We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, tidy, spacious rooms & a great pub.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Black Bull

Old Black Bull
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Black Bull
Ranked #8 of 13 Easingwold B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy, spacious rooms & a great pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

As my title says the rooms were everything you want from any b&b. The decor is traditional not boutique but to us that added to the charm and fit in with the pub setting. Plenty of teas/coffee/horlicks etc and cookies, and fresh milk on request. We ate in the pub both nights we stayed and they run a quite widespread menu of dishes, good value 2 course menu, early bird offers etc. The food we had was tasty, well cooked and very generous portions. This applies to the breakfast as well as the evening meal . Delicious!
The pub was busy and had a good atmosphere and also has 3 real ales on which were really well kept and was a big bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milmol_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    5
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at The Old Black Bull for one night in February. It is a proper pub (not a trendy wine bar) with good b&b facilities. The management and staff were very friendly and welcoming, as were the patrons. The beer was good, with a good choice of wines. The food was proper pub food, plentiful and freshly cooked. Our room was clean, spacious and had everything needed. The prices were very reasonable and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyjollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull yorkshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

just returned from a one night stay for a family birthday.we were very impressed everyone was very friendly and welcoming .the rooms were lovely and the food was amazing.we will definitely be returning and will recommend to anyone.thanks the clark family.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank looloo1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We have just been with some friends for the second time, and found it to be just as we expected, everything was up to the usual standard.
Value for money, we will be returning again.
Thankyou Paul , Christine & staff
Petr & Audrey Rushton

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland. Co. Durham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

For my anniversary treat I once again went with my wife to The Old Black Bull in Raskelf. Once more, we were welcomed like old friends, the room we asked for was ready and waiting and, just as important (to me!) a cold pint of Theakstons was soon provided on what turned out to be a very warm day.
The locals were friendly and helpful and conversation was easy to come by.
After our previous visit we would not consider eating other than at the hotel. Yet again the meal was on our table very quickly and was generous in its proportions. The menu was surprisingly varied for what is, after all a small village hotel that's not exactly in the middle of touring routes. Quality and variety are also matched by the willingness of the kitchen staff to provide items which may not actually feature on the menu.
This pub, to us represents all that is best about British pubs and, after all it's in Yorkshire!
Ideally placed for race visiting, trips to York or the Dales, the North East resorts of Scarborough and Brid and all the other myriad delights that await a visitor to this part of the world.
Don't expect the Ritz - it's better than that - and you can actually talk to people! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Just ask 'The Boss' if you need anything special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redcap68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland. Co. Durham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I took my wife to York for her first day out after a knee replacement and sought a 'nice traditional country inn'. At The Old Black Bull I certainly found one! As the Manager wan't sure of being there when we arrived he arranged to leave our room open 'with lots of tea things' - ands he certainly did just that.
The room was really well-appointed with both a double and a single bed, a new T/V and a lovely en-suite. The hotel is in the small village of Raskelf near Easingwold just North of York and ideally suited for touring on all directions. A warm Yorkshire offer awaits the visitor here - and the beer is superb!
A good and varied menu is available and be warned, portions are generous. For a truly memorable breakfast they cannot be beaten.
The small village is friendly, traffic- noise-free and the prices reasonable - they even have special offers from time to time. I for one will most certainly return.

Room Tip: Rely on the owner - he will provide one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redcap68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Easingwold hotels
5.3 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
2.4 mi away
The George at Easingwold
The George at Easingwold
#2 of 13 in Easingwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Durham Ox
The Durham Ox
#1 of 1 in Crayke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#1 of 1 in Linton-on-Ouse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.3 mi away
No93 Oower Hoose
No93 Oower Hoose
#3 of 13 in Easingwold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
3.0 mi away
Thornton Lodge Farm B&B
Thornton Lodge Farm B&B
#5 of 13 in Easingwold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Black Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Black Bull

Property: Old Black Bull
Address: North End, Easingwold YO61 3LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Easingwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Black Bull 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Black Bull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Black Bull Easingwold, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing