We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice quiet cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property
Crail Cottage at Madeira
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crail Cottage at Madeira
Fully eqipped kitchen TV with built in DVD and freeview
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Crail Cottage at Madeira
Fully eqipped kitchen
TV with built in DVD and freeview
Comfortable kingsized sofa bed
Crail Cottage
Superking or twin room
Pittenweem Harbour
The beach at low tide
The fish hut
Pittenweem Harbour and fishing boats
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pittenweem, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mhadden20...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice quiet cottage.”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We really enjoyed our short stay at Madeira.The cottage was clean ,modern and well equipped. Nice patio area when the sun was out ! Pittenweem is really dog friendly , a very pretty village with lovely walks and a coastal path .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“this is a haven of peace”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in one of the terraced cottages for two nights after a long drive North from the Peak District.The cottage was perfect for me: clean, comfortable and quiet. The cottage had everything I needed for my stay- a big comfy bed, a beautifully clean bathroom ( bedlinen and towels provided) and a well-equipped kitchen and lounge.I will be staying here again this Autumn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness of the location and the comfort.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flipper99...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage.”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Excellent accomodation, quiet location, yet convenient for visiting northeast Fife, including the Firth of Forth north coast,
The owners are friendly too!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Great accommodations”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for a week in a cottage on our first trip to Scotland. It was a great home base for the week of golf and visiting different areas around St Andrews and Edinburgh. All of the comforts of home with the ability to make meals and relax in the living room after a day full of activities. Pittenweem and Anstruther were quaint little towns, but the best place of interest was the Anstruther Fish Co where the best fish and chips can be had! Our stay was quiet and comfortable, we will definitely be back on our next visit to Scotland. Thanks Jamie!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstyeli...
uk
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxation”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

First, but hopefully not the last, trip to Madeira Cottage in Pittenweem. The location is perfect, just close enough to the village (walking distance) but far enough away to be perfectly peaceful.

The cottages are located within a walled garden and very sheltered from the chilly wind that you get on the coast. Each has its own balcony which is nice for breakfast or evening drinks. Thanks to its location, you get the sun for both.

Internally, the standard of decoration and available appliances/utensils etc is excellent. Absolutely fantastic value for money.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19talylly...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place great setting for a peaceful break”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Thank you Jamie Tara for a for providing a welcoming environment for us.
The cottage was perfect for our break. It is a very peaceful setting and the facilities were first class.
Our dogs had a fantastic time and enjoyed all their walks on the coastal paths.
We look forward to returning in the future.
Margaret & David Ellie & Gracie

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann B
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect base for a Scottish holiday!”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Jamie and Tara, thank you both for a wonderful three-week stay in one of your lovely cottages. Madeira is the perfect spot for anyone who appreciates peace and quiet but with all mod cons! Our cottage was charming, sparklingly clean and had everything we needed, including a most efficient (and very inexpensive) laundry service provided by Carol. We will definitely be back next year -- can't wait! I hope you'll have the pizza bothy up and running -- our grandchildren will love it!
Thank you again.
Deryck and Ann Braun, Johannesburg

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing