We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophia's Garden Resort made our Coron stay memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sophia's Garden Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Sophia's Garden Resort made our Coron stay memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My hubby and I stayed at Sophia's Garden Resort for 3 nights this March 2014. I would like to commend all the staff for making our stay a pleasant one. They are always very accommodating, warm, friendly and attentive. The property is not so big, resort only has 8 rooms but the garden is well kept and clean, pool is ok, and is a nice place to hang out during breakfast and dinner time. Beds and pillows are so comfortable, its so nice to sleep after a tiring day of island hopping and beach bumming.
The only concern is that the room walls are quite thin. We stayed at room 5, and unfortunately on our second night the family that stays beside us is quite loud. But Jeremy apologized to us for that and we told her that it was really not the resorts' fault. Also the cable signal is quite spotty, only a few channels available, but who needs a cable tv while you are on vacation anyway? I would also suggest to add a bit of variety to their menu, but then the food is quite ok. I love the breakfast that they serve on the garden or at the pool side, very relaxing. Wifi is ok, sometimes connection gets lost but overall its ok for checking Facebook and emails. They also charge a minimum of 50 pesos per person for their own van service if you would like a ride to the town proper ( Sophia's is around 5 minutes drive from Coron town proper or Sentro , as the locals call it) They also helped us arrange a boat for our 2 days exclusive island hopping tour ( we were not joined by other guests, we only paid for the boat)
Overall I would definitely recommend this resort to my friends and family who are staying in Coron. Priced a bit above average from the other hotels/ bb's around town but a relaxing stay is guaranteed. Thank you Sophia's!

PS. Malcapuya Island is so beautiful! One of the best beaches I have been to so far. A must visit in Coron. The boat ride is 2 hours though, waves a bit rough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank msdee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    57
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
65
85
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed in this resort for 2 nights. And I could say that this resort really knows how to pamper their guests. The resort itself is not that spectacular if you talk about the facilities/amenities. But what makes them stand-out is their customer service. It seems that their staff are, by nature, kind and happy to be of service (Kudos to Jeremy, who served our breakfast always with a smile, and Darwin, who is always happy to add ice to our bucket). The room is not so big, although it is impeccably clean. It is not soundproof either, as I can hear the footsteps when somebody pass by our room. But due to its size (large garden property), compared to the number of rooms (only 8 rooms as of now) we seldom see other guests. The food is okay, although the choices of food is quite limited. But I really love their pool area specially during the night when the pool is lighted with different glows. I just love our late night dinner by the pool. It's a romantic place, I could say. Although it's a little far from the town, they do arrange shuttle service for a small amount (P50 per person or $1.10 per person). Going back you could take a tricycle for a lower price. Now I know why they are number one here in Coron, even though they are not the most expensive...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roseandthorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

My wife and I selected this resort based on previous reviews and we were not at all disappointed. Where to start? The grounds are large but private, the staff in incredibly friendly and attentive to your needs for a most enjoyable stay. For the few times I had to check on some work, I would go sit at a table in the dining area. With no other guests around at those times, the staff even played music they found out I enjoyed - how thoughtful! Speaking of the dining area, we ate at the restaurant on site a few times both for dinner and lunch. The food selection was good and the food delicious; we especially enjoyed some of the local dishes. Breakfast was excellent and a good portion size. The pool and jacuzzi tub were such a welcomed amenity after a days visit out and about. The rooms were excellent in size and condition, with our AC unit working very well. We enjoyed not being right inside of Coron town which made for a very peaceful retreat. The 5-10 minute tricycle trip into town was never a problem.

With thanks to the whole staff and especially to Charmaine, Jeremy, Peter, Darwin, Vincent, and Boyce Avenue, we would not only stay there again but in fact can hardly wait for our next visit at Sophia's Garden.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest from the main office have lesser Wi-fi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

What a great bunch of people here at Sophia's. When you're so well taken care of the small thing tend to not matter anymore.

Everything from the complimentary pick up from the airport, to the food, to the landscaped gardens just made our stay a memorable one. A shout out to the trip advisor community for rating this resort No.1 in Coron! It's nothing short of that high regard.

We will definitely stay here on our next visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank axepsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Absolutely a must for me. Good place for prenup. Nice food. I like their restaurant . The pool is romantic. Definitely so clean and serene. The mangroves are soothing. Had breakfast with vice jim last august and definitely a nice play to stay away. Its like living in one of b&b in tagaytay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank J Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muntinlupa City, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

While there may cheaper accommodations in Coron, I decided to book at Sophia's based on reviews here at Tripadvisor. I never regretted that decision.

The garden and the pool is a nice place to relaxed to after a tiring day of trekking from Mt. Tapyas or after full-day of activity from island hopping.

Our room was divine since it well maintained, clean, with basic amenities and the ever polite and attentive staff are always at our beck and call. Best service we experience so far based on on our travels.

We actually enjoyed the fact that we can have breakfast anywhere at the Resort. It can be at the Restaurant, at the garden or at the pool. All you have to do is ask.

If there is one quibble I will have with this place is their spotty internet connection. But hey, if you are vacationing at paradise (which is Coron) one not being in the net should not bother you.

We actually availed of their package (3/d 2/n accommodation including town tour and island tour plus free daily breakfast and 2-way transfer). When I compared our package price from other establishment, the difference is minimal but, definitely, we had the best service and place to stay.

The place appears to be a 'favorite' of foreigners. During our stay, except for us, the rest of the guests are foreigners. By the way, it was fully booked and every time some one checked out there always another guest who will check in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Me and my husband visited Sophia's Garden Resort during our honeymoon in February. We have been travelling quite a lot but we think that the service here is propably the best we have ever met. The staff is just amazing, and they make you feel special - in addition they seem to be really enjoying their work. The garden is romantic in the evenings and the pool area is wonderful in the daytime. We would definitely recommend the hotel for everyone who is staying in Coron. Even the locals in Coron town said that this is the best hotel in Coron - we agree.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.2 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
16.2 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#4 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Sangat Island Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Sangat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
14.1 mi away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophia's Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophia's Garden Resort

Property: Sophia's Garden Resort
Address: 5 Dinagpan Rd, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sophia's Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophia's Garden Resort is 40 minutes away from the Busuanga airport and 15 minutes apart from Coron Town. Sophia's has a Spanish type inspired designs. That made the resort special with its 8 deluxe rooms, El Comidor Sophia and bar, a multicolored swimming pool with Jacuzzi, a magnificent El Jardin Sophia and Souvenir Shop. To experience the elegance of Coron, an exclusive place to stay and personalized service visit Sophia's Garden Resort in Coron Palawan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Sophia's Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia's Garden Resort Coron, Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing