We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Little Restaurant on the Bay”

La Sirenetta Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #11 of 65 Restaurants in Coron
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
195 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Nice Little Restaurant on the Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Had a brief stop at this restaurant for lunch and was impressed with the quality of the food they serve. Most of the town does not have very good places to eat so this was a welcome change for us. Tried the salad and pizzas and these were also very good. Definitely a must try when in Coron!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daCoach420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    134
    71
    30
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Based on my first experience in 2009, I was a little disappointed at how the quality of drinks dipped. I remember the food was pretty good, but pricey; but now the drinks were tolerable to horrible! There were 9 of us on the group, and only 2 of us got good drinks (and the other was a glass of wind, so that shouldn't even be counted). I would have appreciated the generous amount of alcohol maybe when I was a teenager, but not when the alcohol is not top notch and just makes the cocktail undrinkable. The proportions were all off, which is surprising, because how can anyone go wrong with rum coke?
At night, the ambience is dark, bordering on gloomy, and the low-tide makes the pier look dirty. The pathway toward the restaurant isn't inviting, either. The tacky mermaids, which I initially thought were cute 4 years ago, just seem disturbing now.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

My brother and I had a very nice meal at La Sirenetta. For appetizers, we had bruschetta (which was actually good, surprising given location) and kinilaw (a special). The kinilaw tasted fresh and good.

For the mains, we had ginger chicken, and the special fish of the day (again tuna) which comes with a carb (potato, fries, or rice) and some watercress salad. The chicken was good but plain, the fish was again fresh and very nice.

I think the real kicker to the place is that it has nice atmosphere. It is over the water and has a nice chill vibe. Definitely on the expensive side for Coron, but worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank corey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

The food was great! we ordered calamares for appetizer, and 2 orders of their shrimp dishes for the main course. It was delicious. The restaurant has an amazing view of the sunset.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank YaneSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
688 reviews
417 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
“Better than others, which isn't saying much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Some of the food was good. Garlic prawns, hummus, adobo rice, and ceviche were appealing. Other dishes were deficient - chewy calamari, indifferent pizza.

Service was very slow, and surly. In front of the apparent owner, a Brit seated at the bar who never said a word to anyone, a waitress took 10 minutes to get around to giving us menus (2 other tables were occupied, with a total of 6 patrons). The bartendress took another 25 minutes before we got all our drinks (some beers, a few cocktails, some bottled water), which arrived staggered. When I complained about the warm beer, all I got was a shrug.

The location over the water is sort of charming, but the dining room was very warm, the fans were few, and there was a fetid smell from the water.

Evidently the standards in this town are simply not very high, so anything that passes for an international class restaurant looks acceptable by comparison.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Sirenetta Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Coron, Busuanga Island
 
Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 

Been to La Sirenetta Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing