We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the place and the service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coron Westown Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coron Westown Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the place and the service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for five days and four nights (Holy Week) and we just got back to Manila. Coron is LOVELY and our vacation was made LOVELIER because of our stay in this hotel. The staff are very helpful, attentive, friendly and polite. I asked for several information about the local places and which tour to get and they gave me helpful tips (even if I didn't get it from them). Our room was always clean, sheets and towels fresh everyday. We had a view of the pool at the 4th floor and waking up each morning to see the nature was a bliss. The bathroom (which is always part of my criteria in rating hotels) was spacious and well lit. The facilities I have no complain and yes, a modern elevator. Nice. Food is very reasonably priced. We had an excellent food service although we heard several guests complaining about how slow their order came or the food served wasn't what they ordered. Well, we were lucky. Hubby checked out the breakfast buffet and was a little disappointed for everything looked like they came from canned goods. If there's one area that needs improvement, it's this. Overall? I will gladly go back and I will still recommend this hotel to my friends and co-workers. By the way, I already did on my FB. :) Thanks, Coron Westown for taking good care of us. I seriously hope you maintain your quality over time. God bless the staff and Happy Easter! :)

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the pool. Very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WengCheng, Admin-OIC at Coron Westown Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a great review following your recent stay with us at Coron Westown Resort. I was so pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I was delighted that we met your expectations, but we are terribly disappointed to hear about your dining experience during breakfast, the F&B Department is addressing your comments and will make improvements on our Breakfast Menu. We hope to welcome you in Coron again!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    179
    79
    19
    19
See reviews for
131
139
13
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
169 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We moved to this hotel at the eve before the typhoon Yolanda hit Coron. And we were really bslessed that we did. It offered as a safe shelter to weather the storm. Our room didnt experience damage though the hotel lobby, dining and conference facilities were severely damaged. The staff at the night of the storm really worked hard to make sure that we were all safe and even provided food. The following day even with the severely damaged restaurant they served us all free food. As we were stuck at Coron for a couple more days, they made sure to clean up all debris and even cleaned the swimming pool to make sure that we stay comfortable. Kudos to the hotel staff and management. They were tireless in serving the needs of the customers then.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

my family stayed at the hotel for 3 nights, and i would say that we had a wonderful time at the hotel while we were enjoying our adventures at Coron. The hotel is nice since it is far from the busy streets of the town, you will not be hearing a lot of vehicles from the streets. what i don't like however is the food in their cafeteria which i will give a separate review.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lonetraveller1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

If you're looking for real comforts of a hotel in Coron, this is one of the top choices.

Location
The hotel is located further up town, 10 minutes away by van or trike to the usual jump-off point of island tours in the town proper. 35-45 minutes from the airport.

Pros
1. Great service, most staff are attentive and always smiling.
2. Great spacious rooms with good views, good lighting, comfortable bed, spacious bathrooms.
3. Great pools, good for adults and kids. They have a pool that's really deep (more than 10 feet I guess), good for those testing their diving gear.
4. Elevators are always part of my criteria in judging hotels, and I was surprised to see they have a real modern one!
5. Reasonable rates with good value.
6. Food is reasonably priced with good serving size.
7. Hotel in general has good facilities and furniture.

Cons
1. Terrible booking management! (More of that further below)
2. Food borderlines mediocre.
3. Confusing tricycle rates.
4. No WiFi / paid WiFi.

Booking Management
We availed of a package that involves their Premiere Deluxe Room (the best room type) for a special occasion. I have called 2 1/2 months ahead of our trip to book this. I called about 7 times, reconfirming my reservation each and every time, requesting for an email with deposit information, all of which would end with them telling me they will be sending it, or they have an issue with their internet connection. I also sent around 7 text messages to follow up each of those times, and was only replied to ONCE.

Two weeks before our check-in date, I called again only to be told that they can only give me the Premiere Deluxe Room for 2 out of 3 nights because it was already booked by someone else too. This was upsetting because out of the numerous times I called them, no one bothered to tell me this. I was given the impression that the room was booked by the other party earlier than me, which is hard to believe, mainly because I called them again and again in a span of two months confirming this room. I decided not to make much of a fuzz out of it and just accepted a downgrade to a Premiere Room which they argued the only difference was it didn't have a bathtub, but the truth is, it isn't just that.

On top of that, they found it so difficult to allow us to check out an hour later (which they eventually gave), despite the room downgrade which was easily a P1,500 value that we lost.

Don't get me wrong, I have nothing against the staff but obviously, their booking management and consideration to guests should be improved.

Overall, would have rated this 4 stars if I didn't experience issues with the booking. I hope they maintain the hotel well over the coming years.

Room Tip: Rooms in 3rd and 4th floors facing the pool have good views. Premiere Deluxe Room is worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Disso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were booked 9mos ago to Busuanga Island Paradise but due to damages left by Yolanda typhoon, Agoda advised us that BIP is currently incapable of receiving guests and had to be transferred to Coron Westown. This hotel did not disappoint. We had a lovely stay at their handsome, clean, well-lit, elegant room. The entire establishment was impressive and tasteful and I find their swimming pools really inviting. Staff were polite and very accommodating and management was generous enough in affirming our few requests.

I just had some reservations about the food. The prices are reasonable yet the taste and quality seems compromised. To be specific, I just think it's weird to find bell pepper and ginger in my Sinigang and hope it was more "maasim". We ordered this as our lunch in our first day after a long travel and it could've been heavenly comforting if it were more maasim. For dinner, I had Salt n Pepper Pork but the salty part was so prominent I was able to consume 4 glasses of water to wash it down. Then we also had Vegetarian Pizza in our second night and we think that potato strips and carrots don't go well as one of the toppings. Stick with the basics - tomato sauce topped with fresh tomatoes, onions, black olives and green bell pepper then nothing can go wrong with generous helpings of mozzarella cheese.

Lastly, breakfast buffet should also go with some vegetable and non-fried white meat options. My partner is not really a vegan but due to medical condition, it is best for him to avoid red meat and oily/fatty food. Since there is not much of an option for him, all he could savor was the ultra plain omelet and that was a marginalized meal for a buffet set-up. On our last day though, we ordered Chopseuy and Pinakbet for our lunch and got surprised how pleasant these two were. Also, we enjoyed some of their options like grilled chicken sandwich, shrimp pasta and strawberry shake.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryanghostling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Our group stayed here in 4 rooms for 3 nights in Feb 2014. The resort is clean, new, with nice furnishings, large pools, and beautiful views. The resort is well maintained with attentive staff. You can get to downtown via tricycle w/ 5-10 min ride. The resort has a restaurant and bar. The food is good, especially breakfast, pizzas, and pastas.

There is wifi in the lobby but the signal is poor. You can buy wifi at the restaurant for a cheap price of 100 pesos for 12 hours and it will give you better internet connection.

We had the hotel arrange our 3 day tours with a local company. Make sure you ask the front desk what to expect in each day of tour because it was not provided to us. The first day we didn't know that there was a hike involved & swimming in a hot springs, otherwise we would have been prepared to bring shoes & change of clothes. The snorkeling in different islands were outstanding & unforgettable.

The resort is not near the beach. However being near a beach is not necessary since you do a lot of swimming in the tours. The hotel is 20 min away from the airport. There is a hotel shuttle and they are attentive.

Overall, I give this hotel 4 1/2 stars and would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deegigolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel is new, clean, and impressive looking. The landscaping was bit tacky though and poorly done. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. All appliances, sockets, and lights were in working condition. They had 3 well maintained swimming pools.

There is free wifi only in the lobby and part of the coffee shop. If you want wifi in your room you have to buy it for PHP 100 for 12 hours. There is no Smart signal where the hotel is located so bring a Globe phone if you need to be accessible.

The food though is so uninspired. I ordered a burger when I arrived, it took too long to prepare and was served cold. The servers were gracious and polite but not trained well. They were also unfamiliar with the menu items and had to go back to the kitchen several times when I asked about certain dishes. The breakfast buffet was one of the worst I have encountered. The coffee served with the buffet was so watery I thought it was tea! They even served canned tuna on our last day there. For PHP 250 per head, this is a rip off.

The tricycles, which is the major mode of transportation in Coron charges PHP 50.00 per head if you are billeted at Westown. Normally, it should only be PHP 15.00. Why the hotel management encourages this (they have the rates posted on the front desk) is beyond me.

If the food and beverage management improves, this would be a good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urduja1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
1.4 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
17.2 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.3 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#4 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
8.8 mi away
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Sangat Island Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Sangat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#5 of 20 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coron Westown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coron Westown Resort

Property: Coron Westown Resort
Address: 6 Sitio Dipulao, Brgy. Poblacion, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coron Westown Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the premier resorts and ideal conference destinations in Coron, Palawan, Coron Westown Resort offers a captivating blend of Filipino culture and contemporary sophistication just 5 minutes from downtown Coron or a 25-minute ride from Busuanga Airport. Indulge yourself in the great pleasures of the grandest resort in Coron, Palawan. It may be the awe-inspiring uniquely landscaped gardens– that greet you upon arrival, sprawling swimming pools for your relaxation, or perhaps it will be the 80 beautifully appointed guest rooms so lavish that they exceed all expectations.Succumb to the serenity of our Spa, be swept up in the ambiance of the Pool Bar & KTV Lounge, or savor delightful cuisine at the Restaurant. For special occasions, weddings or conferences, you’ll enjoy the biggest air-conditioned venue in Coron, that can accommodate up to 300 pax and services that are second to none. We aim in providing genuine, friendly care and comfort to our guests with touches of elegance and outstanding customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Coron Westown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coron Westown Resort Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing