We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coron Westown Resort
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The first few minutes of my stay, the word "adequate" is all I could think of to describe the hotel.

Yes, the hotel's edifice that greets you is impressive, especially when you've surfed what else is available in town. It looked like a proper 2-3-star hotel that was new. However, when I was told how one had to pay for certain amenities that came standard in the 2 prior hotels I stayed in just a month ago, the atmosphere to my mind, turned to that of a budget hotel.

Shuttle to and from the airport has to be paid. There was no free shuttle into and out of town. Either you wait for their van to be available and pony up 300 pesos for it, or call a tricycle and pay 30 pesos per person for the bumpy 15 minute ride.

However, as the hours went by, the place warmed up to me.

The room we stayed in, a premium room, was spacious- more than enough for my family of four. Since it came with just a King-sized bed, we had an extra bed installed for 1,500 pesos per night. The toilet and bath was very spacious, too.

The room was adequately appointed, outfitted with a Flat TV, mini-fridge and a window-type air-conditioner. Since the hotel is relatively new, all the furnishings were new and, most importantly, that meant the aircon worked really well in cooling the room.

Also on the plus side, the bed and pillows were comfortable. Plus, they give you a free 500ml bottle of water per person per day.

On the other hand, almost all the amenities that they supplied, save for the soap, were poor. I'd advise people considering this place to bring their own shampoo and toothbrush. To nitpick further, the reception of the cable TV, which was supposed to be in HD, was also poor ('snowy').

The breakfast buffet had a good selection that was updated everyday. Know that it included an egg station, if that's important to you. Just don't expect the food to be delicious lest you want to prime yourself for a disappointment. It was good enough to start your day.

The biggest disappointment though was the location. I knew from the start what I was signing up for - a 15 minute tricycle ride into and out of town. However, thinking about it during the planning stage and actually experiencing it are two, very different things.

First, you have to contend with the cramped, bumpy ride that I always associated with tricycles and, the ones in Coron were no exception.

Two, you had to deal with the cost. At 30 pesos per head per way, hotel into town and vice-versa, our family of 4 had to pay 120 pesos. This increased to 40 pesos per way, 160 pesos for us four, when we traveled beyond 8:00pm. Our cost doubled when we would come in tired from a whole day out swimming, go to Coron Westown to bathe and freshen up, then head out again for dinner at 6:30-7:00 pm.

But there was an upside to all this tricycle riding- we met a helpful young tricycle driver who gave us his cellphone number. We would text him if we needed a ride, no matter if it's at 7:00am or 8:30pm, and he'd be there in a short while. We're glad all our transportation money went to him (520 pesos x 2 days).

To be fair, almost all the staff of Coron Westside we interacted with were nice, helpful and accommodating. Special mention goes to Dino of the concierge station who was very informative on places to go.

But then, almost everyone else we met in Coron were nice, helpful and accommodating.

Coron and its environs, as I have just discovered, is a great place that I would love to come back to. Though the next time, if Coron Westown still doesn't offer a regularly scheduled shuttle to and from town (even hourly would be fine), I'd probably look for lodging elsewhere. Somewhere near town preferably.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor facing the southwest have balconies that open directly to the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank i_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

The resort is very good, but its in the middle of nowhere, so if you get bored its a ten minute trike ride into town. Getting a trike can take a while, especially mid afternoon. Apart from that its a great place to stay. It has 3 pools which are open well into the night. Haven't been swimming under a full moon for a long time, so romantic. Food in the restaurant was good and well priced. Some of the staff don't seem to know what to do, but they are always helpful. Good view from the balcony of our spacious room. Big comfortable bed and plenty of hot water in the shower.
Organised several trips to the islands, great value for money and some of the best snorkelling I've done in a long time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandpiper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great hotel, rooms, pool, cleanliness etc- food good...........However............

This hotel is some 3km+ outside the town (too far to walk & getting a trike difficult)- they should have a regular shuttle bus.

This hotel caters mainly for 'package' tourists, evident by the amount of tour buses always at the lobby, as opposed to independent travelers.

The rates- 3,800 p/nite promo for cheapest room is quite expensive enough. I cannot see many paying the full 5,800 php price for a hotel in Coron- breakfast not included!)-These are Manila/high season Borecay prices!

Staff could do with better training.-
I got the usual "item not available" from restaurant staff, 20mins after I had ordered (why they could not have told me right there & then?)
& twice I ordered a trike the day before, to take me into town early morning for scuba diving, & twice this was ignored.

Their generator was very noisy. - This bizarrely situated below the restaurant & next to the outside lounge/bar area (as opposed to far away & out of site). Despite a sign saying "keep this door closed at all times" on the generator room, -the door was kept wedged open all the time.
The generator seemed to be running most of the time!- Does Coron have a serious power shortage problem?

This not intended to be a negative review,- just consider what your location & hotel preferences/requirements' are before booking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrGrimsdale025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This is really a good hotel when you're in Coron, although it's far from the Coron town proper this hotel has such a good value for your buck$. The staff are always helpful the buffet is good,the food selections are good, the rooms are clean, the pools.... yeah we really had fun time in the pool. The view from the front was unforgettable especially during sunrise and sunset. Highly recommend and we will stay here again on our next Coron adventure.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ed t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We transferred to this hotel after 2 nights in town because our previous
hotel's generator could only manage lights and electric fan. It's important to mention that brownouts are a way of life in Coron and they happen several times a night for various periods of time. This hotel's 24 hour genset (for aircon) was why we transferred here. The facilities are ok, pools are clean and restaurant is basic. Food is not great so we chose to go back to town and eat in the local restaurants. The hotel is a good 15 minute trike ride from the center of town and from the pier, where all island hopping tours jump off. One last thing I should mention is that housekeeping needs a lot of improvement. When we first entered our room the first day, I noticed that the bed sheets were not ironed and very wrinkled. I don't know if they even changed it from the previous occupant's. Next, I killed a baby cockroach in the room and the next day, after the room was cleaned, it was still in the same spot. Meaning, the floor was not swept. There are also a lot of ants that get into any food in the room.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank mariamiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Got a tour package in Coron in March this year for two which includes transfers, accommodation (superior/ premium room, pool side), breakfast, all-in private tour package to explore the island. Our stay and experienced was magnificent! It's our first time in the town and it was priceless!

Room Tip: Choose the top most and pool side room, the sunset is wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aureojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WengCheng, Admin-OIC at Coron Westown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am thrilled to read that you had a great experience with us at Coron Westown Resort! I am also glad that you enjoyed the tours you have selected for your Coron trip.

We will look forward to welcoming you back at Coron Westown Resort.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

20-25 min away from Busuanga airport.
Pros: Food is good. Friendly hotel staff. Spacious room and bathroom. The awesome pool is very inviting with warm water.

Cons: wifi connection not really good in our room, pay like 100php (one device) for 12hrs of on and off connection. Power supply goes on and off too.

All in all we had a great stay in this hotel, nothing much to complaint.

Just Keep up the great service most definitely recommended in Coron

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jah_ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
1.6 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
Asia Grand View Hotel
#10 of 20 in Coron
203 reviews
2.7 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Bayside Hotel
12.9 mi away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
224 reviews
2.3 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#6 of 20 in Coron
333 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#1 of 20 in Coron
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coron Westown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coron Westown Resort

Address: Brgy. Poblacion 6 Dipulao Brg, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range: £55 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coron Westown Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the premier resorts and ideal conference destinations in Coron, Palawan, Coron Westown Resort offers a captivating blend of Filipino culture and contemporary sophistication just 5 minutes from downtown Coron or a 25-minute ride from Busuanga Airport. Indulge yourself in the great pleasures of the grandest resort in Coron, Palawan. It may be the awe-inspiring uniquely landscaped gardens– that greet you upon arrival, sprawling swimming pools for your relaxation, or perhaps it will be the 80 beautifully appointed guest rooms so lavish that they exceed all expectations.Succumb to the serenity of our Spa, be swept up in the ambiance of the Pool Bar & KTV Lounge, or savor delightful cuisine at the Restaurant. For special occasions, weddings or conferences, you’ll enjoy the biggest air-conditioned venue in Coron, that can accommodate up to 300 pax and services that are second to none. We aim in providing genuine, friendly care and comfort to our guests with touches of elegance and outstanding customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Coron Westown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coron Westown Resort Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing