We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overated pricey hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coron Hilltop View Resort
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We had learn from this review that this hotel is the newest in town,altough pricey we still booked a 2 nite stay,but we checkout immediately the next morning because we dont feel secured.the hotel is in the middle of nowhere,since it takes 15 minutes tricycle ride to reach Coron town where every activity start,we are the only guest in this hotel even its on a weekend,the room cost around 90 dollar almost the same as any regular 5 star hotel in manila,yet thier so called Deluxe room are only about 18 Square meters with a 16 inch TV,the shower drain are clogged where my wife almost slip,you feel so congested in the room that you want be out always,yet there is nothing much to do inside the hotel but to go to downtown,they give you 4 pillows for a queen size bed but this are as hard as a punching bag,where you cannot falls sleep even you are so tired,the breakfast is just average not compatible with the price,staff are kind but cannot decide on anything and need to call the boss on any simple request,so after a sleeplest nite we abruptly checkout and moved to a town hotel where everything is within reach.My advise is dont be fool by the outlook of a supposed new hotel but lets see whats inside of it.

Room Tip: Convenient is the key in choosing a hotel rather than its outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnwong65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed here for 5-nights back in May and from the moment we walked in, we immediately felt welcome. The staff are super, super friendly, very helpful and in the most part; efficient.

I think what made the atmoshpere feel friendlier was that it's cosy resort, along the lines of a boutique-type of resort rather than a large, over-crowded resort.

We took on a superior room and it was as shown on the website; so thankfully...no surprises. The beds are comfortable and the rooms spacious with clean and nicely laid out bathrooms. My only disappointment with the room (it was the upper-most room in the resort) was that any view other than that of the swimming pool was obstructed by the roofs of the other rooms. That said however; we were out doing Island tours day in and day out...so this actually didn't really matter so much.

The pool is small no doubt and appears crowded when 5 or more people are in it, but to be fair, we hit the pool at night after a long day on the Island tours. There is a pool bar there too, but it was not staffed during our time there in May.

The breakfast selection is actually quite small; but the food is good and again the restaurant staff were very friendly and hospitable. My only negative comment about the restaurant was that they had on-the-job trainees who were quite often distracted by the TV in the restaurant; especially in the evenings...but this is only a minor observation.

The wait staff and the chefs/cooks were wonderful and very helpful in every way and I can't 'on-the-whole' knock any of them.

I would recommend that you bring some travel board games (if you are a family) as there is not a great deal to do in Coron town of an evening unless you go to one of the diving resort bars.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this resort to anyone...it was a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: Bring board games for the kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joshincebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Negativs:
Small swimmingpool
bad Wifi
Not kids friendly (especialy the kids rates, 9 years old = aldult price)

Positives:
Nice rooms
friendly reception

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WDer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

rarely do i find the real thing as good as it's advertised, well, for me and my daughter, this was one of our rare finds, for the photos do not do justice to the place, it's actually more enchanting to see for yourself, i mean, for real, the moment we stepped into the place, we sensed hospitality and gracousnesss. though the rooms seem to be a little bit pricey, the spanky and well maintained facilities justify all of it. the staff were accommodating, i would say, quite pampering. we love you guys!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brattydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Very nice accomodation. Every peso is worth spent for a much needed vacation. I loved the packed lunch we they've provided during the island trips. Peeps are all accomodating. I will refer this to friends.

Room Tip: Clear what is listed in your island hopping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zaisseux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We moved here after a bad experience at the Coron Gateway, the Hilltop is half the price and you get twice the service. The rooms are nice, the resort layout is very cute (snow white and the 7 dwarves and swans in the garden), it has a pool but what makes it amazing are the staff! They could not be more helpful, more happy to see you and help you out. When we were leaving they phoned our next port of call and organised our entire transfer to the new hotel.

Our only complaint was that our room was near the pool and at 7am they start playing music and the speakers were right outside our room...which meant no sleeping much past that!

Location is a little out of town, about 5 mins on a tricycle, we never had a problem getting one even late at night. We even managed to fit the 2 of us with 5 locals on one tricycle!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lah1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Excellent service, no exaggeration, as seen on the website. You can even buy fresh seafood from the market during your tour and ask the hotel kitchen to cook a gourmet dish for a minimal fee.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnorkellingMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
1.4 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
1.9 mi away
One Averee Bay Hotel
One Averee Bay Hotel
#15 of 20 in Coron
77 reviews
2 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#7 of 20 in Coron
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Puerto Del Sol Resort Hotel and Dive Center Coron
2.1 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#6 of 20 in Coron
340 reviews
2.5 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coron Hilltop View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coron Hilltop View Resort

Address: 6 Brgy. Poblacion | Sitio Dipulao, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range: £33 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coron Hilltop View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The island of Coron is part of the Calamian Group of Islands in northern tip of the country's last frontier, Palawan. It is the home of the Philippines' natural treasures and magnificent lagoons.Coron features an array of splendid seascapes and sceneries, breathtaking limestone cliffs, rock formations and spectacular Japanese World War II ship wreck diving locations.Coron Hilltop View Resort (CHVR) is a 5,500 sq. mtr. resort is strategically located between Busuanga Airport and Port of Coron. Its location is perfectly situated between the airstrip and jetty port to accommodate the comfort of our customers. This area harnesses the natural beauty of Coron and the laid-back rural culture of the vicinity. The resort exudes Asian beauty that captures the heart of travellers idyllically situated amidst tranquil paradise with lush forest, a perfect spot to start your day having a deep breath of fresh air to revitalize your mind and body.Coron Hilltop View Resort has 19 villas, a combination of uniquely formed standard, deluxe and superior villas. All amenities are accented with Asian interiors with a touch of local culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Coron Hilltop View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coron Hilltop View Hotel Coron
Coron Hilltop View Resort Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing