We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Last Frontier” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of KokosNuss Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
KokosNuss Garden Resort
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Last Frontier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I normally don't bother writing reviews on here but after reading some of the comments below i feel it necessary !

I don't know if any of the people who have written some of the reviews below realise this, but Palawan/Coron is known as the 'last frontier' which means this is not the place to go for pedicures, fine champagne and 'soft/expensive' toilet roll. If this is what you are looking for STAY AWAY!

However, if, like me you relish going to parts of the world that are uncommercialized, beautiful and a little ruff around the edges, then Coron is definitely somewhere you should go. I have visited Coron 3 times now and by far one of my favourite places to stay here is Kokosnuss, where stopped 2 months ago. I normally stop at Pat & Tezz's guesthouse which is so cool but they were full, so tried Kokosnuss which was a little more expensive but well worth it. There was still a little damage from the terrible typhoons they had endured but this did not detract from the beauty of the place and the mellow atmosphere. The staff are great and so eager to please, the food was a lot nicer than most places in Coron and the accommodation is cosy and comfortable. Yes we had a few blackouts while i was there but so did all of Coron, and you know what, I think that adds a little bit more to the whole adventure of getting off the well beaten track !
And as for gheckos in your room making themselves 'audibly known every night' OMG, this is Asia gods sake, either grow some or stop at Club Med !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Neil025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    39
    26
    22
    12
See reviews for
10
60
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmö
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very nice place just outside of the noisy town. Only a 2 min with a tricykle or 10 min walk to reach town center. Restaurat have very good food and service was great. We have found paradise on this earth!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This place has improved a lot since my first stay 2 years ago.
Well worth a visit, please ignore all previous negative reviews. I certainly give this place thumbs up, set in a pleasant surrounding of trees and greenery. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

With regard to the comment about no television, power outages and darkness. This is Coron, this is whats is expected of rural island life and this is what draws people to these locations. If you want power, TV and lighting then avoid places like Coron. I can confirm that this resort does have a back up generator unlike many other places in Coron.

You should also remember to pack a torch, its second nature when travelling. Transport 20mins late, come on are you having a laugh, that was early by Philippine standards! You were lucky if you flight was not cancelled as that happens regularly in the Philippines.

This is a great peaceful resort that offers good value for money. I will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank on_da_edge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Suède
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel 1 night.
It feels nice to be a bit away from the noisy Coron town. It is just outside town, you pay the tricycle 10 pesos per person which is nothing!
The garden is quite nice and peaceful with a small pool to put your feet and legs at the end of the day, it is quite refreshing.
The room was ok. The airconditionning was VERY noisy but we couldn't do without, so we didn't hear anything else than the aircon...
It is good to stay 1-2 days but maybe not more, depending of course on what you are looking for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amandine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Where do I start? Escorted to our room, opened the door and bed had gecko crap right on top. That same gecko that had taken up residence in the upper rafters of our room made his presence audibly known every night. This place is still recovering from last years typhoon and it shows. No television reception for the entire 7 nights and frequent power outages. The kitchen carries zero soft drinks as I don't drink alcohol. Canned juice, coffee and filtered water only. My room was way back on the property and there were no lights at night illuminating the path to my room which led me to stubbing my toe on the concrete curb. When I asked they said the lights were off to reduce the load on the generator. I brought my own (soft/expensive) toilet tissue but housekeeping decided they liked it better and it disappeared on the 1st cleaning. Asked to have it returned but that never happened. The vehicle arranged by the hotel to take us to the airport on departure was 20 minutes late. Everything is overpriced. The identical breakfast meal offered here is available at Sea Dive resort for 90 pesos less and the Sea Dive restaurant sets on the water with a view to the islands. Won't be returning to this place.

Room Tip: Find another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OWSI-PADI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coron hotels

Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

May 23, 2012 We stayed here on the last night of our 6-day stay in Busuanga, Coron. It is about a kilometer away from the center of town, perhaps even less. But far enough from the noise and crowd. The staff does not wait around for you or clean up after you but if you ask them to do something, they jump right on it. They don't have the best garden but it was clean and there's enough space to move around. It's not the best place to stay but compared to where we were staying the last 4 nights, we regret not having stayed here instead.

Do I recommend the place to others? Yes
Am I willing to go back to this place? Sure, the place seems okay.

Room Tip: We were initially offered a room without a sink in the bathroom. This was not a huge issue but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We booked 2 nights but stayed for a night only on first week of Mar 2013, then moved out! This is a dead garden! The only green when we were there was the leaves of the coconut trees and several other talls trees. There was a goat running inside the resort, dead leaves are all over the ground, our room was dusty, bed sheet was not clean, as if they were really not expecting guests to arrive. We have to wait for the lady in charge in the reception bec she's in the market. They transfer us in a bigger room but there's no ref also. We were given welcome drink only after we complain. I bought water and softdrink and someone told me I can get it from the cooler and noticed that it was dirty and the bottle is already slimy. very few choices. The water of the small pool is not clear. The resort staff are not dressed appropriately. They have dirty fountain near entrance. They placed their carpentry area near the rooms, open, an eye soar to guests. We were able to talked to the front office staff lunch time, we were told that the owners were not there but in Manila thats why some problems are not addressed, that Coron does not have so much supply of water thats why its difficult for them to maintain the garden, but when we looked at other resorts in Coron, they have nice garden. She even informed us to check the resort first before we pay on line. We ate lunch and dinner in other hotel that day. The next morning, when we checked-out, there's one lady sweeping dead leaves at the entrance. There were good comments about Kokosnuss I've read before we go but when you get at the resort, its not true. Sometimes, paying online is really frustrating. To those who will travel for the first time in Coron, you have so many choices. The islands of Coron are so beautiful, you will enjoy them

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.7 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#5 of 20 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
One Averee Bay Hotel
One Averee Bay Hotel
#13 of 20 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coron Visitors Hotel
Coron Visitors Hotel
#17 of 20 in Coron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.8 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#4 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
16.4 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KokosNuss Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KokosNuss Garden Resort

Property: KokosNuss Garden Resort
Address: Coron-Busuanga Rd, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — KokosNuss Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KokosNuss Garden Resort is THE place where you can relax! Only 950 meters from the somewhat crowded center and watering holes. Best is: take a 5-minute tricycle ride for 10 Pesos/person,(rate is fixed by municipality) 24 hr service. - Charming rooms - Delicious Food - Enchanting Garden - Great Tours - Reasonable Prices. We offer you: 26 cottages, Bungalows and Hotel rooms, modern or in traditional Filipino style. All rooms are spacious, cool & airy, comfortable, bright and lovely equipped. All rooms and cottages come with private bath rooms with solar hot & cold shower, toilet, hygienic tiled floorings,cable-TV, aircon or ceiling fans, private terraces, balcony or secluded garden, air conditioning or ceiling fans. 24/7 Backup Generator, no brown outs. Our large tropical garden, sheltered and cool, offers a quiet respite from civilization. Garden chairs, hammocks and shaded resting areas invite you to a life of leisure. Garden Restaurant with international and Filipino specials in family atmosphere with good food and low prices. Enjoy our homemade specials and fresh seafood in Filipino, Asian and European style, dine "al fresco". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your KokosNuss Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokosnuss Garden Hotel Coron
KokosNuss Garden Resort Coron, Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing