We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“From the market Mt. Tapyas!”
Review of Mt Tapyas

Mt Tapyas
Ranked #9 of 44 things to do in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“From the market Mt. Tapyas!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Well, after a day tour with all the islets in coron and cardio swimming and diving . My boyfriend and I were crazy enough to stretch it out. From the port to the 756 steps.... easy walk with slow stops to see how high and far we were. At some point, we were just 50 steps away- I began to be content of my view that time but well of course I need to finish it.... From the top- wow it was all worth it!

Spent a very good time there watching the sunset. So romantic- one of the best sunsets ever.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    241
    57
    11
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Juan City, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth the Sweat”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Mount Tapyas (Chip) is a 10-20 minutes tricycle ride from coron town proper. It got its name because according to townfolks, when the japanese bombarded palawan, it chipped the upper part of the mountain.

It is advisable that before starting your trek up, you should buy atleast a 500ml water to avoid dehydration and to power up your body. Though, the stairway is cemented, still, going up is quite a challenge for you have to climb with about 700 plus steps. To temporarily forget about your aching muscles, you can take a short rest from time to time by sitting in the bench and appreciate the beauty of the surroundings.

At the top of the mountain, you'll have a chance to see the Big White Cross (unfortunately and sadly, it was damaged/ brought down by typhoon haiyan), lucky me, i was able to see it when i went there last march 2013. Anyway, you will still be able to see the picturesque beauty of Coron specially when the sun is about to set. A little walk at the back, will lead you to another part of the mountain which is also nice.

I hope that one day when i travel back again to coron and trek up Mt Tapyas, i will be able to see the Cross standing again with its might.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeval3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Nice short hike with good views, plenty of seating and interesting ruins of old facilities. At the top we could see a storm approaching moving across the islands like a curtain. Tried to beat it down and got absolutely soaked. Luckily trikes wait at the base for anyone caught in the rain.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mt Tapyas, Coron”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Well worth the climb, as long as you're reasonably fit!
Terrific view from the top, especially at sunset.
There are no facilities at the top so take a drink at least. It's all steps so no disabled access.
Quite a few locals seem to delight in running up, and straight back down, made me warey watching them!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Napier52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beware of snake”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

While going up, i found a snake crossing the stairs. A tiring walk up. The place still shows the aftermath of typhoon haiyan. The government still havent done any restoration

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank faithjhung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mt Tapyas also viewed

Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 
Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 

Been to Mt Tapyas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing