We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely birthday meal”

Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard
Ranked #19 of 35 Restaurants in Easingwold
Price range: US$6 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Seasonally changing menu using local ingredients whenever possible. Daily changing Specials' Board and lighterbites at lunchtime.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely birthday meal”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

we ate here on a Thursday evening for my husbands birthday. it was fairly quiet in the restaurant where we chose to eat although on leaving, the courtyard part of the hotel was full. I had the moules marinere to start; these were lovely & fresh & most importantly not too many of them which a lot of places make the mistake of doing. My husband had the crispy confit of chicken which he said was delicious. for mains I had the thyme marinated chicken supreme & hubby had the pork medley. Both mains were spot on with just enough, portion wise, to fill us up enough to not manage a desert, however I feel that this was also because we did not have a sufficient gap between finishing our starters & our mains being brought out. we are going back to the area next year & will definitely be paying the George hotel another visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
Thank you for your comments - we look forward to welcoming you back to The George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We arrived here for a meal following a recommendation from the excellent B and B we are staying at, on arrival we ordered drinks and enquired if it was possible to arrange a table for two, they were extremely busy, but welcomed us and arranged a table with no fuss whatsoever. The soup starter was just delicious, I then had the haddock goujons (half portion) which was HUGE, my husband had the trio if sausages which were also delicious, everything was piping hot and perfect, we really wanted to try the desserts but could not fit another thin in, on the whole this was a really enjoyable experience, the owners and the staff are so friendly and welcoming, we plan to go back at least once more before we leave the area, many thanks to all involved.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eloise53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and impressive service.”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My wife had a slight problem with her starter, in that she felt it differed from the menu description. On mentioning it, the matter was dealt with promptly and efficiently, without fuss, to everyone's satisfaction. The food was as fresh as it could be, and cooked to perfection. Superb!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
Pleased we sorted out the minor problem, and that you both enjoyed your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easingwold, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

My wife's birthday is 2nd. January so we are used to eating in almost empty restaurants when we go for a meal on her birthday. However, The George was far from empty and quite a few people were eating. All the food was delicious, no complaints at all and the menu seemed a little more interesting than the last time we were here. This place seems to have improved considerably recently.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Top meal & service”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Excellent service and value for money. Excellent food superbly presented. We arrived late, nothing was too much trouble.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cckorooski C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard also viewed

Easingwold, North Yorkshire
Aldwark, Easingwold
 
Easingwold, North Yorkshire
Easingwold, North Yorkshire
 
Easingwold, North Yorkshire
Easingwold, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing