We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare Gem in Coron”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sophia's Garden Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The staff at Sophia's Garden made this resort near perfect. They were over the top helpful, yet genuine and extremely personable. Hats off to the overall operation which was very efficient and professional, and certainly exceeded our expectations.

Some tips for future visitors:
1- aim for Rooms 6-8 ... these are the quietest. Rm 4 is next to the kitchen and you can hear foot traffic / voices going by
2- wi-fi is very weak and sometimes unusable
3- hot water came in pulses, so be prepared for a cool shower segment before the heater 'catches up'

A longer-term outlook ... go now while it's still a quiet intimate resort. There are plans over the next 3 yrs to add 30 rooms. So the character of the resort will change. Hopefully they can find some way to maintain the tranquility and the ambience of today's Sophia.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Firstly, I question the reliability and accuracy of other reviews on here - seems we have a lot of 'one time travellers'.

The review - facts - good points

The grounds are well kept, peaceful and protected.
The breakfast was good, not amazing though
The rooms are clean and constantly attended to

The points you should note:

The staff - although you see a desire to help and smile on every face, do not be fooled. In reception we had 5 young girls laughing and acting like teenagers which makes the place feel like a training ground for this years Philippine waitress of the year. When you ask for anything it normally takes three people to understand what you want - annoying after day 1.

The food - wow - terrible. First night we had a romantic dinner in the hotel. The food was cold and from a freezer. We asked for it to be recooked, the microwave was used to reheat fish and rice. We had one more attempt, truly awful. We went up the road to a German owned hotel, very good.

How to ruin a holiday.

1, on arrival nobody offered advice about local trips, when asking for help - blank faces

2, the food is average to poor

3, the feel of staff is that they are forced to smile, fake.

Overall, it was ok and we had fun with the island tours but no way is this the best hotel in Coron.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
11  Thank romancetraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Beautiful little resort, friendly and helpful staff.

The gardens are pristine, even considering the typhoon damage. The bathroom was lovely, clean and tidy, as was the room. Everything about the resort is well thought out, and beautifully designed.

Will stay there again, if I ever make it to Coron again.

k.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank squiresk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This small guest house accommodation was just delightful. Set amongst a beautiful and meticulously nurtured garden surrounding the hotel truly lives up to its name. The hotel staff are amongst the most welcoming hospitable people on the planet, with utter care for their guests. They smile, they make great suggestions and they anticipate your needs. The pool within the gardens is perfect for those hot days, especially if you've been out touring the island. The food is delicious and includes local and international choices, all cooked with love and to your dietary needs. The rooms are clean, with good air conditioning, hot and cold water and toilets all with flush. Overall, this was a real gem find. Filipino hospitality at its best.
Coron (Busuanga island) needs to be explored and we neglected to give it the proper time. (We'll come back) Sophia's is just a short 5 minute ride on a "tricycle" (motorised) to a bustling small town with good atmosphere, bars, restaurants, a local market and plenty of locals to integrate with.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, and all beautifully presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SachaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed at Sophia's Garden Resort for 3 nights 2 weeks ago and loved every minute of it. The grounds are lovely and well kept, the location of the hotel is perfect, very relaxing and about 10 minutes outside of the town, so you can escape the business.

The room had everything we needed for a short stay and was very clean. The facilities were great, lovely pool, nice seating areas for meals, and a hot tub!! we had breakfast, lunch and evening meal at the hotel and the food was lovely. They serve great pasta dishes, especially the Carbonara, which my partner ordered several times over.

The most amazing part of the resort has to be the staff. They went out of there way to make sure our stay was perfect, always attentive to our needs and checking if there was anything they could do better to make our stay better. We would like to say a special thank you to Charmaine and Vincent, who were very friendly and lovely to chat to.

Thank you for a perfect stay, we will highly recommend you to all of our friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRAVELLERYEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

All i can say is WOW.
The staff really go above and beyond to ensure that you have a safe and pleasant stay with them. The location is great, out of the town centre but still easy to get to on a tricycle. We visited 4 weeks after the typhoon and there wasn't much damage. The buildings where still beautiful and the outdoor setting was not affected. The rooms are clean and spacious. There are only a few bungalows which is perfect. I am worried as they said they are building more apartments on the ground. I worry as the outside facilities are not large enough for this growth. People come to Sophias to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle. Lets hope their future plans don't destroy the serenity of this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sophiecbowman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Customer service was extraordinary- before and during our stay. The staff were very polite and very attentive but not intrusive. The resort only has 8 bungalows, which is great as it gives the service a more personalised feel. The whole resort is beautifully decorated, from the rooms to the gardens. The restaurant food was delicious and all reasonably priced, a lot cheaper than I expected. Everything about this resort has a feel of a five star/high-end resort but at a more affordable price. This is definitely the place to stay in Coron. If i'm every back there, I'm sure to book here again. Thank you for making my first time in Coron very memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank krispyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
1.7 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Bayside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
16.2 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#1 of 20 in Coron
326 reviews
1.3 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#6 of 20 in Coron
340 reviews
14.1 mi away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophia's Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophia's Garden Resort

Address: 5 Dinagpan Road, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range: £57 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sophia's Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophia's Garden Resort is 40 minutes away from the Busuanga airport and 15 minutes apart from Coron Town. Sophia's has a Spanish type inspired designs. That made the resort special with its 8 deluxe rooms, El Comidor Sophia and bar, a multicolored swimming pool with Jacuzzi, a magnificent El Jardin Sophia and Souvenir Shop. To experience the elegance of Coron, an exclusive place to stay and personalized service visit Sophia's Garden Resort in Coron Palawan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Sophia's Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia's Garden Resort Coron, Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing