We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
Review of Birang Guesthouse

Birang Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birang Guesthouse
Ranked #35 of 65 Coron B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed here in early June, 2012. Overall it wasn't bad for the price.
The Great:
The price.. Very affordable
The Good:
The room was very big. We were a group of 3 and had a room with a double bed and a single. The bathroom was small but very clean. The room came with a TV and outlets that allowed you to charge at 110 or 220 volts. We had the North American 3 prong type plugs on our laptop and it worked fine.
The location was quite good. It was central to the area and had a docking area attached to the guest house that you could be picked up from to go island hopping, The outdoor market was a short 5 minute trike ride away and cost 10 pesos a person (around .25 cents Canadian). There was a good restaurant at the entrance to the guest house also.
The owners (or people living on the property) were friendly and helpful. They served breakfast each morning for us between 7:30-8:30 on the patio consisting of typical Filipino fare, rice, egg and meat along with coffee.
The Not so good:
Although I was quite satisfied considering this is a guest house and not a hotel, worth mentioning is
The Air Con was not the strongest. There was A/C, and it was working but it wasn't the greatest. A fan was included in the room too which helped.
There was free wifi, but at times it was REALLY slow and at other times it was decent. As the town is not the most modern (to say the least) I suspect I may not be able to blame this on the guest house. In fact, we had a brown out or two of electricity and I am told this is common throughout town.

All and all, I would stay here again if I stayed in this price range, but I would probably splurge a bit more next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rthibod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    4
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I can't wait to go back. The most courteous and friendly staff. If your looking for a good service and affordable price this is the,place

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Birang Guesthouse is a gem of a guesthouse in a town now congested with different types of accomodation. Birang remains true to the original spirit of Coron - laid back, peaceful, mindful of the environment. Rejecting plans to expand, the quality of service and the property remains impeccably intact. There is an overwhelming sense of feeling at home here, and the friendliness and helpfulness from owner (Virginia) to staff (Jam, Ruby, Kris and co.) is proof that Birang Guesthouse genuinely cares for their visitors. My family thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and the moment we left we were already dreaming of going back. I almost did not want to write about this place so as to keep it from becoming too popular, but Birang must be commended on being a fine example of simple luxury and commitment to sincere hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pepegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I've stayed at this establishment twice with different sets of friends and at both times, my friends and I were very happy with the decision.

The place and its rooms are quite basic but maintained so well you'd think it was newly-built. The bathrooms are especially clean (spotless tiles!). The owner (a woman named Aling Viring) is very accommodating and her staff is pleasant to deal with.

Do not expect 1st class amenities (this is a guesthouse after all -- much like a bed and breakfast place). Instead, expect a worry- and anxiety-free holiday. Aling Viring and her staff can help with such things as booking your boat trips to nearby islands, cooking your meals for a minimal fee (just buy the stuff from the local market or you can even ask them to just buy the stuff for you), etc. These are part of the owner's services and she doesn't ask a peso in return (i.e., no commissions)!

On both occasions that I visited Coron, we stayed for 5 days each time. It's important to mention that on both occasions, we never had to worry about the security of our personal belongings. Laptops and other gadgets and valuables remained in our rooms while we were out island-hopping. This, I feel, is a prime consideration and part of what made our stay in this guesthouse a very pleasant experience.

The best part, however, is the price. The guesthouse is very inexpensive and quite affordable. You'll be pleasantly surprised that one doesn't have to pay through one's nose to have a pleasant and worry free trip!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuaycx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The place itself is very convenient specially after island hopping trips. It has its own 'docking area.' The room that we stayed in was big enough for five.

There is a dining area right outside our room and it's really nice to eat breakfast there while looking at the vast sea. There is also a hammock and a lounge area for those lazy afternoons when you have nothing else planned for the day.

I would like to warn you though, you will be able to hear the noise from the other room since the guesthouse is made of sawali and not thick walls. we didn't mind, though. we were making noises of our own anyway.

There's the basic air condition and hot and cold water but if you're looking for a more upscale type of accommodation, you should look somewhere else. This is a guesthouse after all.

If you're looking for something rustic and local, try this one.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deejay_ayen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coron
0.0 mi away
St. Louie Terraces Lodging House and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Luis Bay Travellers Lodge
Luis Bay Travellers Lodge
#120 of 354 in Palawan Island
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Pension House
Sunrise Pension House
#26 of 65 in Coron
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kawayanan Heights Inn
Kawayanan Heights Inn
#52 of 65 in Coron
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coron Paradise Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Seaview Pension House
Seaview Pension House
#30 of 65 in Coron
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birang Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birang Guesthouse

Property: Birang Guesthouse
Address: Barangay Tagumpay, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Birang Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birang Guesthouse Coron, Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing