We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday meal”

Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard
Ranked #21 of 34 Restaurants in Easingwold
Price range: US$6 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Seasonally changing menu using local ingredients whenever possible. Daily changing Specials' Board and lighterbites at lunchtime.
Easingwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

My wife's birthday is 2nd. January so we are used to eating in almost empty restaurants when we go for a meal on her birthday. However, The George was far from empty and quite a few people were eating. All the food was delicious, no complaints at all and the menu seemed a little more interesting than the last time we were here. This place seems to have improved considerably recently.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Top meal & service”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Excellent service and value for money. Excellent food superbly presented. We arrived late, nothing was too much trouble.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cckorooski C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Plays it safe with food but cosy bar area.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch and while the service was friendly, the food was pretty drab. Potatoes pretty hard and meat a bit tasteless. Bar area is cosy when there's people in and there a decent range of ales.

Popular with the older generation of Easingwold residents.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeCaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
315 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Delighful pub in pretty North Yorkshire town”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The George is a former 18th century coaching inn that offers food, good quality hand-pulled beers (it's listed in CAMRA's 2014 Good Beer Guide) and accommodation. The staff always give a warm welcome and service is very efficient. There are distinct drinking / eating areas within the pub as well as a separate dining room if you want to eat more formally. The menu is varied, from sandwiches (lunchtimes only but including Sunday - very good if you get fed up of pubs that only do the 'traditional' Sunday lunch) to full meals at very reasonable prices for the quality. There are wooden benches in front of the pub overlooking the pretty market place, and parking is free outside the pub..

Well worth a visit as is the quaint town itself.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Needed somewhere quiet for lunch and stumbled across this place. On first entering I could have been forgiven for thinking it might have been pensioners day, but to my mind that is often a good indicator. I ordered the Chargrilled Venison with seasonal vegetables, the food came in a time that suggested it was cooked fresh, the venison was spot on and the veg cooked exactly as it should be. everything tasted exactly as it should, carrots tasted of carrots etc.
All in all a great meal, great service form a couple of young members of staff who could quite frankly have not cared, but they did, they went out of their way to make me feel welcome, make sure my order was as expected and were attentive but not OTT. All in all an excellent lunch and I am sure I will be returning to try the dinner A La Carte sooner rather than later.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard also viewed

Easingwold, North Yorkshire
Easingwold, North Yorkshire
 
Aldwark, Easingwold
Easingwold, North Yorkshire
 
Easingwold, North Yorkshire
Crayke, Easingwold
 

Been to Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing