We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go anywhere near it”
Review of Birang Guesthouse

Birang Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birang Guesthouse
Ranked #37 of 69 Coron B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed at Birang Guesthouse for about 3 days. It was a terrible terrible experience. I was the one who booked this place for my family because I saw in some forums and reviews that its a great place to stay while in Coron. Maybe it was before, but it sure is not now. However when we arrived, there were another batch of tourists that seems to have been there before and knows the owner, Biring. I understand that they might be loyal customers but I wish they would have given us notice. All our requests were an afterthought and the staff did not even bother to greet us or talk to us. English might be limited but a simple hello or smile helps liven up people's moods.

When we asked to have our rooms cleaned, one of the the staff said that she will clean our rooms but forgot to do it. We asked again the next day but still no cleaning happened. The rooms are very paper thin! I guess its ok if you're with a big group and rent out the whole house but not if there's just two or four people. You could compare it to a hostel in Europe but more expensive. I do agree with Simon J's review that it is a glorified back-packers place to sleep in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wandererscott075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Birang Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

We went to coron in December for a family vacation and it was exactly what we wanted! It was a quaint place not too far from town with excellent service. Ate Jam, who is the person in charge, is very accommodating and was helpful with everything we needed. You can ask them to cook and prepare everything for you if you didn't want to go into town to eat or you can buy the food and ask them to cook it for you. We gave them the menu we wanted for the week and they took care of everything (breakfast-lunch-dinner) - it was really convenient! The rooms were great. We had a room that had its own bathroom and then got 2 more rooms which shared 1 common bathroom. Everything was clean and well maintained. Yes, they did not clean the room during our stay but that didn't bother us, we just asked for a broom so we can sweep. But if you did want your room cleaned you could just ask them. I also liked that it was right by the water which gave a really great scenery. It was also convenient too because our boat for the tours would pick us up and drop us off there, that way we didn't need to go into toown. There was a restaurant right next door too if you wanted to try something different and another one down the street and a sari-sari store if you needed to buy anything. What I liked about this hotel too was that on the main floor (where our room was located) there is a dining table where you can hang-out and a hammock right night to the water where you can relax and watch the sunset.

All in all this place did not disappoint. It was perfect for a relaxing getaway and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kisgomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The Good
- Central Location, clean and new.
- Delicious home cooked meals (I only know about this as I read the reviews before booking the place, you can buy raw veg and meat and ask the staff to cook it, the staff did not mentioned this at all)

The Bad
- Brown out each night (no hot showers when this happens, only luke warm shower)
- Even with generator on the wall power sockets goes off in middle of the night (this happened 2-3 times and the fan stopped working)
- Sometimes we have to go out of the room for WIFI coverage.
- Walls were paper thin (made out of bamboo) and we could hear the next room’s TV clearly.

The Ugly
-We felt like our presence was a big inconvenience to the staff there and we did not feel welcome at all.
-After staying 6 nights, NO housekeeping at all, we had to ask for a change of towels and the rubbish in the room was not emptied out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yoland_Li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

A friend and I stayed here based upon the good reviews below. However, we were both left feeling rather disappointed.

The house is in effect a very large bamboo hut which means the walls a paper thin! We could hear everything the couple in the room next to us were doing. (Keep that in mind when you start getting 'romantic!')

The staff we not friendly or pro-active. While they did the few things we requested, it was always done in such a way as to make us feel like we were putting them to a great deal of trouble. We stayed for 5 days and they did not service the room once!

Thin walls, poor service, bad wifi, sporadic power, and two irritating birds that chirp and talk at all hours of the day and night.

We didn't expect hotel comforts, but for the price we paid we sure as hell expected more than a glorified back-packers with an en-suite!

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you're in the mood for romance!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed at this place for 4 days and 3 nights and it was all worth the money spent. Aling Viring has island tour packages that you can choose from and she will take care of everything - from airport transfers to island hopping to city tour inclusive of 3 full meals. The food they serve at the guest house is excellent - especially the crabs and fish. You can also make special requests if you have any dietary constraints and they will gladly oblige. Special kudos to jam for being a perfect tour guide to us.

Rooms are clean and big and very homey. do not expect hotel type accommodations since this is a guest house but the friendliness of the staff and the proximity of the guest house to the sea and the city makes up for all of this

Will definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misskeyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed here in early June, 2012. Overall it wasn't bad for the price.
The Great:
The price.. Very affordable
The Good:
The room was very big. We were a group of 3 and had a room with a double bed and a single. The bathroom was small but very clean. The room came with a TV and outlets that allowed you to charge at 110 or 220 volts. We had the North American 3 prong type plugs on our laptop and it worked fine.
The location was quite good. It was central to the area and had a docking area attached to the guest house that you could be picked up from to go island hopping, The outdoor market was a short 5 minute trike ride away and cost 10 pesos a person (around .25 cents Canadian). There was a good restaurant at the entrance to the guest house also.
The owners (or people living on the property) were friendly and helpful. They served breakfast each morning for us between 7:30-8:30 on the patio consisting of typical Filipino fare, rice, egg and meat along with coffee.
The Not so good:
Although I was quite satisfied considering this is a guest house and not a hotel, worth mentioning is
The Air Con was not the strongest. There was A/C, and it was working but it wasn't the greatest. A fan was included in the room too which helped.
There was free wifi, but at times it was REALLY slow and at other times it was decent. As the town is not the most modern (to say the least) I suspect I may not be able to blame this on the guest house. In fact, we had a brown out or two of electricity and I am told this is common throughout town.

All and all, I would stay here again if I stayed in this price range, but I would probably splurge a bit more next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rthibod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I can't wait to go back. The most courteous and friendly staff. If your looking for a good service and affordable price this is the,place

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.0 mi away
St. Louie Terraces Lodging House and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Pension House
Sunrise Pension House
#30 of 69 in Coron
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kawayanan Heights Inn
Kawayanan Heights Inn
#53 of 69 in Coron
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
GMG Hotel
GMG Hotel
#49 of 69 in Coron
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coron Paradise Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Fat Monkey Hostel
Fat Monkey Hostel
#7 of 35 in Coron
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birang Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birang Guesthouse

Address: Barangay Tagumpay, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Coron
Price Range: £31 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Birang Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birang Guesthouse Coron, Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing