We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed our stay in this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coron Westown Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay in this hotel.”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

From the other reviews I have read, it seems that the hotel staff have already learned from their past mistakes...at least the majority of it, I suppose.

Everyone was so accommodating and the staff immediately attended to our needs. Housekeeping was able to promptly set up the extra bed in our room. Maintenance came shortly after I asked for one, to check on the shower door that wouldn't close.

I love the spacousness of the room and bath area. The toilet had several hooks and towel racks, plus a clothes line to dry bathing suits. And there's another clothes line on the veranda!!! ;)

The food is reasonably priced, so we did not have to leave the hotel to eat elsewhere. Food during the buffet dinner and breakfast may be limited but the taste is alright. The appetizers (specifically the cheese sticks and fries) are great for pica-pica at the poolside! You just have to have them covered with cling wrap or anything to keep the flies (at daytime) away. Other than that, I would say that it's a hotel worth staying in to relax while away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DICViloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WengCheng, Admin-OIC at Coron Westown Resort, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write an enthusiastic review about your recent stay with us.
It is pleasing to know how much you enjoyed your stay and was satisfied with the services we render. The Restaurant consistently provides food of good quality and taste as well as value for money. This satisfaction is very important for us and I will be glad to share your comments with the entire staff.
We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    188
    85
    19
    21
See reviews for
137
146
13
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We booked a 3 nights stayed in this Hotel. The Hotel itself is nice! The rooms are spacious, the pools are nice. But the staff are quite poor! The Service is just terrible , if you ask for help nothing will happen! Badly trained in General , from Front Desk to the Breakfast staff! . My daughter got ill during our stay, I asked the front Desk to help me find a doctor, hours after nothing happened and when I called they just told me . . . . oh We didn't find a doctor! just one example of bad Service. Breakfast . . . 8 or more People working in the Restaurants but they are all Standing around, we have to wave them each time we Need something.
The cleanliness of this Hotel is also terrible, during our 4 days stayed, we noticed on the stairs dirt on the same spot not clean, on the Dining area you see hairs on the floor. The lift was also disgusting you see Hand prints all over and the smell is just faulty. When you go out of the Hotel you see trash all over and it's been there for days .
I hope this Hotel could improve their Service rather sooner than later.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyleneKern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we had a cancelled flight so the airline transferred us here at WESTOWN, yeah the rooms and amenities were great, but then when we are going to have our dinner the staff made all of us look like we were idiots, they were not trained enough to handle situations like this(cancelled flights) it took us forever to have our dinner (it was free) we also ordered besides our FREE FOOD but the staff totally did not listen to us and we had to wait a long time and nothing came! to make matters worst the front desk told us to give up our room because the REAL occupants are coming!, good thing we agreed because the hotel where they transferred us was way better in terms of EVERYTHING! will never recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROXYLADY29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WengCheng, Admin-OIC at Coron Westown Resort, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission in this industry, and we apologize that we fell short on your expectations. We are very sorry that we were not able to accommodate you due to the sudden big volume of cancelled flight passengers of two airlines at that time. Moreover, we do not have enough staff at that time to accommodate everyone in that unexpected circumstance. We have been trying our best to cope with the situation to provide accommodation to every guest.

We hope you will us another chance to be of service to you and your guests.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our flight was cancelled and Philippine Airlines (PAL) booked this hotel for all displaced passengers. We checked in and my family was assigned to two rooms. We settled in, ordered room service (our voluntary expense) and took a nap, glad that the airport ordeal was over. Two hours later PAL knocked on our doors, asking if we were willing to move to another hotel because front desk made an error; they've given us rooms that were pre-booked by other guests who were arriving late that evening. We explained how inconvenienced we were already, and they agreed and left us to rest. Ten minutes later front desk harasses my children in the other room, and when I called front desk to clarify, Ivy, the manager insisted that we should move to another hotel. She also threatened that PAL has refused to settle the expense of our stay should we refuse to move. What sort of hotel chooses to drag its sleeping customers out of their beds in favor of guests who have yet to arrive, instead of upgrading the incoming guests to a suite for the evening? It was their error in booking management after all. We asked why the other passengers were not asked to move. Ivy lied and said that most passengers have already moved. This was false. While a few have agreed to move, most of our other companions were not moving, they were having dinner! We again clarified the issue with PAL representative, stating that the hotel had no right to tell us PAL would not settle. PAL apologized and rectified the situation, ensuring that the rest of our stay was trouble free. No apologies were offered by front desk. Westown management has forgotten that though we were accidental customers that evening, we are also potential future customers. Their shabby treatment of guests is discouraging. We would not be returning to this hotel again, nor would we recommend it to others.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank yvette064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WengCheng, Admin-OIC at Coron Westown Resort, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We want to thank you for your feedback. We strive to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it’s apparent that in this case we fell short. We apologize that we have been overbooked due to the sudden big volume of cancelled flight passengers of two airlines and also we do not have enough staff at that time to accommodate everyone. We have been trying our best to cope with the instant situation to provide accommodation to every guest .
We hope that in the future you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to serve you well.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Westown Resort for a week in Dec/Jan.
The hotel itself is nice and modern. But the staff attitude and service was terrible.
This is what we encountered -
Front desk staff - they ignore or forget requests and mess up bookings
Restaurant staff - they are poorly trained, slow and fairly lazy
Bar staff - the drinks aren't cold at all so they put ice in your beer!
Housekeeping staff - forget to clean rooms, and if requested still don't do it
Management - there appears to be no management or supervisors present.
For this poor service it is still expensive. Many other guests we spoke to had the same opinion.
Yes its a version of "Fawlty Towers" in Coron Palawan!!

If you go to Coron the island tours and snorkling are great (although a bit disorganised).
The tricycle drivers are great and going to/from town each day is great fun in the tricycle.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shizuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Coron Westown Resort. The room was beautiful and clean with a nice view of the pool and sea (I paid more for a room with a balcony). It was easy to get a tricycle into Coron town. I also recommend the Island Escapade tour which can be booked through the hotel.

Most of the service was good, the reception staff were just a little unreliable. For example, during my stay:

- I was charged twice for airport pick-up (this was quickly fixed).
- The name on my friends' room was incorrect
- A tour booking was made for 1 person, not 3 people as requested
- The transfer back to the airport was not organised despite having been booked and already paid for. When I enquired about it with reception they found someone to drive me to the airport. I made it with just 5 minutes to spare before check-in closed!

It was also hard to find the airport van at the airport on arrival (there was no sign so I had to ask someone).

These are just some things to be aware of to make your stay more enjoyable. I would still recommend this resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inoshishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WengCheng, Admin-OIC at Coron Westown Resort, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I am truly thrilled to read how much you appreciate the location of the hotel and our rooms, however we do apologize for some setbacks from our front office team you experienced along the way. There is no excuse for the minor mistakes that took place. Please accept our sincerest apologies. We would like to look into these issues to determine why these things happened.

We are looking very much forward to welcoming you back.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Beautiful resort hotel in Coron, great pools, large room with balcony, king size bed available, small but adequate gym with good equipment, friendly and efficient pool staff but not so great food..very .poor breakfast and other meals were not great! Much better food elsewhere! Island hopping is great especially Kayangan Lake!

Room Tip: Premium room overlooking pool...nice view of mountains and sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogfre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WengCheng, admin-OIC at Coron Westown Resort, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your wonderful review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us. We were touched to read your kind words towards our hotel. will be most pleased to share your rewarding comments with my teams. However, we apologize that we fell short on your dining experience, rest assured your comments wii be brought up to our F&B team for improvement.
We are looking very much forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
17.3 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
2.3 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#4 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#5 of 20 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
8.7 mi away
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Sangat Island Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Sangat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coron Westown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coron Westown Resort

Property: Coron Westown Resort
Address: Brgy. Poblacion 6 Dipulao Brg, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coron Westown Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the premier resorts and ideal conference destinations in Coron, Palawan, Coron Westown Resort offers a captivating blend of Filipino culture and contemporary sophistication just 5 minutes from downtown Coron or a 25-minute ride from Busuanga Airport. Indulge yourself in the great pleasures of the grandest resort in Coron, Palawan. It may be the awe-inspiring uniquely landscaped gardens– that greet you upon arrival, sprawling swimming pools for your relaxation, or perhaps it will be the 80 beautifully appointed guest rooms so lavish that they exceed all expectations.Succumb to the serenity of our Spa, be swept up in the ambiance of the Pool Bar & KTV Lounge, or savor delightful cuisine at the Restaurant. For special occasions, weddings or conferences, you’ll enjoy the biggest air-conditioned venue in Coron, that can accommodate up to 300 pax and services that are second to none. We aim in providing genuine, friendly care and comfort to our guests with touches of elegance and outstanding customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coron Westown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coron Westown Resort Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing