We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of NorthCourt Manor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shorwell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
NorthCourt Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shorwell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Simply stunning! Beautiful house, rooms and lovely hosts. Fantastic location and gardens (which you are encouraged to spend time in, and are inspirational). Nothing was too much trouble, and we were made to feel very welcome. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning and simply huge. Our house felt very small after staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dftr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

John & Christine Harrison run the bed and breakfast and decided to run this family house. Amazing garden, absolutely beautiful. Cosy rooms, they managed to modernise just as needed and kept the feeling of an old manor character and features. We go every year and it is like a holiday home for our kids!

Room Tip: mary gordon because of the old style bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sybille d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had great weekend in the self catering wing. The grounds are stunning. The accommodation had everything you could want, and it is spacious and luxurious. I wish we had stayed longer and I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmurray84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Recently attended a Wildfitness retreat at NorthCourt Manor.This is the kind of settling in which an author could pen a pulitzer, an artist paint a rembrandt and a songwriter win a Grammy. The rooms are majestic but comfortable and every care has been taken to be as Green as possible. Kept expecting to see Jane Eyre strolling across the grass tennis courts or Carson pop out of the dining room. The gardens are a labour of love and invite rambles.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Northcourt Manor is absolutely stunning, from the grounds to the house, to our bedroom, everything was beautifully decorated and welcoming. My boyfriend and I cycled around the island so Shorwell was a good resting point for us. John and Christine were extremely helpful and friendly, suggesting cycle routes for us to explore as well as pub recommendations! Lovely breakfast which was included as well.
Our room was spacious and grand, with a roll top bath to die for. We only stayed for two nights but wished we could of stayed much longer!
I really couldn't recommend this place enough
Thanks again to John & Christine xx

Room Tip: Any room with a roll top bath :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloeCane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

A spontaneous trip, and oh my, did we find a glorious place.
A restoration project now mainly finished that has been going on since the sixties. A 60 room Jacobean house with wonderful gardens. Every corner you turn is a new vista. Really nice.

The house itself beautiful, our room amazing. Breakfast full of home grown food.

John and Christine, we take our hats off to you. Heaven knows how you did it, but you have created a wonderful place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank myboyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I was surprised by my husband and family (15 of us) with a week long break in the self catering wing or North Court Manor for my 50th birthday.
Anyone who has stayed there will tell you that it is a truly amazing place to stay, with wonderful hosts (John and Christine). John gave us a tour of the main house and gardens and was always on happy and friendly.
We had toddlers with us and they were well catered for. To be able to give them some space to run free and happily, was great. They had so much fun.
I will definitely go back ,but during the summer months where we could benefit from the beautiful gardens.
I was lucky enough to have been allowed to take some windfall apples home, for my jam and chutney making :)
Given they are due to start work in extending the facilities to include various courses including cooking and art, it really will be worth booking your breaks here.
I cannot express how much you would enjoy a visit here.

Room Tip: My husband, daughter and myself stayed in the Lady Gordon room, which has a large bathroom and side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shorwell
7.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
11.9 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NorthCourt Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NorthCourt Manor

Property: NorthCourt Manor
Address: Shorwell PO30 3JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shorwell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shorwell
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
NorthCourt Manor Shorwell, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing