We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can always tell when a business is well run...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sophia's Garden Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You can always tell when a business is well run...”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

What a great bunch of people here at Sophia's. When you're so well taken care of the small thing tend to not matter anymore.

Everything from the complimentary pick up from the airport, to the food, to the landscaped gardens just made our stay a memorable one. A shout out to the trip advisor community for rating this resort No.1 in Coron! It's nothing short of that high regard.

We will definitely stay here on our next visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank axepsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    59
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
65
88
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Absolutely a must for me. Good place for prenup. Nice food. I like their restaurant . The pool is romantic. Definitely so clean and serene. The mangroves are soothing. Had breakfast with vice jim last august and definitely a nice play to stay away. Its like living in one of b&b in tagaytay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank J Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muntinlupa City, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

While there may cheaper accommodations in Coron, I decided to book at Sophia's based on reviews here at Tripadvisor. I never regretted that decision.

The garden and the pool is a nice place to relaxed to after a tiring day of trekking from Mt. Tapyas or after full-day of activity from island hopping.

Our room was divine since it well maintained, clean, with basic amenities and the ever polite and attentive staff are always at our beck and call. Best service we experience so far based on on our travels.

We actually enjoyed the fact that we can have breakfast anywhere at the Resort. It can be at the Restaurant, at the garden or at the pool. All you have to do is ask.

If there is one quibble I will have with this place is their spotty internet connection. But hey, if you are vacationing at paradise (which is Coron) one not being in the net should not bother you.

We actually availed of their package (3/d 2/n accommodation including town tour and island tour plus free daily breakfast and 2-way transfer). When I compared our package price from other establishment, the difference is minimal but, definitely, we had the best service and place to stay.

The place appears to be a 'favorite' of foreigners. During our stay, except for us, the rest of the guests are foreigners. By the way, it was fully booked and every time some one checked out there always another guest who will check in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Me and my husband visited Sophia's Garden Resort during our honeymoon in February. We have been travelling quite a lot but we think that the service here is propably the best we have ever met. The staff is just amazing, and they make you feel special - in addition they seem to be really enjoying their work. The garden is romantic in the evenings and the pool area is wonderful in the daytime. We would definitely recommend the hotel for everyone who is staying in Coron. Even the locals in Coron town said that this is the best hotel in Coron - we agree.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 30th at Sophia's. Being avid gardeners, we really appreciated the amount of space and the work put into Sophia's garden oasis. We stayed for 5 days in room #2. I liked the fashionably modern and up-to-date appointments in the bathroom and the attention to details. It did not have the accumulated junk associated with usage. One can see and smell the cleanliness of the room. Having lived in Hilton and Marriott hotels in the US, I thought our bathroom was at par. There are frequent power interruptions in Coron and one would appreciate that Sophia's has generators that power up to supply continuous electricity for the air conditioners. I like the sense of family and security that comes with staying at Sophia's. We enjoyed the quiet ambience and superb staff of Sophia's restaurant in contrast to what was available in town. They will prepare any dish outside the menu given enough time. We booked our Coron activities through Sophia's and the staff was very mindful and prompt with our roundtrip transports. We used the jacuzzi and the pool after a Calauit Safari and it was a great treat. I thought that the staff genuinely cared that visitors had a truly complete and rejuvenating vacation experience. I could not imagine that Darwin, Vincent, Charmaine, Peter and Jeremy are Bachelor in Science graduates majoring in Hotel and Restaurant Management and constantly ready to extend a helping hand. I like the idea that management treats the staff well so that everyone is inspired to do their jobs above and beyond. In the end, it was truly a 5 star experience. By the way, we are booked for our 31st in 2015.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B1LL1F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a fantastic hotel to stay at if you're in Coron for the diving. The hotel is just 5 mins outside but the hotel offers a shuttle service (for a small fee). Rooms are clean, well equipped and overlook the peaceful garden. Food in the restaurant is good but what differentiates this hotel is the excellent service. All of the staff are cheery, helpful and very attentive. Excellent hotel would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 5 onwards is further away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Singbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Sophia's Garden.
The place is well manicured, room was very clean, staff was always smiling (but we noticed that everywhere in Philippines) and ready to help.
The place was quiet and close to the downtown city.
Every time we came back from a tour or a walk they always asked how was it.
Food was good.
My only negative point is that compare to other hotels they don't have their own tricycle to take you to the city or any other place, this will be a real positive point if the hotel decided to have 2 of those for their customers.
Other than that everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XOXO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.2 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
16.2 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#4 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Sangat Island Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Sangat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
14.1 mi away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophia's Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophia's Garden Resort

Property: Sophia's Garden Resort
Address: 5 Dinagpan Rd, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sophia's Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophia's Garden Resort is 40 minutes away from the Busuanga airport and 15 minutes apart from Coron Town. Sophia's has a Spanish type inspired designs. That made the resort special with its 8 deluxe rooms, El Comidor Sophia and bar, a multicolored swimming pool with Jacuzzi, a magnificent El Jardin Sophia and Souvenir Shop. To experience the elegance of Coron, an exclusive place to stay and personalized service visit Sophia's Garden Resort in Coron Palawan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Sophia's Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia's Garden Resort Coron, Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing