We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can I say... wonderful...”
Review of Gammelgarden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gammelgarden
Ranked #2 of 7 Salen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel is Sweden like it used to be, old style, cosy and fantastic food in the resaurant.
Absolut great nature in the Highlands of Dalarna, in summertime you can take a mountain tour
on the green mountain and from oktober you can ski flat or downhill.
We can´nt not enough recommend this hotel, the rooms, the FOOD! and the surroundings.
Very, very nice and friendly staff who take care of you at all times!
Just go there! You can fly from Stockholm to Mora or take a train, if you´ll come by car
make sure that you have your snow tyres on from oktober to april.
Have a good trip!

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice, there are also a couple of suites if you´ll pay moore. There are absolut q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikenboet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

Wow, is the first thing that comes to my mind. The old building is just fantastic! The bedrooms are my style and I can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HlynurH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

The hotel is full of character with a very comfortable lounge, superb restaurant (not cheap!), comfortable rooms (although they suffer from the small sink problem which afflicts a lot of Scandinavian hotels).

It's just a short drive from the ski resorts although the bus stops near by and I think you can walk to one of the resorts.

Did I mention the restaurant? It really is excellent and also provides a very good buffet breakfast.

The staff are really good too and quite friendly.

I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

A note about the skiing - they are really family/beginner resorts, if you're expecting a Meribel or Chamonix think again. The top is only 900m which means the runs are quite short. But then again the lift time is short too so if you just want a few easy going days skiing or if you're a beginner then it's nice. I'm advanced and my girlfriend is intermediate and we enjoyed the 2 days here, one at Lindvallen-Högfjället and one at Tandådalen-Hundfjället and they were good days skiing. But we like to cruise intermediate runs, we're not black run fiends (although I like to do a black now and then and the one I did here was fairly tame).

Any questions about any of this, feel free to ask.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamperedAndProud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Nicklas990650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koppens J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Barnsten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Eyvind S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salen hotels
0.6 mi away
Salens Hogfjallshotell
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bugelhof
Hotel Bugelhof
#2 of 3 in Salen
27 reviews
0 mi away
Gammelgarden Hotell
Gammelgarden Hotell
#5 of 7 in Salen
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Olarsgarden Hotel & Restaurant
5.8 mi away
Mannflogarden B&B
Mannflogarden B&B
#3 of 7 in Salen
6 reviews
11.7 mi away
Salens Vandrarhem
Salens Vandrarhem
#3 of 11 in Salen
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gammelgarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gammelgarden

Address: Box 35, Salen 780 67, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Dalarna County > Salen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Salen
Price Range: £117 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gammelgarden 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Gammelgarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing