We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Corto del Mar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not to be missed.”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My partner and I stayed at Corto Del Mar for 2 nights in a deluxe room.
It's by far the nicest hotel in the town and even though the rooms are around the US$140 a night, we thought it was well worth it.
The hotel is beautifully built using very heavy duty re-cycled timber, magnificent stone work and ornate wrought iron.
It might not be to everyones architectural taste but you can't help but admire the magnificent workmanship, and attention to detail, it wouldn't be out of place in a Spanish colonial town.
Divine large intricately carved Filipino sculptures are abundant.
The hotel surrounds an enormous pool, which is very pleasant. The hotel is actually much nicer in real life than the photos on the internet.
We stayed in a deluxe room on the 2nd floor towards the end of the building, which was very quiet, as the walls are thick making for great insulation from noise and heat.
The hotel has it's own generator which is VERY important in Coron as there are regular "brown outs" or loss of electricity.
The air conditioner, which has it's own thermostat was extremely efficient and cooled the room down in minutes.
The view from our balcony, which looked over the rooves of a small shanty town toward the ocean and mountains, was unusual but quite lovely.
Breakfast was included and was a choice of Filipino, American or Continental, and included fruit juice, coffee, fruit, bacon and eggs and toast.
I couldn't fault the staff. They were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
It's a 3 minute walk to town, and Coron is the cleanest town I've seen in all of Asia.
The hotel has its own dive shop which is very well run. We dived at Barracuda Lake, followed by a reef dive, which we really enjoyed.
The dive shop staff were efficient and professional.
I highly recommend this hotel, and if I return to Coron I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor down the end. Excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunnyBright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    119
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
66
127
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guilin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

the design of this resort is great! we have few nights to relax there, the swimming pool is good too! i think this is the best in town! the staff there are very helpful too! breakfast not bad, location is convenient too. Coron is a nice place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeliz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We're from Manila and I stayed here for 3 nights with friends. The front staff handled our inquiry well by email. When we got there - Bad Wifi signal, almost none in the rooms and dining area, no elevator but it's ok. Filipino breakfast is not so great. They said they have the best pizzas in town but we didn't have time to try and was a bit doubtful because of the breakfast. Loud cricket sounds at night and roosters from the early morning to late morning available (kept me awake all night and morning, but ok if you're a heavy sleeper). Nice big clean rooms but only single beds if you want separate beds. Extra bed is also a cushioned mat on the floor but ok for P650 a night with breakfast. The pool is nice, not heated but not so cold in the evenings (open until 11 pm). They have complimentary toiletries but lack cotton buds (which you need after a day out in the beach). They have complimentary water to drink but you would have to request every day. Hot & cold water available in the showers and sink but you cannot control it (mostly super hot comes out). Better to hang your clothes dry outside your front door than the balcony. There were also several blackouts although I'm not sure if it was the whole town and it turned the airconditioning off (control is near the door so you would have to get up all the time). No credit cards accepted, only cash at the moment. Actually, I think it's better than other inns in Coron Town since it's new and the area outside the rooms (like the poolside and restaurant) is big - looks like an international hotel (owned by a French I think). Almost to that standard except for my considerations above (maybe around 3-star). We were glad to be back the hotel after a long day of island hopping and were thankful to have the time to lounge at the pool. For the price, you're paying for the location (tricycle available outside or walkable to town and the market), modern feel, free airport shuttle service and clean linens. If the airport van driver is fast like ours, you can reach the Busuanga airport in 30 to 45 minutes (sit in the front rows to avoid feeling dizzy). If you want a more native feel, peace & quiet and you have an afternoon or evening flight back, you can stay in island resorts in Coron (you would have to take a boat ride though before the land arrangement to the airport). If you'd rather stay in town, Corto del Mar is not bad but share the room with more friends to make the price reasonable;)

Room Tip: We stayed at the rooms on the right side (see my account of what happened above). They gave us an &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelodyCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Had a great 3 nights stay in Corto del Mar with friends and relatives. This hotel is located in Coron town so it's very accessible by tricycles (P10.00 per pax). This is a 3 story hotel without elevator. Hotel staffs are friendly and except for some confusion that we experience on check-in and the loud sound of the generator (Coron has rotation brown outs, but this hotel has generator so they have 24 hours power) which was unfortunately situated below our 2nd floor room, everything is just great. Rooms are clean with the basic toilet amenities. Take note that they dont replace the toiletries and mineral water unless you request for it. We were upgrade to executive suite so our room was really big and has wooden floors. Room consists of one queen bed and one single bed. Beds are very comfortable with very soft and nice bed sheets and great pillows, too! Corto del Mar has a restaurant and offers very good breakfast and we were hooked with their sooo delicious pizzas at reasonable prices, too. We dined there for the 3 nights that we stayed. We made used of their swimming pool everyday after our island hopping tours. The front desk staff were also very accomodating in letting us bring towels for our day tours.

Room Tip: Rooms in the ground floor facing the swimming pool are great for those who want to use the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tetreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Spent 4 nights in the hotel. The reception is ok and very helpful.
Our room is spacious, we booked a standard room but gave us the superior may be the reason for the room to more spacious.
Breakfast is typical Philippine hotels from American to local Filipino breakfast. Can't say much about lunch or dinner since there isn't much to choose from but it is almost the same for all of Coron. There's no proper dining place which you can define the place or worthy of a good review. Back to the hotel food, taste is OK but could have been better.
Another thing that they need is to do more regarding the booking for island hopping and snorkling reservations. I think they only have a single tie-up partner which is the Calamian Travel and Tours (which is OK if you are able to get in there trips). If they don't have a trip during that day please advise another travel group to let there guest join.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dasmariñas, Cavite, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I was a little miffed when my brother (who made arrangements with the hotel and all our travel itinerary) said that he had trouble getting a prompt response from the hotel management, so i had reservations regarding our stay at first but my worries were non-existent. when we arrived, the staff were all smiles and greets us warmly, in the four days and three nights we stayed in this hotel, i often saw the owner himself going around the lobby, dining room, and kitchen checking and conversing with the guests and staff showing that he's really involved in the day to day basis running of his hotel. the ambiance of the hotel is two thumbs up, i'm guessing they spent millions of pesos to build it. all chairs, tables, ceilings, walls, floors are of hard and high quality timbers. there are murals of the sea and sea creatures and sculptures made from wood all around the hotel which was amazing to look at. also, the service is really awesome. the staff will do their best to make sure your stay and your vacation is comfortable as well as memorable. also, the hotel's policy is very lenient. we were supposed to check-out at 11am but due to our flight being around 4pm in the afternoon, they let us check out at 2pm with no charge. they didn't even check if the room was okay and everything's there before we left - talk about trust huh?! i love it here. if it wasn't a plane ride away from where i live, i'd probably spend every vacation i have there. price is worth it!!!

Room Tip: pool view is better. sea view is not really a good choice since the hotel is located at the heart of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

after spending 17000 peso +- and staying for 4 nights, when i really needed someone from hotel to pick me up from jetty and send me to the ER, i was told that i don't stay here... the true owner and manager are great hosts but the co-manager and the ground staff are horrible...

apparently even if you pay full amount, if you don't speak tagalog or get into wrong page with the mangers, they can throw you out into the street like you are nobody while you are bleeding all over....

i'm still waiting for the manager and staff to give me an explanation and apology if not refund as they've ignored my plead to meet at the local pulis for statement over 10 times....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank piggydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
1.1 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
15.9 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Sangat Island Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Sangat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
0.2 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#5 of 20 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
15.2 mi away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corto del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corto del Mar Hotel

Property: Corto del Mar Hotel
Address: Comeseria Street | Barangay 1, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Corto del Mar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corto del Mar hotel is located in the heart of Coron town on the island of Busuanga in the north of Palawan. The hotel and its 32 bedrooms and suites have been decorated with taste and character giving the hotel a unique blend of Mediterranean and Filipino feel. With beautiful views over Coron Island, it's a great place to go explore the gems around whether on banka or motorbike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corto del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corto Del Mar Hotel Coron, Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing