We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room smells old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coron Hilltop View Resort
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Room smells old”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel is far from the main town and you will need a tricycle every time. The room also smelled old. The hotel felt very dated even if they say it's one of the new ones in town. Poorly maintained pool, will not stay here again.

Also, don't book the boat tours they have, it's much cheaper to just book in coron town.

Room Tip: Room had an old smell to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheJojoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    43
    19
    13
    3
See reviews for
27
46
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Coron Hilltop is a good 30 minutes away from the tiny Busuanga airport. It really is not near anything, but public transportation (Busuanga boasts of large three-wheeled cabs driven using a motorcycle, called tricycles) regularly ply the road where the resort is on. The main town hub is about 10 minutes away, via tricycle, where most of the popular eateries are located.
The resort did not escape Super Typhoon Haiyan’s wrath. One of the main doors leading to the registration desk is completely gone, making the lobby a humid place to stay in, despite the large air conditioner inside. You can also see uprooted trees in some areas within the resort’s compound.
There was not really anything to do inside the resort. The pool was under repair the whole 4 days we stayed there. Despite having a sign that declares its game room/library to be open from 6am until early evening, the resort staff does not turn on the air conditioner inside it (at least not during our entire stay there). There’s nothing spectacular about its restaurant’s fare – in fact, I’d avoid it if I were you. As the restaurant is inside an open-window and open-door structure, flies, mosquitoes, moths, and other insects/bugs abound. Restaurant service is also extremely slow. I strongly urge you to order your meals at least 2 hours before your intended eating time. This suggestion, by the way, does not only apply to Hilltop’s restaurant; I think it applies to any public eating area in Coron/Busuanga. Fast food places - these most certainly are not.
We booked both a Superior Villa and a Deluxe Villa. Nothing to complain about for both rooms. The only differences: the Superior Villa they gave us has 2 double beds (good for 4) and a mini ref, while the Deluxe can accommodate 3 pax and has no ref. Funnily enough, what with Coron being a popular diving destination, Hilltop’s villas do not have private balconies for guests to dry their wet clothes before packing them away again. We ended up displaying our wet swim wear every day for our neighbors to see, smell, touch, and taste, if they wanted to, at the small designated open-aired hallway leading to the villas’ main staircase. There’s also no exhaust fan inside the bathrooms, so humidity inside it can be a (minor) problem, too.

Room Tip: Get a villa on the 3rd/topmost floor, so you won't hear other noisy passersby who wake up at ung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimmie1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Coron won't be known anytime soon for its luxury accommodation but the hilltop resort is as close to luxury as you're going to get in coron. The rooms are of a good size with ensuite bathrooms. There is no wifi in the rooms, only the hotel lobby (and it's very slow) but the rooms do have aircon. Unfortunately there was an infestation of ants in my room, and separately also in my friends room, so this resulted in an uneasy nights sleep. It's something that the hotel can easily fix, and given the remote location of the hotel is somewhat expected. Breakfast was adequate and nothing special. Although the restaurant and kitchen looked spotlessly clean. In terms of location, this hotel is slightly out of the town which makes it less noisy and private. A tricycle to the town will cost between 40 and 50 pesos. I booked an airport transfer with the hotel which was provided in a comfortable air conditioned van and I would recommend doing this.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mister_Bosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Place is ok small but comfy, no complain about the pool since most of the time you spend it outside any way. All in all the stay is not the best but its not the worst either the fact that the place was hit by the recent typhon well its still a memmorable vacation nice staff very helpfull.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed in this hotel in July 2013. The hotel is about a 7- minute ride (by tricycle) to town, which is definitely not an issue if you plan to spend most of your time in Coron diving or snorkelling or just taking in the views!!. We would leave very early to do our tour and come back at night to sleep. And the tricicle ride is very scenic and cheap for 15 pesos per person. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I even misplaced my jewelry in the room and housekeeping must have found it and put it on top of the shelf when i came back at night. I left a tip in the room but housekeeping did not even take it. The price for this hotel is very reasonable. The tours are more expensive than what you can town and I heard that the groups are quite big, whereas the 2 tours that we got from town only had 6-8 people. There is no wifi in the room but you can try to get your emails while you are having your complimentary breakfast or get internet when you have your dinner in the town restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF_Junketeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marikina, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The rooms in Coron Hilltop are very clean and cozy. The Hotel is very relaxing and comfortable. The staffs are accommodating & the menu in their restaurant are yummy and excellent!
The best value for money, clean room and quiet ambiance. It has a well designed rooms. I would like to stay again in this hotel. Highly recommended. Great Service!!

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Maesha89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan USA
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Recommended for one of a very nice & accommodating hotels in Coron Palawan; Coron Hilltop View Resort...We stayed last April 2013 with my husband & 1 year old child..We love the Island Hopping & also the Deluxe Villa we occupied.. Very relax & quiet surroundings. Manager also very helpful & the staff..Food also great...in taste...& very affordable...Recommended hotels in Coron..6 minutes away from the town...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
2.0 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#4 of 20 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.1 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#5 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.4 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
2.0 mi away
One Averee Bay Hotel
One Averee Bay Hotel
#14 of 20 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coron Hilltop View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coron Hilltop View Resort

Property: Coron Hilltop View Resort
Address: 6 Brgy. Poblacion | Sitio Dipulao, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coron Hilltop View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The island of Coron is part of the Calamian Group of Islands in northern tip of the country's last frontier, Palawan. It is the home of the Philippines' natural treasures and magnificent lagoons.Coron features an array of splendid seascapes and sceneries, breathtaking limestone cliffs, rock formations and spectacular Japanese World War II ship wreck diving locations.Coron Hilltop View Resort (CHVR) is a 5,500 sq. mtr. resort is strategically located between Busuanga Airport and Port of Coron. Its location is perfectly situated between the airstrip and jetty port to accommodate the comfort of our customers. This area harnesses the natural beauty of Coron and the laid-back rural culture of the vicinity. The resort exudes Asian beauty that captures the heart of travellers idyllically situated amidst tranquil paradise with lush forest, a perfect spot to start your day having a deep breath of fresh air to revitalize your mind and body.Coron Hilltop View Resort has 19 villas, a combination of uniquely formed standard, deluxe and superior villas. All amenities are accented with Asian interiors with a touch of local culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coron Hilltop View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coron Hilltop View Hotel Coron
Coron Hilltop View Resort Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing