We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malthouse Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shorwell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malthouse Cottage
Ranked #2 of 2 Shorwell B&B and Inns
Chatham Kent UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wedding weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Having arrived early on Friday morning of the 27th Sep 2013 (0730) I waited in the car for an hour so as not to disturb residents, at 0830 I rang the door bell and was greeted by this lovely bubbly lady by the name of Jo who welcomed me with a big smile and invited me in and showed me to my room. Whilst there she asked if I would like a pot tea which was eagerly accepted, I obtained my case from my car then back to my room, again greeted by Jo with the tea and then asked if I would like a bacon sandwich again eagerly accepted. I have to say Breakfast over the next couple of days was mind blowing, no need to eat for the rest of the day......:-) If you want a comfortable, a warm and hearty welcome then look no further than this lovely old cottage with lovely landlady. The nightly rate is very good too.......... Thanks again Jo if ever in the I.O.W again I know where I will be staying...........

Room Tip: Just phone JO
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crusher2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
17
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is probably the best B&B we've stayed in. Jo was a great host, nothing was too much trouble and the room very comfortable. Excellent breakfasts and after our days out, she made us a welcome pot of tea on our return, something we've never had in the past. It was this sort of touch that makes Malthouse Cottage stand out. We would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a B&B on the IoW,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petercornelissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend as it was somewhere who would allow our dog to come too! Jo was very welcoming and served us the most delicious breakfasts. Maizie, the Wheaton, was made very welcome and allowed to sit quietly under the table whilst we enjoyed our breakfast. The room was very attractive as was the whole property. Very comfortable bed in a pretty room, tastefully decorated. The pub opposite was extremely handy with a good menu.
Although we didn't have the en suite facility, the bathroom was immediately adjacent to our room and Jo said that as maizie was so well behaved (exhausted from all the miles she walked) we could have the en suite room next time! Jo let us see how lovely it was, almost twice the size of the one we stayed in, with views over their pretty garden. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who needed somewhere comfy and friendly to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We booked this B&B for the IoW festival this summer because we wanted to see a bit of the island as well as going to the festival. I can honestly say it was the most incredible find. After an emotional week and a long journey, we arrived late in the evening, and Jo showed us to our very beautiful, homely room, made us a fresh pot of tea and left us to unwind. And after a very comfortable night's sleep, we came downstairs the following morning to the most beautifully prepared breakfast I have ever seen. A stunningly presented plate of fruit surrounding a little pot of natural yoghurt adorned with blackcurrants - I would have been quite happy with that alone. But then Jo produced an incredible cooked breakfast (all grilled, locally sourced, fresh ingredients) with loads of toast, and as much fresh tea and coffee as we could drink (we didn't need to eat anything else all day). She was so friendly and kind, giving us lots of helpful information about the best ways to get to the festival (lots of roads were closed off), parking, and the best things to see and do on the island in our spare time, and even offered a few tips about some of the less well publicised stages at the festival - stages that we probably wouldn't have found without her advice, but which - having found them - proved to be some of our favourite experiences of the whole festival. Overall, it was the most relaxing stay. Jo went above and beyond to ensure we were looked after, even offering us the use of her washing line to dry off wet festival clothes. She and Asa are wonderful hosts and we came away from the weekend feeling restored. We simply can't recommend the Malthouse B&B highly enough!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. Jo really made us welcome and cooked the most delicious breakfast. Great location, right opposite the pub. We hadn't ever stayed in a b and b before and didn't know what to expect but it really was like a home from home! The monsoon shower was a joy!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellynjono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Really lovely location. Opposite a great pub (that makes good food).
Roads are quiet and peaceful.
Cottage is well kept and clean, tidy and really homely.
The room we stayed in was nice and clean with views over the garden.
Fresh towells everyday.
TV with sky+ box (which we didn't use).
Either it's a brand new bathroom or it has just been well looked after.
Tea and coffee making facilities provided although the owners offered and brought up fresh coffee in a cafetier regularly (they were not intrusive though).
Breakfast!!!!
Course of fresh fruit.
Bowl of yoghurt topped with fresh berries.
Full English Breakfast to follow.
Cerials and toast and advice on good walking routes.
We were pleasantly stuffed and prepared for our days activities.
Purfect for those who are looking to stay and be active on their holidays.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdandHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We made our booking at the last minute and we were so glad that we did. Our welcome was so friendly and Jo and Asa are so happy to share time with you and tell you about the island. Every single one of their recommendations was spot on (especially the Taverners at Godshill!). We cannot recommend this wonderfull B&B highly enough!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shorwell
5.3 mi away
Enchanted Manor
Enchanted Manor
#1 of 1 in Niton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
4.0 mi away
Brook House B&B
Brook House B&B
#1 of 2 in Brook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grange Farm
Grange Farm
#1 of 4 in Brighstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chale Bay Farm
Chale Bay Farm
#1 of 4 in Chale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clock House
Clock House
#2 of 2 in Brook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malthouse Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malthouse Cottage

Property: Malthouse Cottage
Address: Malt House Walkers Lane, Shorwell PO30 3JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shorwell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shorwell
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Malthouse Cottage Shorwell, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing