We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bring bread!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skeleton Reef

Skeleton Reef
Ranked #15 of 43 things to do in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“bring bread!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

to be honest, i barely got to enjoy the skeleton reef because i didn't see the ship much; however, there were so much fish around! And the fishes weren't afraid of the people so they were just approaching you constantly looking for food! fortunately, one of the people i was with had bread, so all the fishes swam towards him. he shared his bread with me, and they were just nibbling my hand. it was so cool!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miiica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    44
    21
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Whoa! beautiful...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I would suggest you to swim near this reef so you could clearly see the fishes that lives in there. Though you can see the front part of the ship wreck from the surface..

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Small ship on shallow waters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

It was not that scary as I first imagined. It was nice to go around the ship. Some of my group members saw a family of sting rays. We stayed for a long time and tried fishing. We'll return next year!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go for the fish, not the wreck if snorkelling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We snorkeled there and though we could see the wreck, it was not very impressive, as other reviews have pointed out, it might be better to go and see the wreck if you dive. What was great was the fishes and coral! It was one of our best experience in Coron. The water was crystal clear, and the scenery just amazing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Julievhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“another very good snorkelling spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is NOT a wreck on one the 8 Imperial Japanese navy supply ships that were sunk by a US Navy taskforce in September of 1944. The wreck we were taken to lies meters from the beach on the northwest corner of Coron island and Its stern points directly away from it. The wreck is the keel, ribs and stringers of a steel-hulled boat about 25 meters long. I saw lots of parrot and other species of reef fish while snorkeling around it and at one point a grey sea snake swam by.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Accela1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skeleton Reef also viewed

Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 
Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 

Been to Skeleton Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing