We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Quiet & Cool Place to Stay in Coron”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sophia's Garden Resort
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Me and my wife together with our Biz Partners stayed here for 3 nights last Sep 2 ~ 5, 2013
Good thing about the hotel / resort that it is located just beside the Coron town proper, thus there is serenity in the area but still the accessibility to the wharf and town proper is just a stone throw away.

Hotel rooms were very clean and what caught my attention was the appealing smell. The room are quite spacious enough. Hotel staffs are very friendly and accommodating. Restaurant offers sumptuous breakfast and we even tried to have our 2nd day dinner at the Sophia's Resto and food was great.

Only bad thing is the free wifi is quite very slow and mobile phone signals are often not that good for both globe and smart / sun. Other than these items, there is nothing to worry about Sophia's.

We really enjoyed the jacuzzi and pool, as well as the well-trimmed gardens, I even visited their soon to be wharf and future hotel expansion at the backside of the current hotel which is a seafront.

To Sophia's, Thank you for accommodating us and arranging our Coron tours as well. More Power!

Room Tip: All 8 rooms are quite same! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bluecloudsrealty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in this resort from Sept 3-6. We chose to stay here because of the good reviews that we read.

The Good
• Their facilities are new and well maintained.
• The cleanliness of the resort is very remarkable. The garden and swimming pools are well maintained. The room, including the bath, smells and looks clean.
• ALL their staff was very friendly and accommodating. I’ve been to several hotels and resorts here and abroad, I think this is the resort that provided me the most stellar experience for their service.
• Food and drinks are reasonably priced. It’s not cheap; but it’s worth it. They take special meal request if you want something that is not in their menu. They even asked us if we wanted to dine either in the garden or pool side gazebos at no extra cost.
• Pre-arrival inquiries and requests were responded to promptly. I even received a confirmation text from the resort regarding my transfer arrangement request 10 minutes after I made my booking online at 5am.
• My wife and I enjoyed drinking cocktails and having dinner by the pool after a tiring Coron day tour.
• The place is not crowded given that it only has 8 rooms. It has aircon and cable TV.

The Bad
• They provide free WIFI; however, it was extremely slow.
• Aside from the slow internet connection, there’s nothing else that I can say that I didn’t like about the resort.

Travel Tip
• To save money, book your Coron day tour / island hopping with tour operator - Nice in Paradise. From the hotel, you can either hire and tricycle or the in-house resort van to bring you to their office. Their tour guides are very friendly and they even swims with you. You just have to hold to their floats and they will pull you around in the lake while other tour guides stay in the boats.

I was a bit doubtful when I see in TripAdvisor that this resort is only receiving a score of 4 and 5. I totally agree with one of the reviewer that stated that he will give Sophia a score of 6 if he can.

This resort is highly recommended when visiting Coron!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Gilbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a beautiful resort. Quiet, safe, extremely well maintained, but what makes this place really stand out is the quality of the staff. The staff went beyond all expectations to ensure our stay was an enjoyable one. Thank you all.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Luke and Othell... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

After boracay, I just decided to go coron and decided to book this resort. First when me and my friend arrived busuanga airport, it just like arrived at Jurassic park, you will worried that the dinosaur will suddenly run out from forest. But when we arrived resort, it feel HOME, the friendly staff, quiet and clean environment, let us feel relax and peaceful. Wonderful resort!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Fish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after La Natura Resort. Wow, this is a different league. The price on booking was cheaper than on their own website and it was hard to find a room on the days we were going to be in Coron. So book in advance, because the 5 days we stayed in the island it was always full.
FYI, We travel with a 8 year girl and a 11 month baby and we stayed in middle-upper class hotels normally.

As soon you enter the garden of the hotel, you will feel and notice the difference between this place and the rest of the island. The garden is beautiful and always taking care of it.
Nice pool with jacuzzi and also some kind of pool water games.
You are normally alone on the garden or in the pool, because most of the clients arrive late, leaves early or stays the whole day outside on island hopping. So, most of the day quiet.
Service: from the first minute, you can enjoy the amazing service they have at the hotel. If possible, I will rate them with a 6. The manager does a great job.
Rooms: they are not very big but they are nicely decorated. Digital Cable, tv and 5 channels to enjoy most of the time movies. Air conditioning working and without any noise. Free complimentary water every day (as well on every lunch). Nice sheets and 2 pillows per bed. We also had an amazing crib.
Great shower with water pressure and unlimited hot water. Nice shower to relax. Complimentary shampoo, soap, etc. Quite complete.
Internet normally get into the rooms if you have a laptop, cellphone sometimes. Internet speed good first day, then something happened and it was a slow or not connecting for some reason (but they let us use the reception computer to check confirmations from the next hotels.
Restaurant : everything good and always happy to attend you or make any special dish. Prices fair for a place like this, around 200-300php.

The hotel is one of the best experiences around north palawan, without spending more than 200 USD. This place is more like a That Hotel than the typical filipino.

For sure will repeat if around.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Smallfishbigworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My family and I had one of the most exquisite and wonderful three-day and two-night accommodation at Sophia’s Garden Resort in Coron, Palawan. It has this traditionally inspired architecture built in native Ipil Ipil wood and windows of capiz shells. The ambiance is very exotic-looking in the native Filipino style all the way around.

The staff treated us like VIPs the whole time. They were very friendly and accommodating. I couldn’t forget the special treatments rendered to us by their staff, Oliver, who was very prompt and informative about the history of the place and the fun places we were about to visit--take note, the resort is just few minutes from the town proper and the dockside. We were able to see the beautiful mountains and hillsides of Coron from the boat that took us around sailing and snorkeling, while sightseeing the coral reefs as well. Swimming and snorkeling are the most fun things to do in Coron which came as a package deal with the stay. The food was also excellent served on board the elegant dining room of Sophia’s Garden Resort serving us breakfast, lunch and dinner; and out at the seaside by the boat.

Our accommodation at Sophia’s Garden Resort definitely made our stay in Coron, Palawan, an unforgettable adventure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Butchie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 days. Wonderful place, awesome people. We enjoyed the place so much. People are so friendly and warm. "masarap balik-balikan". :) They treating us like VIP's and gave our demand without any hesitation. Nice view, wonderful environment, quiet place, clean pool, nice food and etc. everything is good about the place, you couldnt ask for more once you get there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Paulo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.4 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
1.7 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Bayside Hotel
16.2 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#6 of 20 in Coron
337 reviews
14.1 mi away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#1 of 20 in Coron
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophia's Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophia's Garden Resort

Address: 5 Dinagpan Rd, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range: £60 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sophia's Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophia's Garden Resort is 40 minutes away from the Busuanga airport and 15 minutes apart from Coron Town. Sophia's has a Spanish type inspired designs. That made the resort special with its 8 deluxe rooms, El Comidor Sophia and bar, a multicolored swimming pool with Jacuzzi, a magnificent El Jardin Sophia and Souvenir Shop. To experience the elegance of Coron, an exclusive place to stay and personalized service visit Sophia's Garden Resort in Coron Palawan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Sophia's Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia's Garden Resort Coron, Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing