We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful!”
other travellers have booked this property
Crail Cottage at Madeira
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crail Cottage at Madeira
Fully eqipped kitchen TV with built in DVD and freeview
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
21 reviews
Crail Cottage at Madeira
Fully eqipped kitchen
TV with built in DVD and freeview
Comfortable kingsized sofa bed
Crail Cottage
Superking or twin room
Pittenweem Harbour
The beach at low tide
The fish hut
Pittenweem Harbour and fishing boats
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pittenweem, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SBFoodie2...
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

As you enter the property between two old stone pillars along a sweeping driveway lined with stately, mature trees on one side and a high old stone wall on the other, you pinch yourself to make sure you are not dreaming! But, round a bend the lovely row of charming cottages appears, newly remodeled with little outdoor sitting areas in front of each one. The inside of the cottages is exactly as on the photos: the modern, uncluttered, soothing décor in greys and aubergine, a perfect contrast to the wildness of the walled garden across the lawn. Such care has been taken both inside and out for the enjoyment of the guests: a well equipped kitchen, spotlessly clean: free Wi-Fi, and an open invitation to explore the grounds. The hosts are generous and very hospitable. We loved our stay which was far too short.
There are numerous places of interest in the area, from castles to gardens, a cheesemaking farm with a nice restaurant, a whole series of picturesque fishing villages, and the beautiful university city of St Andrews. Excellent restaurants abound. Fife has its own micro-climate, which is milder than much of Scotland

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: It was all wonderful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1965MacLe...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for 3 nights Easter 2014 with 2 teenage children. Great, peaceful location yet only 10 minutes walk to pitenweem and 15 minutes drive to St Andrews. Cottages are very modern and well equipped. Owners live in adjacent house but leave you alone to enjoy your holiday, yet are near at hand should you need them. Cottages are pet friendly. We would recommend this place to a couple or family looking for a peaceful base to explore Fife. Very competitively priced when compared to similar properties in the area. Thank you for such a nice stay.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanCharl...
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful haven, gardens, birds, pheasants and ducks - beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We loved our 5 night stay at Madeira, the cottage (Pittenweem) was so clean and comfortable, garden and woods area very sheltered and the birds and other wildlife a great pleasure to see and hear.
We have stayed in Fife several times, but this location is special, very warm and sunny on even on cold days, which was so different from the climate we had travelled from on the West Coast - wet, windy, rain and hail. The local area has so many places to visit, historic, wonderful local shops and beaches are quite spectacular. We will visit again as soon as we can.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojen19
1 review
“Exactly what we wanted! Peace and quiet and perfectly comfortable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We had a perfect break here. After a stressful few months Madeira was a perfect place to unwind. Close to the sea we were spoilt for choice for long walks and plenty pubs / restaurants close by.

The cottage was spotlessly clean and well appointed and James and family made us feel extremely welcome!

Would certainly recommend a break here and we plan to return!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lynda C
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage, in beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

From start to finish the owners was friendly and amenable, nothing was to much trouble. The cottage was very clean and well equipped with everything you need, it was a good size for us. The location is really central for the Kingdom of Fife, and a ten minute walk to a quaint village with a variety of shops including a good chip shop. The cottage itself is situated away from the village so is perfect I feel for all ages.
I liked where the cottage was situated and the fact that it had everything you needed including Wi-Fi so that was a bonus, the owners were discreet but were around if you needed anything including information about the surrounding area. What I liked least, well this sounds boring but for the 7 days we rented the cottage I couldn't find anything

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARMUDGE
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We usually go abroad for our holidays; however a family wedding in Fife gave us the idea to have a holiday in Scotland this year. My husband is from Dundee and in eighteen years, I have hardly seen any other sights of Scotland apart from Dundonian bars!!!
And then we discovered Madeira in Fife!
We drove to Scotland and Madeira in Fife was easy to find once in Pittenweem. As we drove up the drive, we were instantly relaxed. It was so quiet and picturesque and exactly like the photos we had seen on the website.
Jamie and Tara (the proprietors) were there to greet us and showed us around our cottage. Their house is also on the grounds adjacent to the cottages.
The cottage was beautiful. They are newly decorated to a high contemporary standard. The living room has a sofa bed which was huge when pulled out, duvets and pillows are provided. TV and DVD along with some books and DVD`s were also available. The kitchen was well stocked with lots of cutlery, cups, glasses etc. Electric oven and stove and fridge with small freezer……..a real home from home! There was even some tea bags and sugar to get us started. The bedroom had a huge double bed; again all bed linen is supplied. Bathroom with power shower over bath, towels provided.
Chairs and tables outside the cottage enabled us to relax in the cool evenings. The welcoming vase with wild flowers was also a nice touch.
There is wifi available. It’s a bit temperamental dependent on the weather, but we weren’t on holiday to browse the internet so it didn`t bother us.
The area outside the cottage is grassed and this enabled our five year old to play outside and she had fun playing in the bushes making a den and looking for bears. Jamie and Tara`s children came and called for her one morning and they all went off around the grounds for a couple of hours playing together.
Some evenings we made use of the kitchen facilities; there is a Co op in Anstruther to stock up on your basics. We ate out in Anstruther which is only a ten minute drive away. We also used the Pittenween Fish and Chip shop and took them back to Madeira.
Pittenweem village is a five minute drive. They have a Butcher, Baker, Pharmacy, Post Office, Fish and Chip shop and Café. Further down at the harbour there is a pub and ice cream shop. The village is picture postcard beautiful and we visited often as our daughter developed a love of rock pools. There is a small sandy area, though quite pebbly.
There is a lot to do around the area and we were lucky with the weather so had some great days out. There are beautiful sandy beaches close by and some pretty villages.
Madeira in Fife is a beautiful place and we felt really rested at the end, we only wish we could have stayed longer. Jamie and Tara are wonderful hosts and have made a lovely haven for those seeking a self catering holiday. They will make you feel very welcome and we hope to visit again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: There was nothing to not like!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$195
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing