We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service & best memories!”
Review of Coron Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coron Ecolodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We were in Coron during typhoon Haiyan, and we were so glad we stayed at the Coron Ecolodge. The staff are all young, but they're respectful and wait on you like royalty; extremely accommodating and the one point I want to stress: we felt so safe during the typhoon thank to the staff and sturdiness of the Lodge. The staff & manager on site went above and beyond every expectation to ensure every single guests' safety, worked throughout the night and all staff were called back to the lodge to work double, triple shift to clean, tend to guests and our needs, help out everyone passing by, ensure we were comfortable. This is a lodge and not a luxury hotel, but since its newly built, it's clean it's modern and simply a great place to stay when in Coron as its a convenient walk away to everything (restaurant, the mount...). I booked all my tours through them and everything was just perfect.

I will return to Coron and will definitely stay at the Ecolodge again without a doubt. Coron's town was ravaged but they're fast at rebuilding. The town needs tourism to rebuild, so go and visit! It's an amazing place and you will thoroughly enjoy. People are SO nice and hospitable, and snorkelling is the best there!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yin_YY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you so much for your gracious and enthusiastic review of Coron Ecolodge! We had made extra efforts to make your stay here for your personal celebration a special one and were dismayed to realize that the arrival of Typhoon Haiyan had made it memorable in a way we all did not expect. Nevertheless, we make every effort to ensure that our guests have a safe and wonderful time. We do this not just because its our business to do so, but also because it truly is a pleasure to see our guests relax and enjoy because the hotel had taken their needs into consideration. Thank you for entrusting us with your special occasion. Thank you as well for endorsing the local tourism industry of Coron because it is your continued patronage that will genuinely help Coron get back on its feet and be even better than it was before. We are glad to know you plan to return. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We just stayed for two nights literally. We came before check in time and were given a vacant room to change our clothes before our island hopping. Good that there was an unoccuppied room. When we came back they were insistent to add a bed for the extra person but we told them that the two beds would do for the three of us in one of the rooms. Their beds are actually full or twin sized beds if I'm not mistaken, but surely not queen size. Talk directly to their people at Coron when reserving because their more knowledgable regarding your concerns though not that concerned with regards to the bank deposit details and not that immediate in replying through emails. Call them, and they are very pleasant. When we stayed there, coffee was free flowing, they were immediate with our needs, and they cleaned our rooms without our saying. When we went back on our second day, our rooms were very clean and orderly with new towels and toiletries. Just pu your things in your bag and bring valuable items when leaving because keys are not allowed to be brought outside. Food were in set meals and were meant for people who are on a diet but tasted okay. Danggit was very good for our breakfast choicd. Love it! They pack in paper boxes for our second day free breakfast since we left early and were presentable. Nice. Bring extra P500 per room for deposit. Love the building architecture and ambiance. Stairs were easy to climb. Love the door decorations. Generator was strong considering airconditioning were still running during 3 hours brownout. Over-all, this is a better mini hotel than our first trip check-in at Islands View Inn. Still got Kuya Joel, our licensed guide to prepare the trip we wanted with buffet food cooked on our boat during our trip. Sobrang sulit. Better to fix your trip directly with Kuya Joel than the hotel because he can fix everything from the transfers, boat, food and safety! Just email me if you want to contact him. He can bring you to Banana Island, Malcapuya and Pass Island with the best beaches with nearby corals. PERFECT!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for your gracious and detailed review of Coron Ecolodge! We do our best to pay attention to the details of what our guests need - be it a room to change in, fresh towels, a clean room to return to at the end of an enjoyable but tiring day or helping you purchase "pasalubong" so you don't have to do it yourself. With regards to email responses and bank deposits, our apologies if there is any perception of delay or lack of concern. We make every effort to respond to our guests' inquiries and follow up concerns as soon as possible. As in your case, we even took the time to discuss with you on the phone some of your concerns/questions to make sure that everything is clear. As an added note, we are pleased to announce that Coron Ecolodge is currently introducing a new and exciting menu for the Lobby Cafe. We hope that you will come back soon to enjoy this. Kindly note as well that guests have the option to book just our accommodations or the accommodations with tours as provided by our tour partners. Either way, guests can be assured that they will get the same personalized and efficient service from Coron Ecolodge and its partners. We're glad you had an enjoyable vacation. We look forward to having you come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I would normally only give five stars to exceptional accommodation, but given that my wife and I were stranded here for five nights, including during one of the most devastating typhoons in history, Haiyan/Yolanda, which passed directly over Coron and we were looked after so well in these comfortable and affordable rooms, I don’t think it would be fair to rate Ecolodge lower….
The lodge is only about a year old and is a simple and elegant design. It withstood the typhoon’s fury with only minor damage to the roof due to falling trees on two sides. The large glass windows and doors which provided a pleasant ambience remained intact. The tree damage led to some minor flooding which the staff quickly attacked and all but two rooms were fine the morning after. Fortunately, the hotel generator continued to function and life resumed a certainly normality. We were also fortunate that a senior employee of Globe Telecommunications was staying with us as the rival Smart network was down after the typhoon and she kindly provided a Wi-Fi service, which attracted many tourists to our hotel. Although we had been previously advised to buy Smart sim cards, our experience overall, favoured Globe in Palawan.
The staff of Ecolodge were very pleasant and helpful during our stay at Ecolodge and did their best to make our stay enjoyable under trying circumstances. Breakfast and hot snacks were available but were simple affairs, OK but we preferred to eat elsewhere for the most part.
Overall Ecolodge is excellent value for money for the price. It is a convenient short walk from the town centre and the boats and has shown it can withstand a super typhoon!

Room Tip: We had a room close to reception and although the generator noise was noticeable, it did not bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ozpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you sir for your gracious rating and review of our hotel. We strive to give all our guests a pleasant experience of Coron Ecolodge through personalized, efficient and sincere service. We are glad that even the fury of Typhoon Haiyan could not impede or dampen the efforts of our staff to extend to you that service. Thank you for your patience, understanding and cooperation when we had to deal with the storm damage, and the inconveniences it caused. As for the food, you would be pleased to know that Coron Ecolodge is currently introducing a new and exciting menu at its Lobby Cafe. We continue to find ways to improve in serving you our valued guests and we are truly grateful when you take the time to give us positive feedback such as these. We look forward to seeing you again soon in Coron Ecolodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We can't recommend this hotel enough. We arrived two days before Typhoon Haiyan (Yolanda) hit Coron, and we were stranded on the island (at this hotel) for about a week in total. The hotel's staff were absolutely fantastic. While the rest of the island didn't have electricity and running water, we had both - the hotel has a back up generator and a well. Despite what had happened on the island we were always, always greeted with smiles and friendly interactions. The customer service was head and shoulders above most of the higher starred hotels we've stayed in while travelling, we can't rate the staff highly enough! We felt as safe as we could have hoped to during a category 5 typhoon, the staff ensured customer's safety was paramount.

On arrival at the airport in Coron, we hadn't booked an airport pick up, but there was an air conditioned people carrier waiting for us, with our names on a board!

We would like to thank all the staff at the hotel from the bottom of our hearts for looking after us so well during such a difficult time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor nearer reception can get a little noisier at night/early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank junglebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

In behalf of the Coron Ecolodge team, you're very welcome! You had entrusted us with your trip by booking your accommodations with us. We can do no less than to endeavor to honor that trust with the kind of service we give you. We are only thankful that we had the capacity to ensure yours and our other guests' safety and comfort given such circumstances. Thank you for your enthusiastic recommendation. We hope that you would return to experience Coron with all its natural wonders and beauty in much better weather conditions. And when you do, we hope you will stay with us once again. It was a pleasure and a privilege to be of service to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have been to Coron twice and together with the family we went back for the third time. Sad that we were not able to get accomodations with the former hotel near the market, my tourist guide informed me that we will be billeted at Coron Eco-lodge. So, upon arrival, I was pleasantly surprised that the lodging hotel is well located within walking distance to the town center....15 minutes walk to the market, near restaurants and service salons. Tucked in a quiet corner in one of the side streets, Coron Eco-lodge emitted privacy and an air of class away from the hustle and bustle of the main streets where tourists abound from all over the world. The staff were friendly and accommodating and our small requests were easily granted. Additional towels, additional pillows and those small things made our stay more pleasant. The room size was sufficient enough for 3 and even the rooms have wooden carvings that projects the Palawan culture. Our rooms were locate at the end and it was relatively quiet. We can even hang our wet things in a small yard at the back. For travelers like us that go island hopping these small amenities count a lot.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor and at the end are better for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KIMI4812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your gracious review of Coron Ecolodge! Yes, we agree with you that the small things mean a lot. They in fact spell the difference between a good vacation and a great one. So in Coron Ecolodge, we do try to accommodate and assist you with your requests as much as we are able. Thank you for noting our staff's efforts. We're glad you had an enjoyable vacation and do hope you'll come back and tell your friends about us as well. God bless!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The reason why I chose this accommodation in the first place is because of the good reviews and I never regret listening to those who have experienced it first hand. The alert staff were highly trained to make their guest feel at home and welcome. Welcome drink was given. Room was cleaned and offered enough the basic needs anyway, we're there to tour not to relax on the room but it exceeded my expectations. We were able to rest and relax on the room. Though, I can't blame the hotel for having some few noises outside (town proper having march band in the streets, the hotel #2 construction in the front but it did stop at 8pm) probably to let tourist sleep when they are about to.

The breakfast meal is just enough to keep you going and the DANGIT was so yummy that I even asked the receptionist where to buy it. She even offered for help! She arranged the pasalubong (I dont have to buy it myself in the market) which is awesome! I forgot who's the receptionist but was very very helpful.

They (receptionist) would even offer for umbrella if you are about to go, flashlights when you are up early for a walk (Mt. Tapyas) and always greet you along the hallway. They are all good looking people too. (Management know how to choose staff).

Overall the trip, the hotel, the vibe was all nice. Considering the town is laid back. I love it there. Amazing experience!

Room Tip: Choose a room near the lobby ground floor to get wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItsAmpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your gracious and detailed review of our hotel! Our staff has been trained to assist you in your needs and we are happy to hear that you have felt and experienced that effort from them. You would be pleased to know that a new and exciting menu is already slowly being implemented in Coron Ecolodge. Also, as a response to the growing demand for more rooms, Coron Ecolodge's sister hotel, Casa Coron has now been completed. We hope to officially open its doors by February of this year. Casa Coron will have 8 rooms, which has bigger dimensions to accommodate bigger groups. As we expand, we assure you we will continue to give you our guests the same personalized, sincere and efficient service that you have come to expect from Coron Ecolodge and soon, Casa Coron as well. God bless and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

It is a budget accommodation that you can easily mistake for an expensive hotel because of its upgraded facilities.

Coron is well known for backpacking but the kind of tourists that are discovering Coron lately has diversified.People see the fact that the main activity here is island hopping (which means you are out exploring the lakes, beaches and dive spots most of the day) so people are still keen on keeping it on the low-end of the budget when it comes to accommodation.The entry of Coron Ecolodge in the ever competitive Coron hospitality sector is a welcome thing therefore for budget conscious travelers who still value quality.

It's a pretty compact place with only two floors and 22 rooms. The ground floor holds the lobby and the restaurant area where guests can have breakfast as included of their room rate. The mood is rather bright and fresh given the tall glass walls surrounding the lobby. It brings in a lot of natural light even during gloomy days which is consistent with the mood you feel when you are in Coron.Let it be summer all year long!

All rooms are of the same type, double standard ---15sq. meters each with two separate beds. Perfect if you are travelling with friends. In our case, since we are a couple, we requested that they put together the beds. We naturally occupied one side as one bed would fit two pax but we still put the two side by side just in case somebody starts rolling.haha!

You can book a room for as low as PHP 1,898.00 per night for a maximum of 2 adults and 2 children.Add a little and you can have a room for three (3) for only PHP 2,398.00. That's reasonable!

Take note, this is an a/c room and this is Coron so this is as practical as you can go in terms of a/c rooms.I like it that each room has a thermostat.Say hello to unli-coffee!The bed is comfortable and sheets are clean.The room smells fresh.Basic toiletries are included.

Our room was rather simple. Not so much to see inside in terms of accent. I told front desk that it would have been nicer if they bring the door accent in the room, not to be too loud about it, but at least an item or so inside the room just to be consistent with the trademark. It will give the hotel a clearer branding. Just my thought.

Still, I have no complaints with our room.You get more what you pay for.

Having a private bath was also a delight as we stayed in another accommodation the night before where we had to share the bath with other guests.I have no issues with that except that you feel burdened waiting for your turn at times especially if you are wet and cold from island hopping. Waiting in this case could be a pain.

Another thing that you will like about Coron Ecolodge is its proximity to other establishments like banks, shops and especially restaurants. Coron town is situated on a small area limited by the hills and the sea.The downtown area is therefore a long strip which extends a few kilometers long.

Shops and restaurants therefore line the main street.A long stretch if I may say so but there is a bigger concentration in the area around the public market. Coron Ecolodge is around 300 meters away from the market and around 100 meters away from the main road.That means you can walk left or right from the lodge and still find what you are looking for.You don't have to take transportation when looking for a place to eat especially during dinner which I find very handy. Lolo Nonoys, our favorite restaurant in Coron town is only a few blocks away.

Coron Ecolodge is indeed for those who are budget conscious but don't want to compromise quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pusangkalye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva P, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you so much for that comprehensive and positive review of our hotel, as well as for your constructive inputs. You can be assured that we are constantly looking at ways to improve not just our facilities but our service as well. Reviews like your are very encouraging for our team, and certainly informative as well for other travelers as well. Thank you for taking the time to note the details. We really appreciate your feedback. All the best to you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.1 mi away
One Averee Bay Hotel
One Averee Bay Hotel
#15 of 20 in Coron
67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
Asia Grand View Hotel
#10 of 20 in Coron
203 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#1 of 20 in Coron
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#6 of 20 in Coron
333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Bayside Hotel
0 mi away
Casa Coron Hotel
Casa Coron Hotel
#11 of 20 in Coron
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coron Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coron Ecolodge

Address: Calle Real | Poblacion 2, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coron
Price Range: £23 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coron Ecolodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coron Ecolodge! This modestly designed boutique hotel located along the quiet street of Calle Real is a welcome surprise for many of its guests. From its creamy interiors, wooden accents, a glass panelled lobby that allows the natural light to bask the interiors in a golden glow, down to the colourful wooden accents of the trademark geckos and stingrays crafted by local artisans …everything about Coron Ecolodge speaks of an attention to detail that takes their guests’ comfort and needs in mind. Everything you need in town from the local municipality, banks, laundry, bakery, a handicraft store and even a small parlor and spa, are just a short walk away.Each of only 21 simple but well-designed 15 square meter air-conditioned rooms has 2 standard double beds, wooden clothes cabinet, Cable TV, private bath with hot and cold shower and 2 towels which are replenished daily upon guests’ request. A generator and deep well is on hand to serve as back-up 24-7. The Calle Real Bistro provides Wi-Fi free of charge and unlimited coffee to its guests.But perhaps what makes Coron Ecolodge stand out more than anything else is the exemplary customer service. From arrival to departure, our staff eagerly and sincerely extends assistance to the guests for a myriad number of requests-from tour coordination, bookings and inquiries, planning for a special occasion (even a marriage proposal), advise on where to go or where to eat, care when you’re feeling under the weather, getting your clothes to a laundry shop, even purchasing the requisite pasalubong of lamayo for which Palawan is known for, nothing is too small to help guests with. And they do it all with a smile! Because at Coron Ecolodge…it truly is a pleasure to be of service.No wonder Trip Advisor ranks Coron Ecolodge best value-for-money hotel in town. Just 2 years old, Coron Ecolodge has proven to be a popular draw for budget yet value-conscious and savvy travelers. And the good news is, its sister establishment, Casa is opening very soon to meet the demand for quality rooms and service at an affordable price. Come to Coron Ecolodge. And experience what it’s like to be truly made welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Ebookers so you can book your Coron Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coron Ecolodge Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing