We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage and great host”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brookside Cottage Shorwell,Isle of Wight
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Brookside Cottage Shorwell,Isle of Wight
Brookside Cottage, Shorwell - cosy wood burner & fuel provided in winter months
Family kitchen with dishwasher, range cooker, fridge freezer and microwave
Brookside Cottage - wonderful range cooker!
Brookside Cottage - kingsize bedroom
Brookside Cottage,  Shorwell - ensuite to main bedroom
Brookside Cottage, Shorwell - twin bedroom
Brookside Cottage, Shorwell - bunkbed room with dinosaur bedding!
Brookside Cottage, Shorwell - our charming bunk bed room
Brookside Cottage, Shorwell - family bathroom
Brookside Cottage, Shorwell - spacious landing with lots of reading material and CDs
Brookside Cottage Shorwell - outside dining
Brookside Cottage garden
Crown Inn pub opposite
St Peters Church, Shorwell
Winter fossiling on West Wightbeaches
Come see winter migrating birds at Newtown National Nature Reserve
Osborne House, Isle of Wight - open all year round
The Needles, Isle of Wight
Alum Bay with its coloured sands, Isle of Wight. Needles Park open all year round
One of the Isle of Wight's rare red squirrels - winter is a great time to spot them.
Ventnor Botanic Garden, Isle of Wight - open all year round
Ferry inclusive deals available from Wightlink
Ferry inclusive deals available from Red Funnel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Shorwell, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
annarge
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage and great host”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a great stay in Brookside Cottage, we were a group of 4 adults and an 18 month old and it was perfect for our holiday. The cottage was immaculate when we arrived with lots of nice touches throughout. Teresa was very easy to contact from initial enquiry up to our arrival and always replied to messages very promptly.

Thanks Teresa!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Thanks for your super review! We live locally and always very happy to help our guests before, during and even after your holiday as so many of our guests want to return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesEade...
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real home from home”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We absolutely loved our stay at Brookside Cottage - it was a real home from home. Beautifully furnished and equipped with all home comforts and a great location to explore all of the island. We didn't want to leave and can't wait to return.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Thanks for the lovely review! Brookside Cottage is located in the centre of Shorwell, ideally located to explore all that the Isle of Wight has to offer. We are so pleased that our guests feel at home here and want to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v_platt
Gravesend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We can not rate this cottage enough! A real home from home. Comfortable, spotlessly clean and every need catered for. Child friendly with a lovely garden. Nicely located with a bus stop nearby if you don't have a car. The views from the bus on the way to the west of the island are spectacular. Teresa could not have made us feel more welcome. On arrival there was even a hamper containing local produce and milk in the fridge for a well needed cuppa. Already booked to return next year and really wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thanks for the wonderful feedback! We very much aim for Brookside Cottage to feel like a home from home and we take great pride in our welcome hamper of local island produce. We always love it when guests want to return year after year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina18639...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This cottage is kept to a very high standard. Very clean and welcoming. We have stayed here four times and already booked again. Fantastic facilities. The owners seem to have thought of everything you may need. The cottage has a lovely garden with a little stream running down the side. The crown pub just over the road serves very good food.
Brookside cottage is a ideal base for any holiday on the isle of wight.
I highly recommend a stay at this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Wonderful to have repeat guests and such lovely feedback!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relax7238...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect family holioday cottage”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

perfect location for all outings on the IOW cottage well equipped shop in next village stocked everything you would need for a holiday.brilliant holiday was had by all.
The owner even changed the mattress on the double bed with a new one as the previous occupants had complained it was saggy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Thanks for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed the location of Brookside Cottage and our wonderful village shop. And of course our guests comfort is very important to us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillhyde
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful Haven”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What a lovely peaceful, tranquil cottage in an ideal location!
Quaint but with all the facilities you may need. Extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. A delicious welcome pack was a bonus!
The garden is a beautiful secluded place to just kick back and listen to the birds.
For my first trip to the Island, I couldn't have found a better place to stay.
Thank you Teresa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
So glad you enjoyed your holiday at Brookside Cottage and our welcome hamper of local island produce. We love our beautiful garden and it was a pleasure sharing it with you. Looking forward to having you back for your next Isle of Wight stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnDanny
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a wonderful Cottage!!!!”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage was easy to find and picking up the keys was a doddle. The Village shop where the keys are collected sell absolutely everything you will need for your stay so that was so convenient.
The cottage looks small but opens out with a really well thought out layout. Generous sized rooms. Lovely garden space too.
There was a welcome pack waiting for us. Wow. The best one we have ever encountered..... and we have visited over 20 self catering cottages and apartments all over the world.
I have to say I think this might be my favourite.
The pub literally opposite is lovely. It has a stream running along side it with trout and you can sit on a nice day out there listening to the sound of the water, watching out for fish and feeding the ducks. Very child friendly. The food there is great too.
The cottage is pretty central for all that the island has to offer. We loved our stay.
Highlights were, Freshwater Bäy, Carrisbrooke Castle, Osbourne House,Yarmouth and its Castle,Mottistone gardens. Arreton Barns with its artisan shops and Shanklin with its secret waterfall and gorge literally just off the beach.
All in all. A great visit which was far far too short.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
Thanks for a super review! We are delighted you enjoyed everything our Isle of Wight holiday cottage and wonderful island has to offer - our fabulous Village Shop, welcome hamper, local pub and of course our lovely cottage. Look forward to having you back on your next Isle of Wight holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing