requiring a tricycle ride. The staff was pleasant and easy to work with. My only complaint was that I had to wait 30 minutes or longer for my simple breakfast to arrive, and I was only one of 3-8 customers eating at the time. While I appreciate the relaxed atmosphere and understand the slower Filipino pace, the wait seemed excessive. Bottom line, i highly recommend staying here. The price was right for the service and location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 247365Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Understand how most of the island works on a really laid back mentality. People are friendly, there's never a rush, life is simple.
Then you can appreciate the atmosphere the Princess of Coron can offer. They have very spacious rooms that offer the basic amenities, bed, hot shower, air conditioning... The grounds have a small pool and a cage with a collection of stray cats, a "bear cat" (I don't know what the actual species was but it was a little interesting) and a monkey.
For best results with booking, e-mail carmen.hausmann@yahoo.com We lucked out getting there without a reservation and getting a large room for 5.
It's about a 10 min walk to the market/water and town. When we were there the town was on rotating backouts with 8 hour intervals so you're either out of power from 10am - 4pm or 4pm -12am. The generators took care of pretty much everything except for the AC so when we were on the evening sched we pretty much drank beer until the power came back on.
Boat trips are pretty standard anywhere from P1800 - P4000 depending on where you want to go. Booking at the hotel is easy but if you like haggling then you can probably geet the trips arranged yourself at the dock.
If you don't dive, the most visible wreck is the Lusong, it's shallow enough to see by snorkeling. There are a number of WWII wrecks in the area and provides for great diving. A lot of the reefs provide spectacular views of coral and tropical fish. Kayanga Lake (80%fresh water/20%sea) is an interesting place to lounge around and the trek up to it provides the iconic shot most tourists will see in books and websites about Coron.
For beaches head to Malcapuya Island and Banana Island which is quite a boat ride out but is the best beach in the area.
In town for good food check out "Lolo Nonoy's" for some really good Pork BBQ and embutido. "Kawayanan", which is probably the best eats in town with really good Crocodile Sisig and Chili Cheese Sticks (battered peppers injected with cheese served with sweet chili sauce) - this place is a good spot to sit and enjoy some beers.
If you're all "oceaned-out", rent a bike and check out the countryside. There are a number of trails and farm lands you can head out to. Ask one of the locals to draw you a map to see the 7 Falls as well motor through the dirt roads and provide fleeting entertainment for the locals.
Have Fun!!!

Room Tip: The two rooms by the pool are huge so if you have a big group try to make sure you land one of these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDean_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My stay was from 1/8 to 1/12 focused on SCUBA diving the Japanese WWII shipwrecks. The Princess of Coron is a great place to stay and was just one street off National Highway away from all the traffic noise. This was close enough for me to walk to the Coron Public market, marina, ATMs, and restaurants. You can wait for a tricycle from the hotel to anywhere in town if you are in a hurry. But this is the Philippines, there is no reason to be in a hurry, right? WIFI is available in the reception area and the nipa hut dining area. The room A/C will keep you chilled very well and there is hot water in the shower. Both feel great after a day of diving. Princess of Coron is well prepared for the regular brownouts with their own generator. During a brownout the room A/C is not available but the fan and lights are just fine. There are a good collection of cats in a large cage which is kind of unusual, but better than having that many running loose. They have western style breakfast and filipino style breakfast. They seemed surprised that a foreigner would eat the Filipino breakfast every day of danggit and rice. No problem for me, the best part of vacation is the local food and people. They typically like for you to dine in the nipa hut, which is kind of romantic. Since I was a lone diver, I decided to dine in the kitchen and watch them work and chat a bit. It has more of a family atmosphere and the wife of the owning couple may also join you when they arrive. Talking with the locals is always interesting to me also. The pool always looked clear, clean, and inviting, but I did not use it as I was typically returning from diving all day and just needed a warm shower. The staff was friendly and accommodating to my requests. If you need something, just ask the staff and they will do their best to make things work for you. The husband of the owning couple also has a Harley and Suzuki GSXR kept in the hotel garage. Since I also own 3 bikes, one being a GSXR, I spoke with him about how these poor bikes will not have their full potential used on the island. Since we spoke through his wife’s translation of Austrian, I may not have completely understood the connection between riding the bikes and the Busuanga airport runway. But I have a hunch that he can occasionally get them pretty close to redline on the tach.
There are lots of tourist type activities in Coron, Mt. Tapyas, Barracuda Lake, Maquinit hot springs, eco tours, and island hoping. Traveling from the Busuanga airport into Coron is over 1 hour drive. The route is very scenic through rural countryside and twisting roads. Talk with the driver, they enjoy telling you about Coron and are curious about your origin as well. SCUBA diving the wrecks was my focus, so I will return for more diving and include tourist activities. Since Coron is far from major cities like Manila, cash is used mainly. So be prepared with your ATM card or a bankroll of pesos. Throuhgout the islands, there is a 200 PHP withdrawal fee on top of what your bank charges. My ATM card from a US based bank worked just fine.
Overall I give thumbs up recommendation for the Princess of Coron. Good clean accommodations, friendly people, nice location, and cost effective room price. It would be nice if the breakfast was included in the price, but it is still good to eat.
I’ll be back again to dive more shipwrecks and will be staying at the Princess of Coron. Also be sure to take in the views while on the flight. I could feel the stress being released as the plane made its approach to the Busuanga airport.

Room Tip: This is the Philippines, bring mosquito repellent and sunscreen
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gort888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.2 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#6 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Darayonan Lodge
Darayonan Lodge
#11 of 28 in Coron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mt. Tapyas Hotel
Mt. Tapyas Hotel
#35 of 63 in Coron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coron Paradise Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Balaibinda Lodge
Balaibinda Lodge
#1 of 28 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.1 mi away
Coron Underwater Garden Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess of Coron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess of Coron

Property: Princess of Coron
Address: 6 Nueva St, Coron, Busuanga Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess of Coron 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Princess of Coron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Of Coron Hotel Coron
Princess Of Coron Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing