We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magnificent!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Mangle Cottage , built in 1764 as a laundry for the Priory.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mangle Cottage , built in 1764 as a laundry for the Priory.
Living room with cosy logburner. Super fast broadband, smart 4K TV and Sonas Kitchen with a range cooker, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, nespresso coffee machine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Mangle Cottage , built in 1764 as a laundry for the Priory.
Living room with cosy logburner. Super fast broadband, smart 4K TV and Sonas
Kitchen with a range cooker, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, nespresso coffee machine
Conservatory with amazing sea views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pittenweem, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lesley W
Tranent
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magnificent!!”
Reviewed 26 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Just home from two nights at Mangle Cottage. It was a little slice of heaven. Such a beautiful cottage with incredibly cosy lounge with real fire and a beautiful conservatory with the most stunning views of the sea. We had one incredibly wild and windy day and one calm and sunny so saw the sea calm and wild. It really was a fantastic little place to stay and a wonderful winter retreat. Would definitely go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2018
Hi Lesley
So glad you all enjoyed your stay. Pittenweem is such a special place. ( you must try the chocolate cake next visit)
Thank you for leaving the cottage so tidy.
Hope to see you all again.
Dawn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carole b
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A real home from home !.. did not want to leave !...”
Reviewed 25 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Beautiful location . .. stunning cottage. The owner has thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable- loved the wood burner ( and so did our dog ..) .Amazing views from the conservatory too . Only sorry our stay wasn't for longer !. Dawn is a brilliant hostess and makes you feel very welcome on your arrival . If I could give 10 stars out of 5 I would !.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2018
Hi Carole
Thank you for such a lovely review. So glad you all enjoyed your stay.
Look forward to meeting you all again
Dawn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ailsaeste...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous house in a great location”
Reviewed 11 December 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Have just returned from Mangle Cottage with four friends for a winter retreat. The house is amazing with a really well equipped kitchen, ideal for a self-catering break. The house is decorated and furnished to a high standard and the log burning stove was particularly welcome in the sub-zero temperatures. The location in the heart of the East Neuk of Fife is excellent for sight seeing and there is easy access to St Andrews and other interesting places. During our visit there was a local food fair with incredible arts and crafts and wonderful food. We will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2017
Thank you Ailsa for a great review
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry we didn’t meet hopefully next time
Dawn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect location family cottage”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Mangle Cottage is perfectly situated overlooking the rooftops of Pittenweem and out to sea from a pretty conservatory and from it’s cottage garden. Dawn the owner was extremely helpful and the cottage had everything our family and pet needed as well as being a beautiful interior that made us feel really relaxed.
Pittenweem itself is a great place to stay lots of art galleries, a beach,the cocoa cafe and most places we could take our dog into which was great.
We will visit again!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heaneycar...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute gem in sparkling hypnotic surroundings”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just arrived home and want to go back! Really beautiful cottage with a gorgeous shabby chic interior, views are mesmerising from garden and conservatory, utterly breathtaking. Real luxury inside and out it also helps that it's dog friendly, can't wait to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I want to live here forever!”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Where to start? Fabulous stone cottage, amazing views over the harbour, superb decor and such a friendly owner. I couldn't have wished for more. Pittenweem is the quintessential Scottish fishing village with a real, active fishing fleet. There is also a resident seal called Sammy and there are puffins on Isle of May. The locals are
helpful and have a great sense of humour. I'm here with friends for part of the fantastic Art Festival. I've met people from all over the world.
The cottage is like something out of Homes and Gardens. Beautiful pale colours with comfy sofa, wonderful log burner, large well equipped kitchen and very modern bathrooms. The good sized enclosed, walled garden has a summer house, lots of pretty solar lights which twinkle at night, and comfortable everlasting wicker garden furniture. It is dog and child friendly with secret sections of the garden where frazzled parents can relax with a large glass of Pimms.
I don't want to leave but sadly it's already significantly booked up. I have booked for next year. Do go. There are great places to visit such as St Andrews about 20 minutes away, Anstruther and St Monans other fishing villages. Elie is nearby and great for water sports. There are lots of walks, golf courses and good eateries nearby. I hear that a place called The Smoke House in St Monans is very good.
I'm watching the beautiful pink sunset and the fishing boats go out for all night fishing.
Oh and the local bakers is fabulous. Really unusual selection of yummy looking cakes and bread.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing